🖤🌹ULTRAVIOLENCE BY LANA DEL REY | ALBUM REVIEW [ENG - ESP]

This post is both in English and Spanish, puedes ir directamente al español dando click AQUI


🌹ULTRAVIOLENCE🌹

🖤ALBUM REVIEW🖤


Hello everyone, dear Hivers friends.

Today I'm coming with a new post that has a lot of emotions permeating it; it's my first review and it's to one of my favorite albums in the whole world. Today I will be doing, for the first time here on Hive and in general, a review of "Ultraviolence " by Lana Del Rey. It's my first post for this community and I hope it won't be my last, because music is something I'm very passionate about. Enjoy the journey through my perspective on this beautiful, bohemian album from the artist of the decade.


Picsart_22-07-07_21-45-17-408.jpg


Today I decided to post my first review because I want to experience new things, especially with something I love as much as I love music. I started with this album that defined much of my adolescence and, in general, what is my personality. An album with so many nuances, so many elements that make it, in my opinion, Lana Del Rey's best album so far. It has eleven songs in its standard version, eleven delights of pieces in which you feel how she talks about deep and raw topics like abuse, drugs, emotional dependency, while at the same time talking about being in love, romanticism and poetry.

Without further ado, join me on this psychedelic journey through an independent album, with a lot of rock vibes that defined a whole generation. Warm up your good cup of coffee, brew some tea or pour yourself a glass of whiskey, turn it up and join me in listening to "Ultraviolence" by Lana Del Rey.


photo_2022-07-07_21-27-16.jpg


1. Cruel World

Shared my body and my mind with you
That’s all over now.

We start with a pretty heavy song, with a tropical sound that at the same time evokes sadness. In general, the song talks about a love breakup, but portrays it in a heavy way, where she describes herself as crazy and wild. It speaks of a wild and fleeting relationship, but full of vigor and passion.

This song was not my favorite; I used to feel it was my least favorite song, until I could figure it out. Now the heavy beat, rock influences and somber lyrics portray a bit of how I've been feeling, but at the same time, how not to get over a relationship that ended. I can give it 8 / 10, because this song grew on me and is definitely a state of mind.


photo_2022-07-07_21-53-19.jpg


2. Ultraviolence

I can hear sirens, sirens
He hit me and it felt like a kiss.

A very sad song, which narrates the experiences of a woman who lives in an abusive relationship, but at the same time is addicted to it, she cannot leave it. With lines like "He hit me and it felt like true love ", we see that she cannot leave that abusive circle because, I speak from close experiences, abusive relationships work in a complicated way where it is very difficult for the victim.

The song has a sad sound, but with a beautiful instrumentation, accompanied by piano and violins, and without leaving behind the angelic voice that Lana uses in this track. This powerful combination, coupled with the line in which she sings in Spanish, ensures that this is one of my favorite songs on the album. I give it a 10 / 10 because it was always one of my favorites.


photo_2022-07-07_21-55-57.jpg


3. Shades Of Cool

My baby lives in shades of blue
Blue eyes and jazz and attitude.

Lana opens the song with a pretty calm, smooth and harmonic rhythm, her delicate voice starts and you know it's going to be a gem. It doesn't just stay there, but goes on with a poetry lyric describing a love with a lot of California influence, classic cars and rock star attitude.

I don't feel that much of a connection, lyrically speaking, with this song. However, the rhythm and instrumentation along with her voice make it a work to be admired. For this reason it was a single during the promotional era of this album. Del Rey leaves the best for the bridge where the delicious sound of a guitar explodes and accompanies until almost the end, where she closes with her majestic voice harmonizing and fading into an exquisite ending. I give it a 7 / 10 because I don't connect with the song lyrically, but the sound does magic with your soul.



4. Brooklyn Baby

They say I’m too young to love you
I don’t know what I need.

We arrive at track number four, we have in our hands the fan favorite, a delightful ballad that starts with the beautiful sound of a guitar and a "Ta-da-da-da-da..." from Lana that makes you fall in love from the first moment. A nice song of a Romeo and Juliet style romance, but modern, with Jazz, Lou Reed and rhythmic poetry.

