Shaking off winter with a trip to the bay (and a great blue heron!)

IMG_9513.jpg


HOQUIAM, Wash.

I've been in a funk for months now, creatively, but this spring weather has got my juices flowing again.

Last week, I walked out to the Grays Harbor bay for a brief, late afternoon photoshoot.

IMG_9490.jpg


I headed for my favorite spot along the tidal inlet that borders Dog Marsh, Hoquiam's unofficial dog park, thinking I might spy some migrating waterfowl.

IMG_9546.jpg


There was one exotic-looking duck on the water as I got into position along the bank, but it quickly exited the scene. Beyond that, there were very few birds around; evidently, migration season hadn't quite kicked off. And the tide was going out, turning the inlet into a broad mudflat, which prevented any waterbirds from seeking shelter there for the night.

A flock of Canadian geese had settled into the grass and wetlands of Dog Marsh. A few groups of humans were also wandering around there, and I avoid humans like the plague, in general and especially on my photowalks, so I stuck to my secluded spot on the inlet.

The people and their dogs kept stirring the geese to wheel above the marsh.

IMG_9502.jpg


A small plane circled above.

IMG_9548.jpg


With the water draining rapidly from the inlet, and the general hubbub from the people in the marsh, I soon decided I wouldn't likely see any migrating birds. I clambered back into the tangle of driftwood that gathers at the head of the inlet for a context shot before packing up to head home.

IMG_9554.jpg


I had just finished packing the camera when a great blue heron floated over the bank on the marsh side and took up position on a channel worn in the mudflat.

IMG_9587.jpg


This seems to happen frequently on my photoshoots: just when I decide it's the end, something interesting starts happening!

IMG_9624.jpg


The heron stalked the channel, following the tideline as it receded and watching the mouth of the channel for any slow, escaping fish.

IMG_9643.jpg

IMG_9631.jpg

IMG_9636.jpg

IMG_9644.jpg


I don't think it caught many fish, if any. I only saw it crouch and spear the water a couple of times, and I never saw it come up with anything.

It was so intent on its fishing, though, that even as I moved around in the driftwood I didn't seem to disturb it. I had ample opportunity to photograph it, which I did: I took 103 shots to come up with the 10 for this post.

IMG_9628.jpg

IMG_9651.jpg

IMG_9654.jpg


In the end, I even had time to backtrack across the driftwood, to use the channel as a leading line for this parting shot.

IMG_9659.jpg


All in all, not a bad outing for the first after my winter funk!


Afterword

  • The great blue heron is a year-round resident of Grays Harbor, not a migrating visitor.
  • All photos taken with my Canon EOS 80D: the landscapes and first heron pic with a standard 18-55mm lens and the remainder of the heron photos with a 75-300mm zoom.
  • The way a heron stalks its meal is really a sight to behold. I didn't take any good video on this outing, but here's a low quality video from 2019, which I filmed in this same tidal inlet, that shows a heron in action.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center