Learning to yield so as not to go to extremes

IMG20230423120523.jpg

From my perspective, the word "balance" is fundamental in all areas of our lives. That is very clear to me, however, it has been very difficult for me to find the balance in what has to do with the minimalist lifestyle. In general I tend to be very practical in the things I do in my day to day life. I'm not that way because I'm lazy or because I don't like nice things, rather I prefer to give more importance to the things that from my point of view are more important.

For example, my family, especially my dad is usually very detailed and enthusiastic, he really has a personality that makes you fall in love, however, in many occasions we don't get along when it's time to share with friends. If it is a welcome, farewell, anniversary celebration, in short, any activity that requires us to get together among family and friends, my dad starts planning a good meal in an environment full of details and sometimes he has even made us record videos or make small plays for the guests. Just remembering these events exhausts me mentally.

IMG20230505124047~2.jpg

I always mention to my dad that something simple and meaningful is best and he tells me that if left up to me we would never do anything or just hand out cookies and soda. And the truth is he's right, I'm not a fan of so many mind-numbing activities. I prefer a warm atmosphere with a simple table, snacks, instrumental music in the background and that we can feel comfortable, free to talk as much as we can and if possible with bare feet, this relaxes me, however, I have realized that what I prefer is not always the most attractive for the guests.

So if I persist in my point of view I would become a selfish person, therefore, there are times when I must give in and adapt to the tastes of others. This does not mean that I stopped being me, but simply that I must find that meeting point between my essence and that of others. I admit with great sincerity that many of the details and meals made by my dad, have left beautiful marks in the hearts of very dear friends and that although at the beginning of so many times I did things almost forced, seeing the face of joy and gratitude of dear people compensated in a great way the discomfort of preparing things so elaborate.

The point I want to emphasize is that a minimalist person adapts, does not insist on his or her preferences when it comes to points of view, but rather, gives in when it comes to the well-being and happiness of others. Even though it overwhelms me to make many cards of good wishes because I consider that one is enough, I remember that those who are going to receive it will feel happy and that helps me to maintain balance and get along well with my family, who are very detail-oriented. It is not easy, but if it is about the happiness of others and peace at home, it is worth the effort.

Lumii_20210913_003728286.png

suma.gif

All photos are my own, taken with a Realme 7i.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center