Celebrating The Minimalist Way

I love to celebrate life and I always try and celebrate my birthday. If you ask me, we don't celebrate life enough. And it's important that we learn to celebrate ourselves. I always organise a party for my girls as well. Although my eldest no longer wants a party for her birthday, instead she just wants to
hangout with friends, which I get, she is a teenager afterall.

20230321_121952.jpg

This year

For my birthday though, it's my choice and one way I like to celebrate, is to be with my friends and celebrate my friendship with them. This year, I had a lot going on, so I didn't really organise anything. I just went to my friends pop up breakfast cafe in the morning and that afternoon, there just so happened to be a free biodanza workshop, which a lot of my friends attended.

For me, the presence of my friends is the only present I want. This year, their presence helped to bring in a bit of income for my friends who run the cafe. Which to me is a wonderful way to help a community to continue to thrive, by keeping your money within it. An important lesson for my children as well. Why not gift others on our birthday.

IMG_20230622_233156_899.jpg

Last Year

My friends know me well and if they do gift me, it will be something from their garden. Which I am always happy to recieve. But really it is their presence that matters the most to me. Last year, I have a dual birthday celebration with a friend and we invited our friends to come and share food with us. Everyone brought a dish each, along with their own plate, cup and cutlery.

No plastic cutlery, plates or cups please. Asking others to bring their own, is quite the norm where I live, which is one reason why I like living there.It's important to me, that their is little to no waste.

The land, was decorated with cloth bunting that both my friend and I already had. Some had been made by my girls. All of which have been used for quite a few celebrations and will continue to be used for many more. All the material we used was recycled. As well as looking good, they are a lot of fun to make.

IMG_20230622_233059_320.jpg

The two large hangings, that are hung off the front of my truck, were made by my friend for a Solstice festival a few years back. In the picture up above, I am clutching a book, which was gifted to me. Even though I requested no gifts. But it is second hand book, none other than Paul Stamets 'Growing Gormet and Medicinal Mushrooms'. The funny thing is, I had tried to order this book (second hand) and couldn't find a copy, now I know why, cos it qas already on its way to me.

At the end if the day, you don't need much to celebrate life. To have a good time. We certainly don't need flashy things. For me it's all about the people and the experiences. And my life is abundant in both. Although I live a Minimalist life, it really doesn't feel like it, because my life is so full.

Full of amazing memories that I get to take away and keep with me, a heart overflowing with love and gratitude for those in my life and the life that I live.

4bEjbgCbFMvAGbwxD9CJfJUznpDy21P1gb5kciUwoKrnYbGbNVgJCYqgbJ9zC7NMqywPCP5pmJ7Z9vxwKSXoEY3LVe7cLMcTXvX8VcJhK2rCRHek5hdeGmp131U8ngRJroPgAbFG2qA1fExE8PdkxP43986jZQUkhu5G47urW8M8KeXkQe.png

54TLbcUcnRm3sWQK3HKkuAMedF1JSX7yKgEqYjnyTKPwrcX4JSV3cTPgexLgxZfFPkpqdm5FDQnjZqeewD5m9ajhHWHgMe8zQfUBt14j3Z7j9jKq4CWk9tK6RWfDG5Fr2zkn5Kn3p.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center