My Problems? Or My Mindset?

So, my daily life hasn’t been in too much of a pretty state. Who knew perfecting and trying to maintain a strict schedule was so hard? I’m trying to fit it all in. My University is just about to resume so I know maintaining a schedule is going to get even tougher, balancing that with my online activities, and even offline activities, plus maintaining a few personal relationships. And I’m wondering, what is going to be left of me afterwards.

I noticed also, that it’s getting tougher being able to do the things I really liked. It’s like I wake up in the morning and I’m faced with all my online work activities. And then I got to tackle them, and then I realize, “Oh my, it’s time for my online class,” and I rush to handle that too. Then you add the fact that living under your parents’ roof means that you can’t afford to refuse them when they send you on an errand like cooking, or buying foodstuffs from the market. And then you get to all of that, and what do you know? It’s already 9pm and the day has more or less come to and end. You try to tidy up other online activities in time to sleep by 12. Rinse and repeat the next morning.

I thought to myself just how long am I going to keep up with this, especially since I’ll have more work in the common weeks and I also don’t want to lose sight of myself and the things I love on this path to grounded footing, independence and financial freedom. Coincidentally, in class yesterday, I learnt about scheduling and how to prioritize the things I need to do using a method called the Eisenhower Matrix. And it felt like, it’s something I could incorporate into my life.

Mental decluttering as a minimalist principle can only start when you prioritize and factor in the important, urgent, less important and not necessary things to do among your daily tasks, because you’re freeing yourself from the mental stress and potential breakdown that comes with feeling like your life is all over the place. And so I said I was going to do that. Be more intentional about my daily tasks so that I have time enough to do the things I love and not burnout in the process.

Seeing the prompt by The Minimalist Community through the #freedomfriday initiative and I thought to myself, Am I truly being free? Am I living my most liberated life? And all of that may seem irrelevant because I have responsibilities here and there each day, but does that mean I can no longer have the time or the leverage to do what makes me happy?

So, what is my safest bet towards tackling all of that? Because the first step towards being liberated from something is acknowledging that it exists and that I do have a problem with this. And I guess this is my way of putting myself forward and freeing myself by saying that I do not have it together. And even though everyone is imperfect and I don’t need to always have it together, I feel like more damage than good will happen in the long run because of my inability to have my daily activities in order.

Cutting myself some slack now because I’ve watched myself grow a lot in the past month and I’m loving the shape my life is beginning to take. So what do I really need to get it all in place? My problems? Or my mindset? Maybe, let me know what you feel about this in the comments. If you’ve had any experience with maintaining a schedule for your daily activities or advice that could help me with it. I’d really appreciate it. Have a lovely day everyone.

Jhymi🖤


Image are mine.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center