Straining family relationships

IMG20230314103032.jpg

Unfortunately, I know many maximalists who are overwhelmed by the amount of chores they have to do because of the size of their house and the amount of things they have to clean and keep in good condition. However, today I am going to talk to you specifically about one person, a cousin of mine who is a little bit close to me. I say a little because due to how busy she is, I almost never see her and it is partly better for me.

My cousin is one of those people who likes to make big celebrations, to invite many people, she loves to celebrate her friends' anniversaries with a series of activities that are very different from what I would do and to tell the truth, seeing her involved in planning, decorations, invitations and combinations has a negative impact on my emotions and energy because it stresses me out a lot.

She knows that I am very simple but for some reason she always wants me to accompany her in her thousand things to plan. She asks me for ideas and suggestions for decorations, to be polite I try to give my opinions with a lot of respect so as not to take away her excitement but believe me, it is not easy at all. She is maximalist even when it comes to talking, she doesn't finish talking about one topic when she starts with another and even though I try to take a deep breath and be patient I end up getting exhausted just listening to her, she even makes me hot. It is incredible how it has a negative impact on my head.

IMG20230602045120.jpg

At times I have mentioned that when there are many people at a party, the essence of the celebration is lost, everything goes to attend and get tired, in this way the goal is not achieved, which is to have a good time, to have a quality time with family and friends, however, her personality prevents her from accepting the suggestion and she continues to be a person who has good intentions to entertain others but does not stop stressing out. She's always in an uproar, with lots of tablecloths and fabrics in the car to decorate and decorate. If only I perceived that she is happy to do so, I would say it is worth her stress but she is not happy at all, she is always tired and overwhelmed.

I must admit that what drives her to act are nice feelings because she is a good person, but trends make her lose her way and submerge her in a world of papers and decorations that leave her empty.

It is not easy to rescue someone from that kind of life, especially when she has made that overwhelming world her philosophy of life. She has not followed my suggestions, so I have said no more. I hope that the support she somehow feels in me for seeing me calmer will lead her to reconsider how to lead her life and above all to give importance to what is a priority, namely peace.

IMG20230421083743.jpg

In the meantime, I continue with my minimalist lifestyle, not to contradict anyone but because that's the way I am and I feel happy. Sometimes I feel bad because I avoid her, but there are specific moments in my life when I don't have the strength to listen to so many things and even less if they are vain, because it ends up taking away the little energy I have. When I feel with renewed energy I listen to her and if I can I give some punctual suggestion, but I don't go further because I feel that after she leaves I am left with a weight on my shoulders. I am sad to say it but it is the truth. I hope that someday she will leave that lifestyle behind and focus on what is most important.

Lumii_20210913_003728286.png

suma.gif

All photos are my own, taken with a Realme 7i.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center