Old made new over time

u cunty fucker.JPG

Over the weekend I was listening to British band Queen, innovators in their day and fronted by, arguably, one of the best singers of our modern era, Freddie Mercury. I don't like all their music but most is great and I have many favourites. Among those is a track called, Who Wants to Live Forever, released in 1986 and featured in the movie, Highlander, released in the same year. It's a powerful ballad and an awesome song in general.

Being such a great song, it's not surprising that it's been covered by other artists and with this in mind I thought I'd put together this week's music post using tracks that have been remade, covered, by more recent artists. You might guess by now that the track I mention above is in that list.



Cover one

Here is the remake version, a very nice remake it is too. The Tenors - Who wants to live forever and you can click this link - for the original version to compare if you like. I really like both although, for me, the original version wins out over the remake...possibly because I remember it from the movie Highlander and the scene/situation it was used for, maybe not though.


Cover two

In keeping with the theme I'd like to present another really great, and powerful, song originally written in 1966 by Mick Jagger and Keith Richards and performed by the Rolling Stones. Here's a cover by Ciara - Paint it Black and follow the link - for the original version. The song is about sorrow, grief and loss and feels passionate but also hints at emotional desolation. It's really cool. The cover version I have chosen is from the movie, The Last Witch Hunter starring Vin Diesel but there's loads of covers by other artists.


Cover three

I remember a time when I wasn't much of a fan of this guy, but I learned the error of my ways and enjoy his music now and this track is track is a great example of why. Michael Bublé - Me and Mrs. Jones. This track was originally performed by Billy Paul, released in 1972; a naughty song about a man and the woman he's having an affair with. Here's the link - for the original version which is nice, although I prefer the Michael Bublé version.


Here's a playlist of all the tracks above created by someone who commented below.
Thank you @mimismartypants

That's it today, but I'm curious which of these versions you prefer, the old or new? If you'd like, take a listen of each and let me know in the comments below. Otherwise, maybe share a remake of a song that you personally like. Either way, if you comment I will respond, if you don't comment, I won't.


Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default; tomorrow isn't promised so be humble and kind - galenkp

[All original and proudly AI free.]

Any images in this post are my own.
This music post was inspired by the Three Tune Tuesday #TTT concept by @ablaze.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now