I don't have how to describe in words how much I love this song, to which I will give it a 10 / 10. It's worth it from start to finish and is one of my favorites, hands down.


photo_2022-07-07_22-05-15.jpg


5. West Coast

Down on the West Coast, they got a sayin’
”If you’re not drinkin’, then you’re not playin’”.

Perhaps the most popular song on this album and rightfully so. Changing rhythms, a seductive voice, provocative lyrics and drums that accompany you until the moment of the chorus, where the song takes a 180° turn and takes you to a calm, tropical point while repeating the so popular "I'm in love ".

One more gem of the album, very seductive and different from the others, it assures a 10 / 10 from the moment it starts. The end is the best part, with an interesting sound, that makes you feel psychedelic, on the shores of some beach, with a mojito in one hand and in a state of complete drunkenness.


photo_2022-07-07_22-05-17.jpg


6. Sad Girl

His money on the side, money on the side
Makes me a sad, sad girl.

An interesting title for an interesting song. For a long time, I didn't understand this song, until I read a little deeper into the lyrics, and I really liked it. It's about a Lana Del Rey doing things that she herself knows she shouldn't be doing, but she still does them, because it's what she likes.

A little break on the album, however, it's still a song that feels heavy. I give it a 5 / 10, because while I like it, I don't feel much of a connection nor do I feel it transcends much.


photo_2022-07-07_22-07-19.jpg


7. Pretty When You Cry

All the pretty stars shine for you, my love
Am I that girl that you dream of?

This is one of the saddest songs on the album, both for its sound and its lyrics. It tells the story of someone who falls madly in love with another person, but the other person has a drug addiction problem. It is quite sad to see how the person gives up everything for someone who doesn't deserve it. It finishes off sadly in the chorus, where in a heartbreaking voice he says: "I'm pretty when I cry. "

This song has become my complete obsession. I also recently read that she did this song improvised in the studio, with the guitar and her voice. A gem undoubtedly, in all aspects, one of my favorites. I give it a 10 / 10.


photo_2022-07-07_22-08-32.jpg


8. Money Power Glory

You talk lots about God
Freedom comes from the call.

A pretentious song, or so it sounds to me. It makes you feel sexy, lusting for power and lust. When it says "Hallelujah " in a provocative tone, it basically prepares you for what's to come. Slow sounding but at the same time it keeps you in a provocative rhythm. It feels like lights at low intensity, warmth and little clothing.

This song is good, but it doesn't make me feel a lot of things, beyond sex and alcohol. I give it a 7 / 10 because I like it a lot, especially in the second verse, when it's about to hit the chorus and with a majestic tone it says: "You should run, boy, run " and starts with full force that very elegant but sensual chorus.


photo_2022-07-07_22-10-16.jpg


9. Fucked My Way Up To The Top

Life is awesome, I confess
What I do, I do best.

With an almost silent sound and a spoken voice, Lana begins this song with fury. Many theorize that it is a middle finger to the public that during the beginning of her career did not tire of humiliating her with criticism, especially for labeling her as someone who romanticizes violence and abuse. Other theories, a little more gossipy, say that it is a diss track to a singer-songwriter who had differences with the interpreter.

The truth is that the song has an accurate rhythm to close the album, with provocative lyrics, such as: "I'm a dragon, you're a whore. I don't even know what you're good for" we see that Lana is not afraid to speak her mind and respond to those who dare to criticize her and her art. I give it a 7 / 10 because I really feel like it's not something I can relate to, but I can enjoy it a lot.


photo_2022-07-07_22-11-52.jpg


10. Old Money

Blue hydrangea, cold cash divine
Cashmere, cologne and white sunshine.

Lana begins to say goodbye to the album, and she does it with a true masterpiece like Old Money, because she returns to the slow and sad sound, barely accompanied by a piano and violin. Lyrics in the form of poetry that make you feel the beauty of sadness. Del Rey tells us a sad story that I link to an old love that she misses, you can tell that she really misses this person to whom she sings, by lines like: "And if you call for me, you know I'll run; I'll run to you ".

