FINDING COMFORT IN LESS

When I saw this prompt, I felt compelled to share a glimpse of my recent experiences because I have been trying to make use of “less is more”.

IMG_6917.jpeg

There is something I have always disliked, I hate having unnecessary stuff hanging around me, and it gives me some feelings of disturbance or distraction.

Recently, I got an apartment. Prior to that, I had always wondered how things would be since I would be living with a roommate. I wondered if she would be a minimalist or not. Not only that, I wondered how I’d be minimal with my space.

Most houses around the school don’t have wardrobes except the school hostel (which they are currently just building and it is limited now), houses with wardrobes are either too expensive or far from school, which I don’t want. This thought of how I will manage my space has always been my concern about getting an apartment.

IMG_8665.jpeg

About 2weeks back, I got an apartment that was close to school but not so beautiful or nice, it was an okay choice for me because of my morning classes and I won’t be spending up to a year there, so I just couldn’t care less.

I needed a place where it would be peaceful and stress-free. I find the environment peaceful and serene and I decided to go with the place. The house has a room, parlour(living room), kitchen, and toilet and we are four girls in total.

When I came to the house, a girl was already living there (in the room), and the place was looking scattered and decluttered, I immediately got the idea that she would be a maximalist but on another thought, I felt like she hadn’t had a roommate so maybe that explains why she used the whole space to her self.



In a nutshell, I settled into my spot in the corner of the bedroom while the other two girls made use of the parlor. The space felt so small compared to my room at home. I wondered if I would be able to make good use of it.

And this idea of ‘less is more’ came to my mind, and I made use of it. I looked for ways to minimize my belongings and make it as simple as possible. I tried to avoid unnecessary things to make my space more organised.

First, I took my important things and took my time to check what else I really needed. I don’t want the 'more,' but rather the valuable 'less'. Two days ago, after taking some time, I identified what I truly needed without necessarily adding clutter to my space.

IMG_8601.jpeg

I know that if I should go on and get all the things I thought I needed, I'd inevitably drown in a sea of unnecessary 'more', but after waiting more than a week to see that I truly needed them, I went to get them and even figured an imaginary space for them before getting it.

Let me brief you on how I arrange my things

IMG_8662.jpeg

In the blue bag, I keep my foodstuffs, snacks, and drinks. In the little cartoon, I keep my daily stuff there like brushes, lipglosses, creams, etc. In the traveling bag, I keep my clothes and other necessities that I don’t regularly need. In the little orange basket, I keep my day-to-day clothes.

On the other side of my bed. I have just a box (like a shoe box) to keep my files or documents, also my glasses and jewellery, and on top of it, I keep my books and my blue ray glasses.

IMG_8668.jpeg

I think I manage my space well because it is so little. However I think as time goes on, I will figure out a better way to make my space more comfortable. I love my space neat and organized, where everything has a space or things are well packed.

Although, I have an extra space for passage but my bed space is just for me while the other side I created is for both of us, so we can have a free space.


Living with a maximalist is not so comfortable; seeing everything everywhere is always so disturbing. I constantly find tiny items scattered around. I just feel like it is disrespectful to take a picture of her space, for a glimpse of what I am saying

But regardless, I hope to find better way to make things more comfortable.


All images are mine

IMG_6773.gif

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center