WEEK#8: Releasing My 'Feeling Guilty' With Mindfulness Exercise

IMG_20240826_172544.jpg


‘God does not want my happiness to be in the hands of others’-Marcus Aurelius-

Hello, minimalist lovers, I hope you are all healthy and happy.

.
Since half a year ago, I've had the pleasure of listening to a study by a doctor of philosophy from a university in Yogyakarta. Dr H. Fahruddin Faiz is almost always a booster for my positive energy when there is a lot of negativity coming my way.

Why did I choose him to be part of my positive booster, because, Doctor Faiz always emphasises on how to live a calm and happy life by being mindful.

At first, I didn't really understand what the practice of mindfulness meant even though I had heard about this lifestyle for a long time. After diving deeper, it turns out, I do a lot of things that can be called as goals to live more mindfully.

Still connected to my post last week in this community check here , there I explained about the benefits I got after doing digital minimalism periodically. However, what I want to explain first is the biggest reason why I want to do digital minimalism: the feeling of guilt that haunts me.

When I'm still reckless with my social media usage, my mind is a mess. I sometimes think a lot of unnecessary things about the future. I fear things that haven't happened yet or even that might not happen. In my head, these worrisome thoughts kept popping up and intertwining, causing me to have frequent panic attacks. From there, the idea of digital minimalism started.

Something else more interesting came up.

I thought mindfulness could only be achieved through meditation, but as it turns out, there are several things that can be done as mindfulness exercises, and some of them I've been doing for a long time.

What are the things I do to live more mindfully:

1.Self-Talk
I started doing self-talk a long time ago, because it's the only thing I can do for myself, I used to do self-talk before going to bed, either about gratitude, or apologising to myself. Believe me, apologising to ourselves is very difficult, especially if we are often unknowingly hurt.

2.Journal Writing


IMG20240826171026.jpg


Just like self-talk, journal writing is more ancient to me. I've been writing journals since I was in primary school. The reason is more or less the same. I need to release the negative things that happen to me.

3.Drawing


IMG20240826171854.jpg


If the two points above, I do in a row, it is different with drawing, I do drawing only if I really want to draw as a form of releasing my stree and chaotic thoughts. I'm not very good at drawing, but, sometimes I feel I'm not too bad either. LOL

4.Making Others Happy
For this point, I just found out recently. I just found out that wishing others to be happy can make our minds calmer and more focused. I love to wish other people to be happy, friends, family, or relatives. In fact, sometimes I pray for the man I like to have a happy life. The method is various, sometimes in the form of oral prayers, sometimes also in the form of writing.

Did I succeed?
There is no instant process, no sudden results. But I also believe that no effort is wasted. All my efforts to be more mindful are slowly showing results. I still occasionally feel guilty for no good reason, but I quickly realise that it's the wrong feeling and I know how to release it slowly.

I'm also more focused on the things I'm doing, and I feel calmer.
I still hope we continue to support each other and share positive energy. Thank you for reading...


IMG_20240312_170243.png

Titis N

Hi, I am the child of the universe, I like to read books with various genres. I was born in the city of batik but can't draw batik yet. I want to be a novelist, but my works are only short poems that are included in anthology books.

please share my content if you feel my content is good for everyone to read. Thank you. Let's be friends!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center