Lana Del Rey's voice sounds more angelic than ever, accompanied by great shades of blue and beautiful harmonies that denote sadness. I don't have much to add to a masterpiece, which I appreciate too much and is, for me, a 10 / 10 for sure.



11. The Other Woman

The other woman has time to manicure her nails
The other woman is perfect where her rival fails.

Lana Del Rey's song that went viral on the TikTok platform recently, is nothing less than a cover of Nina Simone's original version. And with this highly sad song, both musically and lyrically, Lana closes the album.

The truth is an excellent cover of an excellent song that takes you to a time of deep sadness, like most of the songs, but this time with a slightly more classic tone. I could say that this is my least favorite, I can't connect with the lyrics or the sound, but I understand that there are people who do manage to enjoy it at its best. I rate it as a 5 / 10, not so so, not so very very,


photo_2022-07-07_22-16-13.jpg


Final Score


8 / 10

I know I'm not a major critic, but I stand behind them when I say that this album shows us a mature Lana Del Rey, who is starting to experiment with her sounds and voice in a way that very few would dare, very alternative and not afraid to make mistakes. This is a "Must Hear" for you to experience, and I know you won't regret it.

Without more to add, I hope you enjoyed the experience of listening to this album with me, to know what my point of view is about it and what I think about each song. If you listen to it, don't hesitate to leave your opinion in the comments section, at least the ones that catch your attention. Remember that all the reviews in this post are based on my personal opinion and it doesn't necessarily have to be the same as yours.

I hope to post here again and share much more of music, one of my greatest passions. A big hug and see you next time.


Español


🌹ULTRAVIOLENCE🌹

🖤RESEÑA DE ÁLBUM🖤


Hola a todos, queridos amigos Hivers.

Hoy vengo con un nuevo post que tiene un montón de emociones impregnadas; se trata de mi primera reseña y es a uno de mis álbumes favoritos en todo el mundo. Hoy estaré haciendo, por primera vez acá en Hive y en general, una reseña de ”Ultraviolence” de Lana Del Rey. Es mi primer post por esta comunidad y espero que no sea el último, porque la música es algo que me apasiona muchísimo. Disfruten el viaje a través de mi perspectiva por este hermoso y bohemio álbum de la artista de la década.


Picsart_22-07-07_21-47-59-674.jpg


Hoy decidí publicar mi primera reseña porque quiero experimentar cosas nuevas, en especial con algo que me gusta tanto como lo es la música. Empecé con este álbum que definió gran parte de mi adolescencia y, en general, lo que es mi personalidad. Un álbum con tantas matices, tantos elementos que lo hacen, en mi opinión, el mejor álbum de Lana Del Rey hasta el momento. Tiene once canciones en su versión estándar, once delicias de piezas en las que sientes como habla de temas profundos y crudos como los maltratos, drogas, dependencia emocional, al mismo tiempo habla de estar enamorado, romanticismo y poesía.

Sin más que agregar, únete a mí en este viaje psicodélico a través de un álbum independiente, con muchas vibras de rock, que definió a toda una generación. Calienta tu buena taza de café, prepara un té o sírvete un vaso de whisky, súbele volumen y únete a mí para escuchar Ultraviolence” de Lana Del Rey.


photo_2022-07-07_21-27-16.jpg


1. Cruel World

Compartí mi cuerpo y mi mente contigo
Todo eso ha terminado ahora.

Empezamos con una canción bastante pesada, con un sonido tropical que al mismo tiempo evoca tristeza. En general, la canción habla de una ruptura amorosa, pero lo retrata de una forma pesada, donde ella se retrata como alguien loca y salvaje. Habla de una relación salvaje y fugaz, pero llena de vigor y pasión.

Esta canción no fue mi favorita, antes sentía que era la que menos me gustaba, hasta que pude entenderla. Ahora el ritmo pesado, las influencias del rock y una letra sombría retratan un poco el cómo me he estado sintiendo, pero al mismo tiempo, como no superar una relación que terminó. Puedo darle 8 / 10, porque esta canción creció en mí y es definitivamente un estado de ánimo.


photo_2022-07-07_21-53-19.jpg


2. Ultraviolence

Puedo oír sirenas, sirenas
Él me golpeó y se sintió como un beso.

