Simple things fit me

Greetings!


The last outfit I had sewn was a native attire for a wedding event. I took the attire to a newly found tailor on my street to have him measure and sew it for me. After he measured me with his tape, he asked what kind of extra design I wanted. I simply told him to make it look nice with whatever design he felt would suit me. After scrolling through the many designs on his phone gallery, he shook his head and said, "Your bill is 30,000 naira."

"30 what?!" I exclaimed aloud.

He pulled me closer to his phone and began to point out the things he intended to add to the outfit. As he was showing me, I couldn’t stop laughing, which surprised him. It was quite funny because the things he wanted to add were very odd, with lots of "bling bling" and childish drawings in rainbow-like colors.

There’s currently this trend in African fashion where drawings, like dollar symbols or Bitcoin logos, are plastered boldly on the front of shirts...which tells the real big boy from the wear lol

"I don’t even fancy those things; they seem childish to me. This is the amount I have, and please, make it a simple design," I said as I walked away. While leaving, I could hear him saying things like, "You don’t know fashion," implying that’s why I found his suggested design awkward.

One thing I appreciate about myself is that simple styles, especially in fashion, suit me effortlessly. I don’t struggle with my appearance like others do. My younger female siblings assured me of this sense of style when we were at home, and to this day, that sense still stays with me. You know, for guys, those without much flesh tend to have a harder time finding clothes that fit well compared to those with more flesh. I’m slim, while my immediate younger brother is a bit chubbier, and when we dress, my sisters always compliment me but laugh at how my brother seems to struggle with how his clothes fit him.

When it comes to fashion, I don’t need to follow trends to look good. In fact, I don’t even check the mirror after putting on my clothes because I know I’m fine. Does a guy need a mirror in his house?
Also, I have a good sense of color coordination... it may sound like I’m boasting, but it’s the truth. I’m currently in charge of drafting dress codes for my church unit because we deal with a lot of colors.

Another thing that complements my simple fashion sense is my neatness. Even before I got into laundry business, I was always known for keeping my clothes clean. You would rarely catch me in a wrinkled shirt, even my house clothes are well-maintained. And that neatness works like magic because a clean outfit often outshines all the bling and extra vibes that people go for.
I don’t own a lot, but my clothes are simple and well-kept, giving me a sense of satisfaction every time I wear them. Isn't that what fashion is all about? Covering and a sense of satisfaction.

Let me stop here

Thanks for reading.

This is my entry to #Kiss prompt of the week.

Photos used are mine

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center