The Pokémon Soundtrack (3 Tune Tuesday)

This first song holds a very special place in my heart...

Every now and then, during most recent years, I will randomly get this song stuck in my head: Don't Say You Love Me by M2M... For context, this song is almost 25-years-old. I first heard it when I was 5-years-old, and the North American release of the very first Pokémon Movie had dropped back in 2000!

(Source: https://m.imdb.com/title/tt0190641/ )

If you know, you know; this movie was -- still is! -- a banger. The soundtrack is as well, buuut we did things a little bit differently back in the 90s. What I mean by that, is the soundtrack often had nothing to do with the movie. For example, this song about a guy trying to move to Fourth Base™ too quickly was used as a promotional song... for the Pokémon Movie. Children were singing, "You're moving too fast, I'm not ready yet"... from a movie about Pokémon! Looking back on it now, shit's hilarious! 😂

But aside from that, whatta culture shock I received while listening to this song... To think, western music went from "Please respect me and give me time," to "This pu💰💰y so good, let's frig, look at my b👀bies!" It was definitely a simpler time; I yearn to go back to those values...

(The comments on the video are great as well, where, speaking of, I happened to find out that M2M is having a reunion after 20 years?! 😱)

(Source: https://www.justjared.com/2024/09/22/pop-duo-m2m-reunites-after-over-20-years-teases-comeback-with-the-day-you-went-away-performance/ )



Anyway, the Pokémon soundtrack became this week's inspiration for 3 Tune Tuesday. Here are 2 other songs from the movie that are great!

Vacation by Vitamin C is another song that I loved during that time... Even listening to it today, I still get goosebumps on my arms! 🥶 It's a perfect beach song, with the cowabunga guitar playing. There are also samples used in this song -- one at the very beginning and one after the first chorus -- but even after all of these years I have no idea what the songs are. But I can still picture Pikachu and friends happily walking together while this song played over the opening credits...

(Also, Fun Fact: Vitamin C is the group that is responsible for the song Graduation, a timeless classic that I'm sure many of us are familiar with! 😅)



And, of course I could not make a Pokémon tracklist without including Brother, My Brother by Blessid Union Of Souls. I don't know about all of you, but when you're a young child watching Pokémon fight their clones to the death, along with Pikachu having an emotional breakdown over Ash being immobilized into stone, it kinda leaves you traumatized! 😅 For that reason, I can vividly remember the song playing in the background. A song with a timeless message, and one that we still have not learned...




That will do it for today's post! 🙏 I appreciate you taking the time to read and I hope these songs brought back some memories for you 😊 Enjoy your week, everyone!

(Image created using an AI art generator on Night Cafe)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center