Killing me softly with his song

Good day to music lovers!
I woke up today's morning with a push to
Make a Throwback Thursday and I finally settled with music. I thought of many musics and "Killing me softly with his song popped out."

Exactly last week's Thursday while washing clothes and enjoying a radio program, the music talk captivated my mind and I paid full attention to the program. It was all about voting for the most preferred music between the original song and its current cover.

image designed by me via canva

The song they played that Thursday was *Killing me Softly With His Song and ever since then, I fell in love with the old song.

I'm not actually a fan of foreign melancholic songs but this one, I don't know how, I just fell for it and it played on repeat on my phone all through last week.

I don't want to say much about the historical attributes of the song because it's has many confusing talks with the length of written by, composed by, inspired by, released by, and credit denied to,... they're just too many talks on the origin of the song.


ROBERTA FLACK'S VERSION

It's a song of the 90's composed by Charles Fox and it came to real light when Robert Flack did her version in 1973 when it became number one hits in United States, Australia, Canada. This same version wona Grammy award. Enough of the history...

This song is a soul genre song with a cool melancholic theme


Youtube


When I first held this version, I fell for it because it's so calm and the lovely voice added the magical touches with the lyrics

Killing Me Softly With His Song - Feeling

Strumming my pain with his fingers,

Singing my life with his words,

Killing me softly with his song,

Killing me softly with his song,

Telling my whole life with his words,

Killing me softly, with his song.

Watch, sing along and see how magical it is.


The FUGEES VERSION


Youtube


This version added a lot of spices to the original song and it as a more beautiful visual play(the video). It came in an hip pop mood and for sure, can put someone in a dancing mood. This version, though a cover topped chart in the United state and became of the best selling singles of that time.

Check the two versions, which one do you like?
The original (Flack's version) or the Cover( Fugees version)?


Thanks for reading.

Historical details taken from Wikipedia

Lyrics source

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center