My most dangerous light paintings

Hello HIVEs

As light painting is usually practiced in the dark, it also involves particular dangers. Falling into a hole in abandoned places or running into a wall or other obstacles, tripping and falling is never out of the question. It is particularly dangerous if, like me, you are often out and about alone in abandoned places. Today I would like to report on some of my most dangerous situations when lightpainting.
Da Lightpainting meist im Dunkeln praktiziert wird, birgt es auch besondere Gefahren. An Verlassenen Orten in ein Loch zu fallen oder gegen eine Wand oder andere Hindernisse zu laufen, zu stolpern und zu stürzen ist nie ausgeschlossen. Besonders gefährlich wird es, wenn man wie ich oft allein an verlassenen Orten unterwegs ist. Über einige meiner Gefährlichsten Situationen beim Lightpainten möchte ich heute berichten.

OLYMPUS E-M1MarkII
OLYMPUS M.12-40mm F2.8
ISO 64, f9, Live Composite 0.5s


The cover picture shows a abandoned places "Balneario de La Puda de Montserrat" in Spain. The place was particularly dangerous as I was traveling alone and had no one nearby to whom I could communicate my whereabouts. So I armed myself with a rucksack containing the most necessary items for an emergency. First aid packs with bandages, water, emergency rations, flashlights, a knife and a rope.

To protect myself, I usually wear half-height safety shoes with a puncture-resistant sole and steel toe cap, and if necessary a helmet or bump cap. I usually wear rough, tear-resistant outdoor clothing.

The flashlight was very important at this location because there were very deep holes in the ground. It is very important to scout out the surroundings in daylight if possible and memorize them. During the light painting performance, you move through the darkness. Especially if you don't have anyone at the camera who can temporarily cover the lens.

Das Titelbild zeigt einen Lost Place "Balneario de La Puda de Montserrat" in Spanien. Der Ort war besonders gefährlich, da ich allein unterwegs war und niemanden in der nähe hatte, dem ich meinen Aufenthaltsort mitteilen konnte. Also wappnete ich mich mit einem Rucksack, der die nötigsten Utensilien für einen Notfall beinhaltet. Erste Hilfe Päckchen mit Verbandsmaterial, Wasser, Notration, Taschenlampen hat man ja selbstverständlich dabei, Messer und ein Seil.

Um mich zu schützen, trage ich meist halbhohe Arbeitsschutzschuhe mit durchtrittsicherer Sohle und Stahlkappe, wenn nötig auch einen Helm oder Anstoßkappe. Meist ziehe ich derbe, reißfeste Outdoorkleidung an.

Die Taschenlampe war an diesem Ort sehr wichtig, denn es gab dort sehr tiefe Löcher im Boden. Es ist sehr wichtig, die Umgebung wenn möglich bei Tageslicht auszukundschaften und sich einzuprägen. Bei der Lightpainting-Performance bewegt man sich durch die Dunkelheit. Besonders, wenn man niemanden an der Kamera hat, der das Objektiv temporär abdecken kann.


E-M1MarkII
EF16-35mm ƒ4L IS USM (Adapter)
ISO100; 11mm; ƒ5.6; Live Composite 6s


I painted this sphere at a lofty height on a mountain overlooking Werschetz in Serbia. There wasn't much space on the rock and you had to concentrate fully to avoid falling off the rock during the performance.

Diesen Orb malte ich in luftiger Höhe auf einem Berg mit Blick auf Werschetz in Serbien. Auf dem Felsen war nicht viel Platz und es war die volle Konzentration gefordert, dort während der Performance nicht abzuschmieren.

Canon EOS 6D Mark II
EF24-70mm ƒ4L IS USM
ISO 100, 34mm, ƒ8, 1/8s


The Devil's Finger (Palez Rock) can be found in southern Siberia, near the capital of the Altai Republic, Gorno-Altaisk. From there you can enjoy a fantastic view over the vastness of Siberia. I had actually planned to perform a light painting on this rock. However, a few facts spoke against it: First of all, dark storm clouds were gathering. Not a good idea to stand on the highest point during a thunderstorm. My cab driver would never have been able to drive his front-wheel drive, old Nissan safely back up the mountain in the wet and dark. It was quite an adventure on the dry road. But the decisive sign of fate was a snake that wanted to make itself comfortable under my Lightblade. When I lifted the blade, it shot between my legs in a hole exactly where I wanted to start my performance. Halysotters are nocturnal, find their prey using infrared sensors and are poisonous! A good reason to avoid this place at night. I'm not one of their prey, but the next time I reach for my torch I might have the snake in my hand. Do they like that? It wasn't meant to be. I ended my plan at this point.

Der Teufelsfinger (Palez-Felsen) ist in Südsibirien, in der nähe der Hauptstadt der Republik Altai, Gorno-Altaisk zu finden. Von dort genießt man einen phantastischen Ausblick über die Weiten Sibiriens. Eigentlich hatte ich vor, an diesem Felsen ein Lightpainting zu performen. Allerdings sprachen ein paar Fakten dagegen: Zuerst zogen dunkle Gewitterwolken auf. Keine Gute Idee während eines Gewitters auf dem höchsten Punkt zu stehen. Mein Taxifahrer hätte bei Nässe und Dunkelheit seinen frontgetriebenen, alten Nissan nie auf dem Gebirgsgrad sicher zurück fahren können. Das war auf dem trockenen Weg schon ein Abenteuer. Aber den entscheidenen Wink des Schicksals gab mir eine Schlange, die es sich unter meinem Lightblade bequem machen wollte. Beim Anheben des Blades schoss sie zwischen meinen Beinen genau dort in einem Loch, wo ich meine Performance starten wollte. Halysottern sind nachtaktiv, finden ihre Beute mit Infrarotsensoren und sind giftig! Ein guter Grund diesen Ort nachts zu meiden. Ich gehöre zwar nicht zum Beuteschema, aber beim nächsten Griff zur Lampe hätte ich vielleicht die Schlange in der Hand. Ob sie das mag? Es sollte nicht sein. An dieser Stelle beendete ich mein Vorhaben.

