My grandmother's treasures

Hello friends, it is a pleasure for me to write for the first time in this community, this time I will tell you about someone who made my childhood happy and fulfilling. I am referring to my dear grandmother.

image.png
Imagen en pixabay by sasint

My mother and father worked a lot when I was a child and that is why my grandmother was in charge of my upbringing most of the time, there was a time when we lived with her and although she did not have such a low economic position she always called my attention that in her house she did not have many things, some chairs, some furniture and if by chance one of my uncles gave her a gift that was related to something she already had, then she would give her gift that was still in good condition, to that person who needed it, she was not one to keep a lot of things.

If she saw that someone needed something more than she did, her desire to help them made her give it to them, it did not affect her at all to give away her things, she was not so attached to material things, she concentrated more on what she could do to spend more time with her grandchildren. She liked to go for walks with me, she would take me to the park and I remember as if it were yesterday seeing her come to pick me up from school. Although at that time I thought my grandmother was very poor, as I grew up I understood that it was her way of life. Here in our country there are always very needy people, even the neighbor next to your house, that's why my grandmother did not throw things away but gave them to someone in need.

image.png
Imagen en pixabay by dassel

Both my mom and my uncles knew that she was like that and that is why instead of giving them many things, appliances, paintings and other things, they concentrated on dedicating quality time to her, the best gift that existed for her, she loved to go to the beach and watch us play in the waves, she treasured in her memory each of the memories she had with her family.

That is why it hurt me so much one day 3 years ago when I went with my wife to visit her, I knew she had been in poor health but I was shocked that she did not recognize me, all her beautiful memories that she had kept so much were disappearing. But in our memory they were, so the moments that she considered more important than possessions, in those moments were more valuable to us than any product, appliance or comfort in the house. From her I learned a lot about material things.

image.png
Imagen en pixabay by bissdesigning

In my daily life, I don't focus so much on buying and buying a lot of things, I don't have so many luxuries at home, I only have what I need and I focus more on the moments with my family and how I can help other people, just as she always taught me. Today I feel nostalgic because it is coming up to the one year anniversary of her death, she died just a few weeks after my baby was born. He was hospitalized a month after he was born so she didn't get to meet him, but I will strive to teach him the things she taught me, the love of life, the importance of family and the happiness that comes from helping others. Material things and luxuries are not so important, family and moments with her are. Thank you very much for reading me.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now