HIVE MUSIC FESTIVAL Week 1 First Round: "Old Flame" by @jasperdick (Original)


Hello everybody on HIVE, and especially the Music Community. My name is Jasper and I'm writing (and singing) to you from Cape Town, South Africa!

Welcome to Week 1 / Round 1 of the Hive Music Festival! A massive thank you to @edwardstobia for initiating this - I have been enjoying several posts by people who have already entered.

(Please see here to get a feeling for what to do and enter the first week by Saturday!)

@edwardstobia/listos-para-el-espectaculo-musical-se-encienden-las-luces-del-hive-music-festival-en-su-primera-semana-ronda-no1

During my time on HIVE, I have been singing a lot of covers - I try hard to fit the weekly theme for HIVE Open Mic, and I've also started my own weekly post where I take cover requests and share the post rewards with the person/account that asked for the song I chose.

So, for these 3 weeks of the HIVE Music Festival, I am going to try and be brave and share original songs that I have written myself. It is quite scary to share original music, as it often comes from the heart and can be personal... then instead of feeling like just your ability to sing and play guitar is being put on display to be judged, that actually your heart and soul is now vulnerable to be judged as well!

But my friend @clairemobey and I are starting to be brave! We have limited time for public performances, both having other careers and being parents to young children (my daughter is a beautiful 14 month old just taking her first steps), but we have started to try and make sure that we do these little "gigs" in places where playing original songs is encouraged, and where the audience wants to hear them! Luckily, Cape Town has a few of these places like the Barleycorn Music Club and the Cottage Club. @clairemobey is currently sharing posts of footage from our recent gig at the Cottage Club so please follow her for those!

The next step for us is to try and get to play at the Alma Cafe, which is quite a prestigious place. The other goal is to find a way to record our songs and try to start getting them played at small radio stations here in Cape Town. Claire is a bit ahead of me there, because she has started the tedious work of signing up to South Africa's various organizations that help you copyright your music. What is taking me so long? I don't know... maybe it will be a decisive step in actually being a "musician" and it scares me?

The first original song of mine is called "Old Flame" and it describes the feeling of when you're just about to get over an ex-lover, and then they show up back in your life all over again!

Lyrics to "Old Flame" by Jasper Dick (Original)

A knock at my door
A shiver on my skin
I've been through this before
And I'll say it all again...

No Old Flame
Not Again
I can't let go
Just 'coz you say so...
When I remember how you walked away
Like it was yesterday...
Your return will cause more pain
And break my heart again...

Why do you come here when I'm weak
I'm usually so strong
It's like you always know
And it makes it hard to speak
Without getting it wrong
But here I go...

No Old Flame
Not Again
I can't let go
Just 'coz you say so...
When I remember how you walked away
Like it was yesterday...
Now your return will cause more pain
And break my heart again...

Old Flame... I don't want to here your name... Ever again.

Letra de "Old Flame" (original)

Una llamada a mi puerta
Un escalofrío en mi piel
Ya he pasado por esto antes
Y lo diré de nuevo...

No Old Flame
No otra vez
No puedo dejar ir
Sólo porque tú lo dices...
Cuando recuerdo cómo te fuiste
Como si fuera ayer...
Tu regreso causará más dolor
Y romperá mi corazón de nuevo...

¿Por qué vienes aquí cuando estoy débil?
Normalmente soy tan fuerte
Es como si siempre supieras
Y hace que sea difícil hablar
Sin equivocarme
Pero aquí voy...

No Old Flame
No otra vez
No puedo dejar ir
Sólo porque tú lo dices...
Cuando recuerdo cómo te fuiste
Como si fuera ayer...
Ahora tu regreso causará más dolor
Y romperá mi corazón de nuevo...

Vieja Llama... No quiero escuchar tu nombre... Nunca más.

Traducción realizada con la versión gratuita del traductor www.DeepL.com/Translator


▶️ 3Speak

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
20 Comments
Ecency