Una canción muy triste, que narra las vivencias de una mujer que vive en una relación abusiva, pero que al mismo tiempo es adicta a ella, no puede abandonarla. Con líneas como ”Él me golpeó y se sintió como amor verdadero”, vemos que ella no puede dejar ese círculo abusivo porque, hablo desde vivencias cercanas, las relaciones abusivas funcionan de una manera complicada donde para la víctima es muy difícil.

La canción tiene un sonido triste, pero con una instrumentación hermosa, acompañada de piano y violines, y sin dejar atrás la angelical voz que usa Lana en esta pista. Esta poderosa combinación, aunada a la línea en la que ella canta en español, asegura que esta sea una de mis canciones favoritas del álbum. Le doy un 10 / 10 porque siempre fue una de mis favoritas.


photo_2022-07-07_21-55-57.jpg


3. Shades Of Cool

Mi bebé vive en tonos azules
Ojos azules y jazz y actitud.

Lana abre la canción con un ritmo bastante calmado, suave y armónico, su delicada voz empieza y sabes que será una joya. No solo se queda allí, si no que prosigue con una letra de poesía que describe un amor con mucha influencia de California, carros clásicos y actitud de estrella de Rock.

No siento tanta conexión, líricamente hablando, con esta canción. Sin embargo, el ritmo y la instrumentación junto a su voz hacen que sea una obra digna de admirar. Por esta razón fue un sencillo durante la era de promoción de este álbum. Del Rey deja lo mejor para el puente donde el delicioso sonido de una guitarra explota y acompaña hasta casi el final, donde ella cierra con su majestuosa voz armonizando y desvaneciéndose en un exquisito final. Le doy un 7 / 10 porque no conecto con la canción líricamente, pero el sonido hace magias con tu alma.



4. Brooklyn Baby

Dicen que soy muy joven para amarte
Que no sé que necesito.

Llegamos al track número cuatro, tenemos en nuestras manos a la favorita de los fans, una delicia de balada que empieza con el lindo sonido de una guitarra y un ”Ta-da-da-da…” de Lana que te hacen enamorarte desde el primer momento. Una linda canción de un romance al estilo Romeo y Julieta, pero moderno, con Jazz, Lou Reed y poesía rítmica.

No tengo como describir en palabras lo mucho que me encanta esta canción, a la cual le daré un 10 / 10. Vale la pena de inicio a fin y es una de mis favoritas, sin duda alguna.


photo_2022-07-07_22-05-15.jpg


5. West Coast

En la costa oeste tienen un dicho:
”Si no bebes, no juegas”.

Quizá la canción más popular de este álbum y con toda razón. Ritmos cambiantes, una voz seductora, letras provocativas y una batería que te acompañan hasta el momento del coro, donde la canción da un giro de 180° grados y te lleva a un punto calmado, tropical mientras repite el tan popular “I’m in love”.

Una joya más del álbum, muy seductora y diferente a las demás, asegura un 10 / 10 desde el momento que empieza. El final es la mejor parte, con un sonido interesante, que te hace sentir psicodélico, en las orillas de alguna playa, con un mojito en una mano y en estado de completa ebriedad.


photo_2022-07-07_22-05-17.jpg


6. Sad Girl

Su dinero a un lado, dinero a un lado
Me hacen un triste, triste chica.

Un título interesante para una canción interesante. Por mucho tiempo, no entendí esta canción, hasta que leí un poco más a profundidad la letra, y la verdad, me gustó. Se trata de una Lana Del Rey que hace cosas que ella misma sabe que no debería estar haciendo, pero aun así las hace, porque es lo que le gusta.

Un pequeño descanso en el álbum, sin embargo, sigue siendo una canción que se siente pesada. Le doy un 5 / 10, porque aunque me gusta, no siento gran conexión ni siento que trasciende mucho.


photo_2022-07-07_22-07-19.jpg


7. Pretty When You Cry

Todas las lindas estrellas brillan por ti, mi amor
¿Soy la chica con la que sueñes?

