Vault Jam Part 2 - Acoustic Guitar Improvisation


Here is an improvisation that started based on a basic 4 track loop I set up in MPC 2 using some hand drums and synths. With the backing tracks in place, I wanted to test out how my Zoom H6 worked as an audio interface with my laptop. It was a bit tricky getting the monitoring setup without lagging in Cakewalk and at the right volume to hear both the backing track and the live recording of the acoustic guitar. Eventually after fixing some bitrate settings and adjusting monitor levels on the zoom itself I got something workable for a mobile recording studio. The last step was to set up the Insta 360 camera in the right location. I didn’t quite put it in a good spot as it was placed too low to the ground and the seaming between the front and the back camera got confused and didn’t stitch quite right. Next time I’ll try placing the camera higher up, so it doesn’t warp as bad. Also, I suspect if I place it in an isolated area, it will stitch better.

As for the jam itself the backing track was just a D drone, so I tuned the guitar to DADGDE to emulate the drone and played whatever came to mind at the time. In this case it kind of has a middle eastern vibe to it. Perhaps this is the soundtrack to a camel caravan traversing the desert at night to avoid the intense summer heat and to avoid marauders.

That’s all for now, thanks for watching 😊


▶️ 3Speak

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments