New Athos: Hike to Anakopia - visual history (20 photos)

_DSC0151.jpg

Today we will not take the metro inside Mount Anakopia. We will begin our ascent to its top. “A smart one will not go uphill, a smart one will bypass a mountain” - there is such a saying in Russia. You may consider me stupid, but I went up this mountain. And it was worth doing anyway.

If given the opportunity, I will go to this mountain again, but I will be more prepared. I will bring a tripod and a couple of additional lenses with me. That time I had my old camera and my legs.

It was July, a pretty hot time, so we went out in the morning. The sun, of course, had already risen, but after the rain that had been the day before, it was still fresh. But the humidity was high, evaporation began and everything was covered with a slight haze.

The hiking trail wound serpentine along the side of the mountain. I will begin my report from the place where this path comes to the beginning of the ancient ruins. Initially, these are fortifications - walls and support watchtowers. Unfortunately, time, people and vandals have caused damage, incompatible with life. We can only guess about the greatness of these walls and structures.

_DSC0144.jpg

_DSC0145.jpg

_DSC0146.jpg

_DSC0147.jpg

_DSC0151.jpg

This is the first watchtower on a steep bend in the trail.
The trail here goes serpentine and from this point two beams and slopes are shot at once. Very handy for protection.

_DSC0152.jpg

_DSC0153.jpg

_DSC0155.jpg

_DSC0159.jpg

_DSC0161.jpg

The mountainside offers panoramic views of the coast and the sea. Wonderful trail. There is something to see nearby and where to glance into the distance.

_DSC0162.jpg

_DSC0163.jpg

_DSC0164.jpg

I show you the photos as we go up. We walked forward constantly looking back at the path we had traveled.

_DSC0165.jpg

_DSC0166.jpg

_DSC0167.jpg

_DSC0170.jpg

_DSC0171.jpg

_DSC0171-2.jpg

This watchtower was less fortunate. There is practically nothing left of it. Only ruins ...
Here we will take our first smoke break. There are many more interesting things ahead of us.

_DSC0172.jpg



CameraSony A57
LensSony 16-105
LocationRussia
Post-productionin LR

Manual processing in Lightroom


Unless otherwise specified, text and photos are copyright


From Russia with Love


мухомор


bambuka

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center