(Hidden) Faces of LMPD

faceless lmpd 4.jpg

I've did a few posts in the past of shots I took of LMPD officers and their facial expressions but since covid is rocking and rolling around here currently (Happy Thanksgiving Y'all) I thought I'd do a series of them actually wearing their masks. I love this first shot because of all the reflections in the guy's sunglasses.

faceless lmpd 5.jpg

Say hello to my tear gas launcher! Although currently prohibited from deploying tear gas without the mayor or the chief's sign off the launchers are just as common as ever.

faceless lmpd 6.jpg

While it is still disconcerting to see lots of police running around equipped like they're heading to their next firefight, this photo was taken on a day when there several hundred other similarly equipped people running around town so it didn't have quite the same impact.

faceless lmpd 9.jpg

It's hard to be intimidating when you can't even wear a mask right. . .

faceless lmpd 10.jpg

I love this last photo although I can't quite pin down why. It almost feels like the officer in the middle is in a staring contest with my camera. Is it just me or does it seem like they really want to use their sticks for something?

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center