TTT - Queen

Hello Hive Music Gang!

Welcome to another #threetunetuesday created originally by @ablaze.

This week I come with three tunes from the awesome Queen whom I have put off making a post for some time, but after being reminded of the great duet Mercury had with Bowie by @bozz , I thought it was time to bring Queen out of the closet. (I'll get my coat).

We were discussing some of the best duets and this one ranks up there, along with the Elton John and George Michael duet I think. Two great singers that I love too. George and Elton also sang at the Freddie Mercury tribute concert and gave excellent performances. The Bowie and Annie Lennox duet was also pretty amazing I think.

Is it possible to narrow down your favorite 3 Queen songs, let alone 3 versions or performances? I am not so sure.. there is an extensive catalogue and many songs can depend on your mood too.

Freddie was not only a great singer, he was a top notch performer and artist that we were very lucky to have enjoyed some great music from. His most famous concert that I remember is when he played at Knebworth and they flew in on the helicopter. It sort of sticks in my memory. The concert was packed out and was their last show.

My first pick is Crazy Little Thing Called Love which is a great tune from the band and here you can see the performance at Live Aid in 1985, which is more clearer than the Knebworth performance.

Queen - Crazy Little Thing Called Love (Live Aid 1985)


The next tune is one of my favorites from the band that has just aged well and is still amazing to listen to now. It is a duet with Bowie and I remember Vanilla Ice sampled the song and did a remix of this tune but yeah, it wasn't quite the same!

I really like Queen's ballad songs, such as the power ballad from one of my favorite films Highlander. Who wants to live forever. Here we get to see Freddie in a different light, but still great and unique voice. It was pretty touching to listen to after his death when he left us too soon. I thought there was going to be another Highlander series, as it was one of my favorite shows, I would be happy to watch it if it comes.

The song is quite similar to the solo tune written by Freddie on his solo album I was born to love you which is another classic ballad tune that can bring tears to your eyes sometimes.

My favorite Queen tune is probably Princes of the Universe with my love of the Highlander too! haha although Under Pressure is probably equally up there.

Queen - Under Pressure


The final tune is the last song with a live performance of Freddie Mercury and you can see he is not looking so well. If you compare how he looks in Breakthru, where he looks like a regular middle aged guy singing with his mates, the change is quite remarkable.

I do like the Queen ballads as they are quite mellow and emotional and it says to me that we need to make the most of our time here and pay attention to the important things in life that you treasure. Prioritising our health and time with family over spending time doing mundane things for large corporations that can suck the life out of you.

Queen - These Are The Days Of Our Lives


That wraps up my #ttt for this week. Do you have a favorite Queen song?


For those unfamiliar with TTT or Three Tune Tuesday.... to quote @ablaze :

The jist is as follows
Every Tuesday I'm going to share 3 songs which I like to listen to and I invite your feedback in the comments below. Better still, why not have a blast of your own Three Tune Tuesday and mention me in the post and I'll come and find the post and upvote it. If you could also use #threetunetuesday tag that would be great, as that is what I use when sifting through all the entries every Wednesday. It'll be a sweet way for us all to discover new music. You'll also be in with a chance of winning the prize.


Be sure to head over and give @ablaze some support as without his great work, we wouldn't have a #ttt.


Credits:
The linked videos are not owned by me, I am sharing just the link to the copyright owner's video. No copyright infringement is intended.
Used under fair-use section 107 of the Copyright Act 1976.

Title image created in canva using image source.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center