Three soundtracks for Three Tune Tuesday

1

Today's names: Philip Glass, Kenji Kawai, Edward Artemyev.

Philip Glass - In the Upper Room: Dance IX

(2009)

Glass is a famous composer of distinctive, catchy minimalist music and the author of soundtracks to a few dozen of films. There was a period in my life, when I was obsessed with post-rock and instrumental music; thanks to the emergence of the Internet, it created amazing opportunities - it was easy to cast a net - and pull out of the ocean all film soundtracks that Glass had a hand in. I filtered them through my perception filters and ended up with a good chunk of music.... as a bonus, I learned about some interesting films!

'In the Upper Room' was a dance/theater collaboration between Philip Glass as composer and choreographer Twyla Tharp. Originally, this whole recording was created for the 1986 ballet. This piece for me is a gem not only within the recording, but I'd include it in my personal Philip Glass 'best of' compilation. Just give in to your imagination, the rhythm of the music, and see where it takes you.


Kenji Kawai – 謡II - Ghost City

(«Ghost in the Shell» OST, 1995)

Another of my faves. Very moody, divine music, with a special admixture of ... cyberpunk? future? futurology? I do not know the answer. But I rewatch this anime every few years, and simply can't imagine it without this Divine music. It leaves me with a long delicate aftertaste.


Edward Artemyev - Peregrini

(from «Moon Rainbow» OST; 1983)

This clip on Youtube got only 32 likes, thats ridiculous! Every young person who is preoccupied with electronic music... or at least pretending to be interested in it, should know this name, and some other as well. I am curious - if such names as Lev Theremin, Maurice Martenot, Bob Moog - tell you anything? .. dig in, and you will discover an amazing stories behind each of them.

Eduard Artemiev, a man who standed at the forefront of early electronic music in the USSR in 60s, in 1970-80 switched to the soundtracks composer job, and did soundtracks for more than two hundred (!) films. Like Josip Brodsky, he also loved cats.


#img #src

I just mention that he provided soundtracks for three films of Andrey Tarkovsky (Stalker / Solaris / Mirror). Okay, my post does not have to retell his entire bio. The track I want to present you today is from the sci-fi film about adventures of space marines named "Moon Rainbow" (1983). I consider this track to be unattainable peak, an immaculate work of art in the genre of "space music". It belongs to the funny post-punk era when rockers have suddenly discovered the synthesizers 🧐 and electronic music started emerging non-stop!


If with this post you discover a couple of new names / great music, it will make me more happy... well, a bit. The post goes for Three Tune Tuesday challenge run by @ablaze.
The post goes for Three Tune Tuesday challenge run by @ablaze. Previous issues: 106 | 107 | 108 | 109 | 110 | 111 | 112 | 113 | 114 | 115 | 116

sep1201.png

All videos and music is copyrighted by the artists, not me!
My posts at pinmapple.com
Thanks for visiting my blog!
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now