Hive Beat Blog 1 (Lo-fi)

Hi everyone, I'm here again doing random things, for today's trippings, I decided to make a beat in Fruity Loop Studio.

Basing on my mood this morning, I selected to do a lo-fi type beat using one of cymatics sample.

Cymatics sample.GIF

The sample I used is called oceanside in E major and has an 80 BPM, I choose this one because of it's calm and relaxing sound.

The sample is a bit short because it is only 2 bars worth so I doubled it to cover at least the four bars loop.

Drums - Snare.GIF

Drums - Hats.GIF

Drums - Hats2.GIF

Drums - Kick.GIF

Next step is selecting the right sounds to be used as drums, it should be somewhat crispy but still relax sounding drum components.

In selecting drums, I always start picking the snares because for me it sets a proper rhythm, then I choose hats then lastly the kicks, after that I'll listen again to see if added sounds is needed like some cymbals or crash.

4 Bar pattern.GIF

Mixing.GIF

After completing some patterns, I then do some minor mixings and sound level adjusting to make the beat not to chaotic.

Effect 1.GIF

Effect 2.GIF

Effect 3.GIF

Effect 4.GIF

After doing some mix, I can now add some effects to make the beat more flavorful.

Arrange 1.GIF

Arrange 2.GIF

Then I'll arrange the whole beat into a full beat that has a intro, chorus and verse parts.

After all is done, I usually render it in mp3 or WAV format, but for today I found an option to render it into video format.

This is my basic process in making some beats, it really depends on the mood, but often times I really just make beats and music just to relax my mind.

Here is the 3speak link to the final beat enjoy! :

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now