Clear Cuts #3 - my cover of "Under The Bridge" by Red Hot Chili Peppers


Welcome back my friends, to the show seen through a lens...

I'm thrilled to bring another home studio recording to the Hive Music Community!

This song has taken the most work, but I feel it's the best so far.

I recorded this guitar part at the same time I recorded the first guitar part for Clear Cuts #2 (which I later scrapped), and managed to get a decent recording after just two takes.

I had to learn the bass part for this song, which took a night to learn and practice, and countless takes to get a decent recording. I'm still not super happy with how it came out, but time flies when you're trying to make things perfect.

I wanted to record some more vocals for "under the bridge downtown..." with harmonies and one of the screen tiles split into another 4 screens, but didn't have time for that either. The vocals took 3 takes, which finally happened Thursday night, and two of them were just good enough to put this together and be happy with it.

For the audio in this one, I edited all the sources for each instrument separately, output them to their own files, then used those files to mix the track. It took a little bit more time, but I'm quite a bit happier with the result.

UnderTheBridgeAudacityMixScreenshot.png

It also creates a few extra files... here's a look at the folder for this video.

UnderTheBridgeFilesShot.png

I'm still working on framing the videos, but I feel I'm making incremental progress there as well. Once I get a better handle on that, I'll work more on the lighting.

I recently upgraded my video editing desktop with a $25 graphics card from a decade ago (nVidia g610, 2GB) and it helped IMMENSELY with the video editing and processing. I used to have to pause the video every few seconds when previewing in OpenShot, to allow more to queue. Now, I can not only preview with ease, but my video exports and conversions are at least twice as fast.

UnderTheBridgeOpenshotFileExport.png

I never really talk about compression in my posts, but I do consider attention to file size to be one of the aspects of good content creation. I use a linux command line tool for shrinking my photos, but for videos, there is no tool better than HandBrake. If you've ever had a problem with videos taking up too much space, you should definitely give this free program a look.

UnderTheBridgeHandbrakeShot.png

Finishing this post feels like the end of a marathon. I might take a break next week to concentrate a bit more on my comedy. If you enjoy a good laugh, you might like checking out my alt account, @oldsoulnewb.

I hope you all enjoy!


▶️ 3Speak

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now