Discovering My Style at 23

Over the years, and up until recently, my fashion sense has solely been dictated by the clothes my mom buys for me on her trips to the market. I’m currently 23 and a half, and yeah, I only just started building my fashion style.

This was largely due to my introverted nature. As a child and an adolescent, I was always shy and indoors. I wasn’t the type to go out and make friends; although I did have friends, we didn’t hang out a lot.

Discovering my Style at 23.png
Designed My Images Using Canva

So because of this, I didn’t get to explore with fashion and clothes. Anyways, things have thankfully taken a turn in the right direction, as I am now more interested in the clothes I wear and how they look. I have even taken it upon myself to go to the market to scout for adorable pieces for myself (I mean, it’s about time!)

And based on the clothes I've chosen thus far, it appears that I like crop tops with puffy sleeves. And then the color black seems to be a recurring theme. For some reason, I keep choosing black over every other color.

Now having settled into my new fashion style, I can say that my style tailors around minimalism. I usually think to myself, "Let's keep it simple, guys," when I'm organizing my daily wardrobe.

For clothing, the weather in my country is predominantly warm, so there is rarely any need for layering outfits. I always go for a blouse and a pair of bottoms—mostly trousers. And to not make it so boring, I often alternate between baggy tops with form-fitting bottoms and slim tops with baggy bottoms.

1727970795228.jpeg

Once in a while, if I’m feeling feminine, I’d throw on a charming dress. Skirts rarely make it to the list, mainly because I think they make me look shorter. In addition, even though I know that short skirts would accentuate my legs and compliment my height, I cannot stand them.

For jewelry, I love to keep it simple: a bracelet on one wrist and a wristwatch on the other, a dainty necklace, and some gorgeous earrings. Sometimes I’ll wear two earrings on one ear. I used to be a fan of anklets, but as I got older, I got worn out by the judgmental stares I would get because of it.

Anklets seem to be associated with prostitutes in my hometown.

1727970865650.jpg

For Shoes: I usually wear matching heels to church, but for work, I’ll throw on some flats or a canvas; nothing wild. I don’t own a lot of shoes, even though I secretly would love to. But I find that the ones I have work for me and have never failed me.

Then I always carry a purse with me. In total, I have about six purses. I have two for church and the other four for work and everyday errands. They consist of mostly neutral colors, so they often go together with any outfits I have on.

In summary, I think overall fashion style has sufficient sprinkles of minimalism, and yet it radiates elegance.


Thanks for reading!🥰🥰

Images used are mine...

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center