A minimalist wallet: yey or nay?

Heeeyho Readers! What's in your pocket, minimalists?


During my 20s, before knowing about the whole minimalist trend, I used to carry one of those regular men's leather wallets. As a rule of thumb, the more space we got, the more we want to fill said space. Consequently, my wallet was filled with everything (but money). Driver's license, ID, health plan card, bank card, business card, and a bunch of other crap.

One night, at a party, while heavily slightly drunk, that wallet disappeared from my back-pocket. The result of losing every-single-document scaled to a rather bizarre situation: I'd lost my money and bank card, so I needed to cash out some fiat with my ID at the counter, but I'd lost the ID too. To make a new ID, I needed cash (that I couldn't cash out). I suddenly found myself in a doomed loop.

I've been going out with nothing but a bank card, some fiat and ID ever since. All thrown into my pocket — like a savage man. Also, a single account from one of these "digital" banks replaced the other two, which makes like a lot easier. Simplifying what I carry solved future hassles. Fast forward to today.

Tinkering with leather has got me busy lately, so I decided to combine business with pleasure and build myself a minimalist leather wallet to keep things organized. That got me thinking...

How do other minimalists organize their pockets?

DSC_0281.jpg

Minimalist wallet


Design idea comes from Corter Leather on Youtube. He creates awesome leather crafts, though I prefer to avoid most of his videos to keep my own reality in check. You know? Starting off simple is the best way to align expectation to reality. With the abundance of information and tutorials available, it's quite easy for us to bite off more than we can chew, often resulting is huge frustrations.

Anyways. This is not a leather craft DIY post. One could think this post is an ingenious way to show-off this super sexy hand-made wallet. It is. Not! What I'm indeed curious about is other people's organization. Here's mine.

  • One pocket for the phone
  • One pocket for wallet (containing bank card, fiat money and ID) + keys

That's that.

Never before have I felt the need for carrying a pocket-knife or a 'pen-styled' flashlight like other survivalists/minimalists/ on internet do. (Do they even?). Sure, bringing a Swiss Army Knife sounds cool, although more often than ever it's just extra weight pulling my trousers down.

Back to showing off my new super delicious wallet...

DSC_0282.jpg

Ultra compact


The wallet is essentially made of two side slip pockets: one to slide in credit cards and the other to shove in a few bank notes. I'm one of those old-fashioned folks who still uses bank notes — still the best way to spend money without the government knowing xD.

1000020542.jpg

Keeping it simple


Whether I'll continue to use this wallet as my EDC or sell it is a mystery. Having the once scattered notes and card and whatnots organized is great. Perhaps the lack of more space/slots will prevent me from accumulating more never-used cards in there. We'll see.

Now, finally...

Will you please talk about your pocket?? I wanna know other savages who go out with nothing but keys and money. I know some ultra-wild ppl who don't even take keys with them.

Curious to know.

Peace.


If you enjoyed this post consider leaving your upvote for a hot coffee.

Find me on Twitter: https://twitter.com/mrprofessor_

~Love ya all,


Disclaimer: The author of this post is a convict broke backpacker, who has travelled more than 10.000 km hitchhiking and more than 5.000 km cycling. Following him may cause severe problems of wanderlust and inquietud. You've been warned.


I'm Arthur. I blog about Adventure Stories, Brazil, Travel, Camping, & Life Experiences.

Follow me to stay tuned for more craziness and tips.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
33 Comments