Chill Drumstep - Distant Memory - Exiting The Comfort Zone

image.png

So there will be a string of tunes that aren't Drum & Bass coming from me in the next few posts - I know... what?!

There was a period last year when I just started experimenting with different genres a bit more (and over the course of my production "career" lol), working with @bufinjer to make this EP called "Out of Our Comfort Zone".

Distant Memory started its life as a bit of a mess around in the music software as I stumbled across a plug-in called "Massive". I found some of those harsh bassline sounds and played with the effects on them, a little bit of wobbling, glitching and filters to add a bit of filth to the tune after the drop.

But the trance and atmospheric side of me wanted to add an ambiance that would give some distant feel with those bells and synth sounds that come and go throughout, like the distant memories that echo around in our heads from a life once lived.

Or if you're into spiritual stuff, a life not yet lived. Perhaps those echoes are rather from our future selves, guiding us on our way to navigate the waters we're in now...?

Who knows!

All I know is it was fun making this tune and I have a feeling I'll be playing around with different genres again in 2022 once I settle in to my new place (if all that goes through hopefully) and the home studio is fully set up!

Hope

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center