Shanties β›΅πŸš‚

The first Tuesday of another month maties ...
The month of June, filled with high rains, bustling winds and a strong feel of adventure on the high seas πŸŒŠβ›΅....

With that strong sense of adventure going I would like to start this month version edition of #threetunestuesday with a wonderful sub version of songs...

Shanties...

20230606_212752_0000.png

Image created by me using Canva

Shanties are catchy little tunes sung by workers when doing a job.
It was then collected by sailors who popularized the genre of music and claimed it as their own.
It's a simple kind of song that comprises of a simple catchy chorus sung by plenty people, with different verses or stanza sung by a single person that grow more complex as the song goes on.

With that little definition out of the way what do you say I get on with my first tune?

Process Man πŸ§°πŸ‘·β€β™‚οΈ

This Irish work shanty is one of the best I've heard. Having a simple beat all through and mostly harmonies, you can simply picture yourself in the workers plant, killing yourself but still going onπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚.


Drunken Sailor βš“β›΅

Now we're down to the sailing classicsπŸ˜ƒ, a song even thought in Navy school (just kidding πŸ˜‚).
This has to be one of the most popular sea shanties around, it being used in different place like the popular video game Assassin's Creed IV: Black Flag and it's even a well known theme used in the house hold common cartoon SpongeBob SquarePants.
It's a lot of fun singing at the top of your voice with your friends and probably some shots of whiskey or rum πŸ˜—βœ¨πŸŒŠ


Binks Sake πŸΆπŸ΄β€β˜ οΈ

Now this is the song that actually introduced me to Shanties and spurred on this post.
I started the ever long anime series One Piece a few months ago and I just finished the Thriller Bark arc, part of the reason in my decline of anime review posts so sorry @adamada.
At this point in the tale, Luffy finally adds a his long wanted musician to his crew in the name of Brook and this is what he played.
It was a song I instantly fell in love with and one that's currently added in my anime playlistπŸ˜ƒβœ¨.
A lovely shanty depicting the life of a pirate.

So I guess that's it for my entry...
But I'm going to go off script her and leave y'all with a bonus track... It's not often I do it but it is a badass tune that still needs to be heard...

Bonus track: On The Railroad πŸš‚


One thing I noticed is that most shanties are Irish or have that Irish accent and that's just lovely. It really brings out the soul of the song πŸ˜ƒ
Maybe @ablaze or @blanchy could sing some one day for #ttt?

Anyways I have to go off now but it was lovely as always listening for songs for this movement started by Irish golfer @ablaze...

What's #threetunestuesday some may ask?

Well to put it simply...
It's just us coming around every Tuesday to share three songs of our choice..
Any type of music is allowed even one made or sung by you πŸ˜ƒ...
I think there's a hive playlist being made too, so your song would be on there 🌝✨ #firststepstostardom πŸ€©πŸ‘¨β€πŸŽ€

So pick up that guitar, clean that mic or simply just pick a tune, write a post about it and post in the Music Community with the #ttt tag, also tag ablaze on the post too cause he loves new tunesπŸ˜ƒ (let's flood his notification 🌝✨)

Thanks for visiting Folks πŸ˜ƒ

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center