Three random tunes for this Tuesday

zane-persaud-u-wS1g7tHHk-unsplash.jpegPhoto by Zane Persaud on Unsplash


Hello Hivers and music lovers!

Today is Tuesday, it still is on my side of the world, and I'm still in time to make my post for today's #threetunetuesday by @ablaze.

And what's the #ttt all about? Every Tuesday, those of us who participate in it share 3 tunes. Take a look at ablaze's post with today's recommendations, and find out more about this initiative.

I usually have my Tuesday songs chosen in advance, but this week it's not the case. In the last few days, the Covid virus has been visiting me at home. Fortunately, I'm the only one with symptoms, and I'm feeling much better. But I'm not on my best days. Therefore my selection today is a bit random. The songs have nothing in common with each other, except that I have listened to them over the last few days.

So let's go with my three Random tunes for today.

Tune No.1 What a life - Scarlet Pleasure

My first choice today came to my attention thanks to the great Danish film Another Round (Druk). The movie was awarded the Oscar for the best foreign film in 2021. It is directed by Thomas Vinterberg and starring the acting monster Mads Mikkelsen.

This song is by the Danish band Scarlet Pleasure. What a Life is played in the final scene of the film, which like the rest of the film, is not to be missed.

What a life, what a night
What a beautiful, beautiful ride
Don't know where I'm in five but I'm young and alive
Fuck what they are saying, what a life

Tune No.2 Freaking Out The Neighborhood - Mac DeMarco

The following song is by an artist I discovered thanks to my son, who loves this Canadian singer called Mac DeMarco.

The song I chose has a story behind it. It is an apology to his family for an incident he had one day in a bar where he got very drunk. He got naked, and his friends filmed him. The video ended up on the internet and went viral, and his family saw it. I don't particularly like the story, although is a bit funny. But I like very much the song ;)

Sorry, mama
There are times I get carried away
But please don't worry
Next time I'm home, I'll still be the same

And I know it's no fun
When your first son
Gets up to no good
Starts freaking out the neighborhood

Tune No.3 Lágrimas Negras - Bebo Valdés & Diego El Cigala

And to close, I couldn't leave out my Latin touch. So the third song is a classic from 1929, Lágrimas Negras by Cuban composer Miguel Matamoros. There are many versions of this song, but I'm going to share the one from a duo that will probably require me to dedicate one of these Tuesdays soon, Bebo Valdés & Diego El Cigala.

El Cigala is a famous Spanish gypsy flamenco singer. And Bebo Valdés was a well-known Cuban pianist.

The two joined forces in 2003 to record an album called Lagrimas Negras, a compilation of some Latin songs of all times performed by the voice of El Cigala and with some flamenco arrangements.

Y aunque tú, me has echado en el abandono
Y aunque tú has matado mis ilusiones,
En vez de maldecirte con justo encono
En mis sueños te colmo
Y en mis sueños te colmo de bendiciones.

So this is my random selection for today, a bit weird to listen to together. But some days, I'm in that kind of mood of listening to a bit of this and that.

If you have made it this far, thank you very much for reading!

Enjoy the music, enjoy life!

All writing is my own unless otherwise stated.

Image credit is on the caption

The YouTube videos shared are not owned by me. I am just sharing them to enjoy and share the music

© CoquiCoin

May 24, 2022

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now