Life cycles

I don't know when the last time I turned on my TV was, I've lost count. Should I sell it or trade it in for some more useful equipment?

(... wait. I'll see if it still works)

IMG_20240722_091324.jpg

It's working!

I'm here to reflect. Let's see... if the TV has been sitting there for possibly over a month and I only occasionally go and remove the layer of dust that comes to adorn it day after day, do I really need this TV?

It seems like my life would be the same without it. This TV obviously doesn't make any difference or colour my life. However, I have to admit that when I turned it on a moment ago, a smile came to my face. I was happy to know that it still works, and I also wondered if I would ever need it once I got rid of it. We human beings are so contradictory!

I specifically remember the saying: just get rid of something you didn't use, and you immediately feel the need to use it. It is an idea that came from someone close to me or a neighbour. I don't know for sure who said it, but I do feel it is a familiar phrase. Could it be that this is already a program I have in my subconscious? Yesterday, I started looking in the wardrobe for a monopod that I had won as a prize in a photography contest, and I remembered that I had given it away. I thought about it because maybe it would be useful now for a project I have in mind. I didn't make that much of a fuss either. A solution will be found for that.

Ah, the television. I only have one. Some people have several. In the living room, in the bedrooms... I have a TV full of dust because I don't use it, others have collections of them and some don't have a single one and yearn for it, or the one they have is old or looks bad and would like one of those flat screens... Oh, my God, why are we so complex?

In the other room is my TV talking to alone. I heard children laughing, then children's music and now I think they're broadcasting a news programme.

(paying attention)

They say something about a colonial house and creators.

I'm leaving a few ideas here and there because I've been thinking for days about the things we tend to accumulate and don't need. There are others that we do, however, and if they were missing, I feel they would create a lot of anxiety. I'm talking about the things on which my livelihood depends or the tools that help in the expression of my creativity.


_1360441.JPG

I know that people are not things, but I do have to say that there are important people in my life whose absence makes me very anxious too. I spend (not very happy) days in silence, with many doubts, thinking about processes of acceptance, about my mistakes, about what I should have done, about what I didn't do, about the time that passed us by.

It's true that I blame me a lot, but I end up forgiving myself... When that happens, sometimes I take refuge in things, and those things lead me to other people and so...

I started with the television and now I'm getting into the subject of life and its cycles that always, always lead to learning.

In short, those things that help us to escape, accept or reconnect are necessary and everyone knows, I suppose, how many they need, if they can carry them, in a pocket, perhaps, or if they need more storage space. What do you think?

*The TV stays for the moment... it can serve as an auxiliary screen on my desk.



Original content by @nanixxx. All rights reserved ©, 2024.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center