My challenges in practicing Minimalism

There are some practices of minimalism in my part of the world that people frown upon and term as being stingy. This is most likely inevitable because people often misunderstand a minimalist person who minds their spending on food, clothing, and uses renewable products instead of going for fancy and expensive options. That's one of my major challenges as a minimalist.... being referred as a stingy guy.
Although we are told that we shouldn't be bothered by what people say about us, those words cannot be completely ignored.

My images and Designed on Canva

I remember a particular day while coming back from school with two friends. One friend suggested that we stop by a restaurant to have a feel of the Friday by enjoying some food before heading home because 'man must enjoy once in a while.' Honestly, there's nothing wrong with enjoying once in a while, but that day, I had prepared a good pot of soup at home and wasn't ready to spend any money on food. So I disagreed, and they all said, "This guy is too stingy." At that moment, I tried explaining to them that the money I had was budgeted for something else, but they didn't agree. They concluded that I'm used to always managing and economizing, and to crown it all, they added, "the wife you're going to marry will endure a lot from you." Although we laughed about it, those words and the label they gave me stuck in my heart.

Did I change after that? No, I'm still keeping to my lifestyle. I spend according to my budget and don't go for what I didn't plan because, most times, doing that makes one spend more unknowingly and irrelevantly.

Another challenge I'm facing is the inability to overcome emotional attachment to some items.
Just like how I grew up seeing my mom hoarding some ancient items, which I often frowned upon because they were no longer in use, yet she kept them. I'm having the same challenges too.

I have some pieces of electronic gadgets in my house that, even when they're not in use, are still kept in a corner.

My images

I have a particular power bank that's been faulty for a while. I bought another one since I stopped using it, but discarding the old one has been a big problem. I won't lie, I get this sweet feeling anytime I see it, even though it's no longer working, and maybe I think it'll start working one day.
The same goes for my phone chargers; I hardly throw them away when they stop working. I think I'm obsessed with keeping gadgets even though they occupy my space.


My image

Although I have a bag where I keep them, because once in a while, I do go back there and find some parts useful, like wires and little bulbs, which I use to repair other items when I want to be creative and have fun at my leisures.

These are some of the challenges I'm facing as a minimalist.

Thanks!🫶

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments