Cultivating Mindfulness Through Simple Practices.

The human mind is always busy, and I believe it was designed that way, or should I say it's just mine, because I really can't tell what's happening in other people's minds. Unlike the other physical parts of our body that I can control, the mind has the ability to roam as it wishes, and that defines why it's considered a very powerful part of every human being.

Before mindfulness became a practice for me, pinning my thoughts and focusing on just one thing despite the wave of thought playing in my mind was very challenging. Several times, I tried not to think about anything whatsoever.

IMG_20240825_085604.jpg

I really wanted to achieve a different level of silence and peace in my mind, but these thoughts always find their way in, and I get stuck trying to process every thought and idea that pops up in my mind.


It can be very noisy up there, and not being able to shut it down made me experience mental stress at different levels. The most annoying part of all is that despite being stressed, the human mind doesn't go to rest, and at a point, I had to embrace and practice mindfulness.

While in the polytechnic, I was struggling with so many things due to my financial situation. It was quite challenging trying to stay focused on studies, especially with my mind buzzing around with so many ideas to help myself even though they weren't all realistic, and yet, I tried my very best to stay on track with my goals in school.

There was always this thought that I could do better; I definitely recognize that as mine, but the other thoughts in my mind wouldn't just let me be. Distraction wasn't far from me until I spoke to Mrs. Phillips, my lecturer, who had been guiding me in my minimalist journey back then.

"Where do you stay focused the most when studying?" She asked me that day.

"On the school field or at a different garden in the school," I replied, and she said, "that's it, but just don't study only books there. Practice mindfulness through meditation often in nature, and it would really help you work on this distraction of a thing."

It wasn't as easy as I thought because my mind still interfered with my meditation, but I made progress slowly. It wasn't like I got rid of those thoughts; they didn't disappear, but I was able to focus on the one that really matters at that time. I was quite silly to think sitting still and mediating was the only way to reach a mindful state, but as I grew deeper in my practices, I learned more about mindfulness and developed my ways, which I find more effective.

A morning walk is actually a form of exercising the body, but it does more for me. I leave my home as early as 6am before the world gets really busy and just take that long walk practicing mindfulness because it's always extra quiet except for a very few vehicles that pass. While walking, I have successfully learned how to put those lousy thoughts away and improve my focus on what matters at that moment.

IMG_20240830_084903.jpg

The atmosphere, quietness, breathing exercise, and pace walking always have great influence, and they ease my transition into the mindful state. Sometimes, I listen to podcasts to keep my concentration at its peak, and there are times I just want to listen to everything playing in my mind, even though I wouldn't make any decision with those pops up.

Skipping does the same for me, but I only do it on days when I don't meet up for my morning walk. I don't force or put any form of pressure; I just follow a simple rhythm with steps, and it's fun.

That definitely increases my focus, and I love the fact that it also helps me stay fit.


I have a very small garden. I started stubbornly despite my landlord's disapproval, for God knows why.

IMG_20240830_112125.jpg

The garden has played a part in practicing mindfulness because the time spent there helps me stay a lot focused. It's always short though, but quite impactful. I look forward to having a bigger garden someday, and hopefully I can spend more time practicing mindfulness while gardening.

I would love to mention cooking. I know someone reading this would say, How? It's as simple as just paying attention or focusing on just the cooking and putting distractions away.

One of the things I haven't done in a while or something that hasn't happened on my watch is burning food. Even when I am not the one cooking, I have reached a state of mindfulness that I can tell a food is ready for this and that.

FB_IMG_1725013589215.jpg

You can say it's timing, but I don't even use the time for anything in the kitchen, and it tells how much mindfulness can be practiced while cooking.


All these practices have really impacted my ability to focus on what truly matters, regardless of what's playing in my mind. Like I mentioned earlier, the mind can't be silenced, but being able to put away mental distractions will help us a lot with clarity, and mental stress won't be part of our struggles.

I am still a work in progress with practicing mindfulness and will just continue putting my best so achieve results

All Image Are Mine

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments