Always in my periphery ~ Fiona Apple | ThreeTuneTuesday

For this #threetunetuesday by @ablaze, I luckily remembered it has been a while since I have binged some Fiona Apple.

I think if there are two artists I would put back to back it is likely Lana Del Rey and Fiona Apple.

I am not sure about Fiona's newer music since I mainly have the discography up until 2012 on my PC.



Fiona Apple - Periphery
Album: The Idler Wheel...

I think her album "The idler wheel..." is probably my favourite if only for the upbeat jazzy tracks. This song "The Periphery" is specifically one I recall just because it is so fun. "Hot Knife" from the same album is a great follow up.

Oddly I don't see many videos for her songs, I think that is a missed opportunity really.



Fiona Apple - Not about love
Album: Extraordinary Machine

Her album "Extraordinary Machine" opens with the same upbeat vibe as "The Idler Wheel", the first song is the same as the album's namesake. Extraordinary Machine may have the same light feel to it but the tempo is brought down queuing what seems to me to be generally more serious songs.

Fortunately it still keeps the jazzy and even big band sound throughout which I think is what makes her stand out from general offbeat singers.

The chosen song "Not about love" is one of the few songs I found with a video, and I actually changed from "Please Please Please" to it because of the video.

I don't think it matters really which songs I put in because they are all rather good and her albums you can listen from top to bottom without feeling let down.



Fiona Apple - Limp
Album: When the pawn...

"When the pawn..." is the oldest of the albums on this list by Fiona, I know it is different enough that I tend to not include it on my playlist.

Although, perusing the songs and recalling some I have heard and then finding "Limp" I think it is one I should give a thorough listen through.

I can definitely hear where both "The Idler Wheel..." and "Extraordinary Machine" came from. I think that may be true for quite a few artists where a person mainly knows their newer music, but listening to their older work is like filling in the gaps.

It was similar with Billy Talent who brought out a new album a while ago and since I knew their older music already I could appreciate the change in sound which still sampled from the best of their previous work.

In the end, I think I will need to see where she has gone from these, So I guess I will be binging some new Fiona

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center