NIKON D810
Nikon AF NIKKOR 20mm ƒ2.8D
ISO 100, f8, 171.0s


On a trip through Uruguay with Rodrigo Bari, we continued our joint "SAFE!" project.

During this project, I stepped on a rusty nail in the dark that was sticking out of an old slat lying around between the trees. The thing broke off and got stuck in the ground. My luck was that the nail was quite far forward in the shoe and therefore fit between my toes. You don't wear work shoes with a puncture-resistant sole and then something like this happens!

Auf einer gemeinsamen Reise mit Rodrigo Bari durch Uruguay setzten wir unser gemeinsames Projekt "SAFE!" fort.

Bei dieser Aktion trat ich im Dunkeln auf einen rostigen Nagel, der aus einer alten Latte ragte, die zwischen den Bäumen rumlag. Das Ding brach ab und Blieb in der Sohle stecken. Mein Glück war, dass der Nagel ziemlich weit vorn im Schuh steckte und somit zwischen den Zehen platz fand. Da zieht man einmal keine Arbeitsschuhe mit durchtrittsicherer Sohle an, dann sowas!

Canon EOS 6D Mark II
Canon EF16-35mm ƒ4L IS USM
ISO100, ƒ8, 147s, 16mm
Model: Hans Roufflair


Old railroad bridges are also quite dangerous. For this light painting, I moved from the end of the bridge towards the model with the lamp in my hand. I accelerated my pace with the decreasing distance to the camera in order to illuminate the bridge as evenly as possible. I had to concentrate on the sleepers, as it went straight into the water between the sleepers. Any misstep would have resulted in a fall into the river. I didn't fancy a dip in the cold water in the dark.

Ziemlich gefährlich sind auch alte Eisenbahnbrücken. Bei diesem Lightpainting bewegte ich mich mit der Lampe in der Hand vom Ende der Brücke auf das Modell zu. Ich beschleunigte meine Schrittfrequenz mit der abnehmenden Distanz zur Kamera, um die Brücke möglichst gleichmäßig auszuleuchten. Dabei musste ich mich auf die Schwellen konzentrieren, da es zwischen den Schwellen direkt ins Wasser ging. Jeder Fehltritt hätte einen Absturz in den Fluss zur Folge. Auf ein Bad bei Dunkelheit im kalten Wasser hatte ich keine Lust.


I bought special footwear for my shoots in or near the water. With water shoes, you have the necessary grip on slippery rocks and are protected from sharp stones under water. They also keep your feet warm. The shoes were very helpful here in the canyon. I wouldn't have gone in here without them. I hope you were able to gain some interesting insights and will be back next Sunday. So stay tuned!
Für meine Shootings im oder am Wasser legte ich mir spezielles Schuhwerk zu. Mit den Wasserschuhen hat man den nötigen Grip auf rutschigen Felsen und ist unter Wasser vor spitzen Steinen geschützt. Außerdem halten sie die Füße warm. Hier im Canyon waren die Schuhe sehr hilfreich. Ohne wäre ich hier nicht reingegangen. Ich hoffe, ihr konntet einige interessante Einblicke gewinnen und und seid nächsten Sonntag wieder dabei. Also bleibt dran!


What Is Light Painting?

Light painting is a unique art form. As a rule, the darkness is illuminated by the artist with various light sources and traces of light are painted into the picture with various lighting tools. Various techniques are used, such as camera rotation or other movements of the camera during exposure. The creative possibilities are almost unlimited. When using ND filters, this technique can also be used in daylight. All images were taken during a single exposure. Apart from denoising, sharpening, cropping and possibly adjusting the white balance, the images are not processed on the computer.
Lichtmalerei ist eine einzigartige Kunstform. In der Regel wird die Dunkelheit mit diversen Lichtquellen vom Künstler ausgeleuchtet und Lichtspuren mit diversen Lichtwerkzeugen ins Bild gemalt. Dabei kommen verschiedene Techniken zum Einsatz, wie Kamerarotation oder andere Bewegungen der Kamera während der Belichtung. Die kreativen Möglichkeiten sind nahezu unbegrenzt. Bei Einsatz von ND-Filtern kann diese Technik auch bei Tageslicht angewand werden. Alle Bilder wurden während einer einzigen Belichtung aufgenommen. Abgesehen vom Entrauschen, Schärfen, Beschneiden und eventuellem Anpassen des Weißabgleichs werden die Bilder nicht am Computer bearbeitet.

portrait_ralf.jpeg

CandelART

more about me and my art:


divider_lp_1.png

WE ARE LIGHT PAINTERS

To help and support the LightPainters community here on Hive I would appreciate your delegation of HivePower. Any amount is appreciated. It does not require much to get started, we are happy for any gesture. @lightpainters

How to delegate?
Delegate 50HivePower, [50HP]
Delegate 250HivePower, [250HP]
Delegate 500HivePower, [500HP]
Delegate 1000HivePower, [1000HP]
All the Hive Power will help to upvote the artist's contribution as part of the LightPainters community.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center