Songs that inspire viral dances | Another #TTT entry

VIRAL SONGS & DANCES

Viral Songs Dances for social media as line art anime (created through open.ai site as public image. linked directly from there. Click through goes to source)

There are some fantastic #TTT posts this tuesday, and I spent the lil time I had perusing rather than posting. Trying to get this one in while it is still Tuesday in Pacific time :)

Much of my free time goes in consuming content. Since TikTok is banned in India, YouTube (especially YT Shorts) is my time sink. I still find some advantages thanks to the wildly talented people on social media who create beautiful dances, skits, comedy etc. So this time I decided to put together the original songs of three viral dances that I have enjoyed. The originals will pleasant are not always THAT great. It is the talented people who managed to snip an interesting portion and then created a fantastic dance around it which takes the cake. So I will post the song as well as one of the best viral shorts around it. Hope you enjoy it!

Gulabi Sharaha | aka Tumak Tumak

This song is from the state of Uttarkhand, a Himalayan state in the north of India. They have their own dialect of their language called Kumaoni. We have heard a lot of old folk songs in this language but never heard a contemporary song in it.

The song is pleasant, and though I don't fully understand it the Kumaoni languge is pretty musical. So overall I would have enjoyed it generally if I heard it on radio. What the creators on social media did is picked out the verse around Thumak thumak and choregraphed a beautiful dance that has gone viral in Indian social media with children, families, and even a police inspector dancing on its tunes. And that snippet is very very addictive :)

All the viral ones can be found here : https://www.youtube.com/source/QECJnQQ3UwE/shorts?bp=8gVNCkASMQoLUUVDSm5RUTNVd0USC1FFQ0puUVEzVXdFGgtyZHFqLUpDT2dtVSIICKi0BhICCCQaC3JkcWotSkNPZ21VKJ_Crvr9tpfygQE%253D

There are some really good ones there, https://youtube.com/shorts/9qSCFxmyNb4?si=7R7kSFRnCcJazRSu and https://youtube.com/shorts/-8WF1PgJlG0?si=EwtvugEkHctsWgOk

Tum Tum

The next is a song from the Tamil movie Enemy. Again the song is alright, especially since I don't fully understand the Tamil language. As is true for most Tamil song the music is beautiful. However it is generic enough that it would not have come to my attention if it wasn't of this beautifully choreographed social media viral dance from a snippet from the movie.

The one that bowled me over is this one:
https://youtube.com/shorts/vUZWe5kAsSM?si=L1pU-mzw40_Nm4Hq

The dance, the gestures, the swag ... everything comes together beautifully. I don't know if they were the original choreographers of the viral dance, but they did it best according to me.

The choreography of this viral dance makes the original song feel a bit meh as far as the video goes. However the viral dance trend made the song popular across India. Here is the song from the movie:

I remember this to be a trend that lasted quite some time - so check out the page for more fun viral takes on this snippet here: https://www.youtube.com/source/u8UTf94H1Q0/shorts?bp=8gVeClISQwoLdThVVGY5NEgxUTASC3U4VVRmOTRIMVEwGgt2VVpXZTVrQXNTTSIOCJvVAhIICCYQgKWftAEqChIICCYQgKWftAEaC3ZVWldlNWtBc1NNKJbqrdnM663iIQ%253D%253D

Rasputin

One advantage of all these viral dances popping up is that the old pop and disco mixes are coming back in style and the kids of today are learning about ABBA, Boney M, BeeGees et al :)

This viral dance was a worldwide trend I believe, for anyone trying the shuffle viral dances. However this particular viral dance was special to me.

The medical residents who dropped this did it in early 2021, and it was towards the end of that long pandemic season. Medical residents/ young doctors in India were one of the most effected as they were both the primary caregivers for everyone with Covid, and at the same time were also most affected by it. So finding that they managed to put something together to make everyone smile was a like a ray of sunshine for me at the time. And their choreography rocked!!!

Here's the viral dance:

https://youtube.com/shorts/3Hl_8PqdEBA?si=kHwNVdqo3ULVeEPd

And of course the original, the very famous Rasputin by Boney M (putting a live video here to just enjoy the hopping, jumping, dancing, Bobby Farrell)

Another ##ThreeTuneTuesday done

As I say almost every week, my thanks again to @ablaze for this great #TTT contest. Even when I have a heavy week, like this one, I don't want to miss putting out a post for this even if I might be pushing the Tuesday idea to the limit :)

For those interested check out his entry for this week @ablaze/pink-floyd-peter-gabriel-and-pearl-jam-for-three-tune-tuesday-week-139-10-hbi-shares-to-be-won
In addition to three beautiful tunes there is much more detailed information of the #ThreeTuneTuesday contest and the prizes etc for winning it.

Do check out the tag for some great musical discoveries. I have yet to go through all of it but I already found out some new music while checking out posts by @whywhy and @growandbow. Check them out here:

do check them out.

Enjoy!!!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now