That One Book, That Spoke Volumes To Me

I'm in my mid twenties, having returned to Ireland for a dear friends wedding. Although she is from a neighbouring County, we met one another in London, when we were both doing our Mental health Nurse Training. She returned to Ireland and I'd stayed on in the London. Working for a few months and then traveling. When she told me she was getting married, I had to be there. So I caught a plane to Cork and after catching up and a few hours sleep, I found myself wandering the streets of Cork City. I remember walking next to the River Lee for a while, then after getting something to eat, I stumbled across a small book shop and inside I found, what would soon become my bible.

photo_2024-06-11_20-54-16.jpg

It was both the title and the cover that caught my attention. I've always been a nature child, it's where I have felt most at home, most free. Whenever life got tough, I would run for the trees. I knew the best parks to go to in North West London. They have always been my greatest allies, my place of sanctum. Every since I was a child, I felt at home in the branches of trees. That was all I needed. To this day, home for me, is always amongst the trees.

I picked the book up into my hands and as I held it, it felt like quite an monumental moment, I kid you not. I was so excited to turn the page and when I did, this was what I found.

photo_2024-06-11_20-54-10.jpg

Words that resonated so deeply with me, words that spoke of an ancient truth, one that I felt so committed to sharing, to living. Reading it, it felt like finally, everything that I felt, had been put into words. That this was how I strove to live my live. This was what living was all about. This little insert, that was perfectly placed inside the cover. What a beautiful book, that would inspire me to live a more minimalist life. A more empowered and connected life.

photo_2024-06-11_20-54-05.jpg

A book that reminded me of my role upon this earth. To protect and respect her. To live and create humbly. To be a part of the change that I so wanted to see. To understand that, the responsibility for that change fell upon my own shoulders and that I did indeed hold the power to do so. Words to inspire change in me, in how I saw my relationship with nature, in the need to connect with others who felt the same. To be an example, of how less is so much more. That everything we need, is provided by nature and how we are an important part of the natural world.

It's easy to view us humans, as parasites upon this wonderful world. But in doing so, we end up making excuses for not taking any action, because, what's the point when it's all doom and gloom.

photo_2024-06-11_20-53-53.jpg

This book, is a celebration of our connection to nature. It reminds us, of our past, how our ancestors celebrated life, by celebrating the seasons, by acknowledging them. How we can live a more fulfilled life, when we look to nature to teach us. When we observe the changes that happen and how those changes also happen within our own lives. Nature is our greatest teacher, just as the trees adapt to each season, so too, so too should we. Taking the time to connect more with ourselves, to travel inwards and connect with our own intuitive wisdom.

A book that spoke of the medicine that nature provides, of the unity that awaits us with all beings. That calls on us to take action, to step into our role as creators. When you are connected, when you feel connected, then your life is full.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center