The Great Yeast Experiment: Initial Pitch

img_3258.jpg

img_3256.jpg

Today was my day. I loaded up the kids and went to the Aldi to get some things, and while I was there I picked up the juice for this long-awaited experiment.

img_3257.jpg

I picked up seven bottles; one for each type of yeast to be used. If you haven’t been following this thread or just want to catch up on the other related posts, you can find a table of all GYE links here.

img_3258.jpg

Naturally, I gathered all my ingredients for a quick family photo. This is crucial.

img_3259.jpg

I measured the initial gravity of the juice as 1.048. Later we’ll relate this to the final gravity measurements for each bottle in an equation to calculate %ABV for each yeast.

img_3260.jpg

For each bottle, I taped the yeast package used to the outside.

The individual shots below show the different yeasts settling or floating according to their own tendencies. Later we might be able to distinguish which yeasts work from top down and which ones work from the bottom up.
img_3267.jpg

img_3263.jpg

img_3266.jpg

img_3262.jpg

img_3265.jpg

img_3268.jpg

img_3261.jpg

The most noteworthy thing I see in any of these photos is the extreme discoloration in the Turbo Yeast bottle (above). This may be because the turbo yeast has powdered yeast nutrients mixed in. This will most likely be one that requires additional bottle conditioning to get the flavor settled in.

Anyway, now I guess it’s time for some more waiting. Thanks for checking out some more of my photos, as always, I hope you enjoyed seeing them as much as I enjoyed taking and sharing them!

HERE is one more link to the GYE link table for anyone interested.

For an indexed view of (most) of my works, don’t forget to check out the Albus Index! Quickly search through my content or browse for what’s available by topic!

- - : GO TO THE ALBUS INDEX : - -

img_2455.jpg

Use my Coinbase referral link to get started with Coinbase! I’ll get $10 in Bitcoin but, more importantly, you will get $10 in Bitcoin too!

Here is a post I did recently about using Coinbase with HiveWallet to get Hive in the US. If you’re wanting to buy Hive and are having difficulties, this may be helpful for you!

img_1752.jpg

- - : GO TO THE ALBUS INDEX : - -

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency