Some Dangerous Dave For TTT

I want to share a few songs of my band, and kind of speak a bit about my late lead singer, and some of the things I like about the songs, and especially his lyrics.


Source


Well I Never - Dangerous Dave and the Side Effects

I used the verse of this song in my speech for Dave's service, because I think it's a punjent reminder that he was content, and happy in his life the entire way through.

He didn't need a lot of money, or a big house, fancy cars or clothes. Instead, he was happy as long as he was with his friends and family.

I also love the opening of it.

"All the things that people do, the list goes on forever, so I thought I'd tell to you the things that I have never."

It was our only trad/ folk song, and it was actually the first song that I sang backing vocals on. We recorded the vocals in the tardis sound booth, before it was even fully constructed.


Recreational Drug User - Dangerous Dave and the Side Effects

This was always one of my favourites, and I always loved the lyrics in it.

The song is told from the perspective of a woman who is fairly together, and all-round respectable, but she does like to occasionally dabble with some recreational drugs, either smoking some week, or doing the occasional bit of coke and speed.

It was actually written by him with the idea of my sister in mind, and she actually came in on it and sang some lyrics.

"If you see her in the boozer, she's nothing like the vision of a drugged up looser. She's a recreational, drug user!"


I'm Addicted - Dangerous Dave and the Side Effects

This song of his started out when me, my dad and the drummer were doing some jamming, and recording for these sessions. Dave hadn't been coming around for a bit, so we just kind of carried on doing some music and coming up with songs.

We did have songs we were fixing up and recording, but I started playing the bass riff of this one in between recordings, and since the drums, and guitar was hooked up, the lads started jamming it out, and after a bit of talking and playing it about 3 times we hit record and had it.

Then a bunch of these songs were given to Dave to listen to and come up with some lyrics, he came around after a few days and had a bunch of them ready. We jammed, it worked, and with a bit of fixing here and there we recorded them all.

The lyrics for this song were actually a poem he had written for someone, which he then disassembled and turned into this.

"I'm addicted, your addicted, what are we going to do? Tea and coffee, sticky toffee, I used to like sniffing glue."

He told me before that when he was younger, he used to poor glue into a black bin liner and huff on it while riding his bike to school. That was his morning routine when he was about 12. Mad git.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center