Tackling Overspending

Hello people,
To bring a change we all start from somewhere, maybe from the most obvious thing that triggers the change, right? For me, it was…wait a minute, what so hurry? Well, for me it wasn't like that, “Ohh, let's embrace minimalism and start from here.” I fell for minimalism without even knowing the concept of minimalism. I just felt like a few things are getting out of control and I need to have some checks on them. Slowly but gradually I came across these minimalism concepts at their fullest and stepped into that formally to be a minimalist and see the positive impacts on my life.

You know what, the biggest enemy for me was the habit of overspending, unnecessary, and unplanned spending all of a sudden made me suffer a lot. Still, I am struggling with this habit more or less but trying to mitigate this as much as possible.

1720562990289-01.jpeg

"ᵂᵒʳᵈˢ ᵃⁿᵈ ᵖⁱᶜˢ ᵃʳᵉ ᵐⁱⁿᵉ, ᵘⁿˡᵉˢˢ ᴵ ˢʰᵒᵘᵗᵒᵘᵗ ʷʰᵉʳᵉ ᵗʰᵉʸ ᶜᵃᵐᵉ ᶠʳᵒᵐ!"

In the past, I was like, “I do have the money, and let's buy this, this, and that.” I used to be fooled by the unnecessary use cases of something without even asking myself, “Do I really need this? Can't I do without having this?” The more I am getting into minimalism the more need to have good command over this I felt. Yeah, spending is the root of a minimalist lifestyle. If you can't spend money wisely then you are sure to suffer in the long run like I am doing more or less.

I used to see piles of stuff on my desk, on my wardrobe, on my drawers. I had a bad habit of hiding things, and when I would see there were unnecessary things all around me, I would throw them somewhere far from my eyes. I don't see them as if they don't exist, and on the other day, I would get something like that once again. One example could be earphones, three, four, or five earphones in my drawer at a time. What was the root of all these? Spending without having thoughts, without asking if I really needed this, the mistake of getting tempted by new features without even realizing the worth of upgrading to that one.

So yeah, the first and most obvious habit that I changed after embracing minimalism was spending unwisely and I bet each and every one of you would agree with this. This should be the root of other habits, if it is managed wisely then the other habits get easier to manage.


Okay, that's it for today. If you are a minimalist and want to participate in this week's #KISS blog ideas from THE MINIMALIST community, read the Announcement Post.
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments