See beautiful Dragonflies and Damselflies on my photographs.

Hello everybody!

How are you doing today?Is everything all right?
Hopefully, you are all well. You know I have opened this hive account recently that I stated in my previous introductory post where I told you that one of my hobbies is photography. I love photography and I really love to take pictures of nature, plants, animals as well as flowers.
I am a student of Zoology. Becoming a student of Zoology should keep many knowledge about whole animal Kingdom like protozoan, vertebrates & invertebrates.

Today I will share with you some pictures which i was taken on my mobile phone, I hope you will like it a lot.
I would like to introduce you to an most common, beautiful,attractive & also very useful insects of dragonflies & damselflies.

Now firstly i have to discuss about a dragonflies which scientific name is Brachydiplax.

IMG-20220305-WA0004.jpg

IMG-20220305-WA0009.jpg

As a zoology student I should know Brachydiplax is a genus of dragonflies in the family Libellulidae. Species of Brachydiplax often commonly found. This species belongs to phylum Arthropoda & class Insecta.
They have brown, black, grey in colour. Most of males are usually pale to mid powder blue. Females have shades of brown, sometimes with neat patterns of spots on the abdomen.

This picture taken from the roof of my house. Brachydiplax is locally called dragonfly. Occasionally they come and sit on my Aloe vera tree. It is very beautiful to look at and ecologically it is very important.

IMG-20220305-WA0005.jpg

IMG-20220305-WA0006.jpg

IMG-20220305-WA0000.jpg

IMG-20220305-WA0007.jpg

IMG-20220305-WA0014.jpg

Its scientific name is Ceriagrion coromandelianum. It is a species of damselfly in the family Coenagrionidae. They are commonly known as coromandel marsh dart and yellow waxtail. They are light greenish & yellow in colour.
This picture I took from my garden. In the picture you can see that the damselflies is sitting on the leaves of a Colocasia esculenta tree.

IMG-20220305-WA0011.jpg

IMG-20220305-WA0012.jpg

IMG-20220305-WA0013.jpg

It is another types of damselflies.Some characters are similar with dragonflies. But they are smaller than dragonflies. Their whole body are green in colour & the posterior part of the body is dark yellow.

IMG-20220305-WA0010.jpg

The scientific name of this damselfly is
Pseudagrion. It is the largest genus of damselflies in the family Coenagrionidae.I also took this picture from my garden. They looks very beautiful & attractive to see.

IMG-20220305-WA0001.jpg

It is also another types of damselfly.
This picture also taken from the roof of my house.

IMG-20220305-WA0002.jpg

IMG-20220305-WA0003.jpg

The scientific name of these damselfly is
Enallagma signatum. Also known as orange bluet damselflies. Belongs in the family Coenagrionidae. These bluet is often found near the streams, ponds, garden, fields, pools with still waters, slow moving streams, and rivers.

Here we have discussed many damselflies.
Now we will learn about the advantages and disadvantages of damselflies in the environment. They are beneficial predators because they help control population of harmful insects such as mosquitoes and other small insects such as flies, bees, ants, butterflies etc are one of the important predators. Some adults are consume large quantities of moth,beetles & caterpillars.
Sothat they play a great role in ecosystem. They are usually found near ponds, lakes, springs and wetlands, as their larvae, also known as nymphs are aquatic.
Damselflies are also a very important group of insects in stream and pond ecosystems. They are often used as an indicator of whether water is clean or polluted. The quality of the environment can be monitored by damselflies as their presence is strongly affected by different factors such as water flow, pollution and vegetation. Occasionally they help in flower pollination.

In truth, damselflies are very harmless insect for nature & also for humans. They have no negative effect on environment. Sothat, they are such a very important for nature.

So this was my very general opinion. I hope you like it and the information will come in handy. Thanks everyone for reading attentionally my post. See you in the next post very soon. Hopefully you will be well & pray for me & also will support me🥰
Have a great day everyone.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center