Putting my best foot forward


The sun's been out the last two days, and gleefully, my heart pumps steadily, as I stroll through the woods.

The weather influences my mood, although in recent years I've coped well with all seasons and weather conditions. However, having spent most of the winter in Jamaica and then extended warm temperatures in Egypt, I never got the chance to acclimatise to the cold, dark, grey British winter this year.

Rain in Jamaica is liquid sunshine that makes me look outside and wanna dance. Whereas, rain in the UK is cold misery that makes me look outside and wanna die hide.

To counter all this, exercising in nature is my reliable feel-good activity, but for the last few months, I've lacked the motivation to go out in the wet and cold temperatures for exercise. Fortunately, with these warmer days on the horizon, a sense of optimism is restored.
The power of sunshine, heh? Just a small dose and all the happy neurons in my brain are activated, and my mind sees the world as a happier place.


I was a little hesitant to walk around with a selfie stick because I like to be alert in my surroundings and ready to respond should the need arise. Still, with the blue skies above, with nature shining in all her glory, today called for an exception.
Just simple things such as admiring the sky, the leaves in the trees, the cunning movements of squirrels, or a flock of birds flying high. Taking moments to acknowledge these things has such an impact, and all my troubles in the world dissipate with the wind.



I've always had a wish to be a bear and hibernate during colder months, or for the entire winter, but I might have to alter those wishes. As I failed to acknowledge that nothing is as unpredictable as the British weather; So spring or summer does not guarantee sunshine or even bright skies.

I spent yesterday and today defrosting my body, just stretching in positions that I've never done in yoga. I've been feeling and observing every nook and cranny of my body, which feels like a reigniting of love, self-love.

My muscles are tight, but with each move, I breathe into the discomfort until I find comfort, and my body feels appreciative of it.

I feel guilt-ridden for having been so unkind to my body.

Each stretch feels like a resurrection, as my body is rejuvenated and my body and mind are synchronised.

It's amazing how simple stretches alone helped to release happy hormones.

I felt like I was on a natural high.

My quick series of stretches was the motivation that I need to get back into a positive habit of resistance training, daily stretching, meditation, and just being kinder to myself. With exercise, I like a routine of several different activities to keep it interesting and fun.

Peace & Irie Vibes, Milly xx

PS. Last year when I lived on the narrowboat in nature, I got hoodwinked into believing that I loved winter. Well, it ain't so! I'm an islander and will forever be a sunshine lover.😍

All images were taken by me

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center