Macro photography - Bumblebees and friends

Toukokuu  163.jpg

In addition to my Sigma 100-400mm lens, I've also recently bought a Sigma macro 105mm lens. As I've never had a true macro before, I've done a lot of practice with it. Flowers got quite easy fast, but now I've been practicing with bumblebees!

I spent a few hours crawling in the woods, trying to find bumblebees in the bilberry flowers. After a ton of failures, I've hand picked some of my favorite photos. To make sure this is not only bumblebees, I've added some moss and flowers in between.

Toukokuu  158.jpg
Bzz

Toukokuu  112.jpg
Not bzz

Toukokuu  113.jpg
Not bzz

Toukokuu  127.jpg
Bzz

Toukokuu  133.jpg
Bzz with a lot of pollen in the butt

Toukokuu  135.jpg
Bzz

Toukokuu  138.jpg
Bzz

Toukokuu  146.jpg
Not bzz

Toukokuu  141.jpg
Bzz

Toukokuu  149.jpg
Bzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

The bumblebee says goodbye!

Few comments about macro photography and bumblebees:

  • Even though the lens can go to f/2.8, this is not optimal for macro photography due to the extremely shallow depth of field.

  • Flowers and leaves might seem easy, but even a small gust of wind will move them out from focus.

  • Bumblebees are slow, but they're really fast for a camera. They move very quickly out of the focus and chasing them is hard work.

  • Love yourself and others

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center