Estamos frente a una de las canciones más triste del álbum, tanto por su sonido como por su letra. Cuenta la historia de alguien que se enamora perdidamente de otra persona, pero la otra persona tiene problemas de drogadicción. Es bastante triste ver como la persona lo entrega todo por alguien que no lo merece. Remata con tristeza en el coro, donde con una voz desgarradora dice: ”Soy linda cuando lloro.”

Esta canción se ha vuelto mi completa obsesión. Además que recientemente leí que ella hizo esa canción de forma improvisada en el estudio, con la guitarra y su voz. Una joya indudablemente, en todos los aspectos, de mis favoritas. Le doy un 10 / 10.


photo_2022-07-07_22-08-32.jpg


8. Money Power Glory

Hablas mucho de Dios
La libertad viene de la llamada.

Una canción pretenciosa, o así suena para mí. Te hace sentir sexy, deseoso de poder y lujuria. Cuando dice ”Hallelujah” en un tono provocador, básicamente te prepara para lo que se viene. Sonido lento pero que al mismo tiempo te mantiene en un ritmo provocador. Se siente como luces a baja intensidad, calor y poca ropa.

Esta canción es buena, pero no me hace sentir muchas cosas, más allá de sexo y alcohol. Le doy un 7 / 10 porque me gusta mucho, en especial en el segundo verso, cuando está por llegar al coro y con un tono majestuoso dice: ”Debes correr, chico, correr” y empieza con toda la fuerza ese coro tan elegante pero sensual.


photo_2022-07-07_22-10-16.jpg


9. Fucked My Way Up To The Top

La vida es asombrosa, lo confieso
En lo que hago, soy la mejor.

Con un sonido casi silencioso y a voz hablada, Lana empieza con furia esta canción. Muchos teorizan que se trata de un dedo medio al público que durante los inicios de su carrera no se cansaron de humillarla con críticas, en especial por catalogarla como alguien que romantiza la violencia y el abuso. Otras teorías un poco más chismosas dicen que se trata de un diss track hacia una cantautora que tuvo diferencias con la intérprete.

Lo cierto es que la canción tiene un ritmo certero para ir dando cierre al álbum, con letras provocadoras, tales como: “Soy un dragón, tú una puta. Ni siquiera sé para que eres buena” vemos que Lana no tiene miedo a decir lo que piensa y responder a aquellos que se atrevan a criticarla a ella y a su arte. Le doy un 7 / 10 porque la verdad siento que no es algo que me identifica, pero que puedo disfrutar mucho.


photo_2022-07-07_22-11-52.jpg


10. Old Money

Hortensia azul, efectivo frío divino
Cachemira, colonia y sol blanco.

Lana empieza a despedirse del album, y lo hace con una verdadera obra maestra como lo es Old Money, porque vuelve a el sonido lento y triste, apenas acompañado con un piano y violín. Letras en forma de poesía que te hacen sentir la belleza de la tristeza. Del Rey nos narra una triste historia a la que yo enlazo con un viejo amor que extraña, se nota que en serio le hace falta esta persona a la que le canta, por líneas como: “Y si me llamas, sabes que yo correré; correré hacia ti”.

La voz de Lana Del Rey suena más angelical que nunca, acompañada por grandes tonos de azul y hermosas armonizaciones que denotan tristeza. No tengo mucho que agregar a una obra maestra, a la que aprecio demasiado y es, para mí, un 10 / 10 seguro.



11. The Other Woman

La otra mujer tiene tiempo para hacerse la manicura
La otra mujer es perfecta donde su rival falla.

La canción de Lana Del Rey que se hizo viral en la plataforma TikTok recientemente, se trata ni más ni menos que de un cover de la versión original de Nina Simone. Y con esta canción altamente triste, tanto musicalmente como en su lírica, Lana cierra el álbum.

La verdad se trata de un excelente cover de una excelente canción que te lleva a un tiempo de tristeza profunda, como la mayoría de las canciones, pero esta vez con un tono un poco más clásico. Podría decir que esta es mi menos favorita, no logro conectar con la letra ni con el sonido, pero entiendo que haya personas que sí logren disfrutarla en su máximo esplendor. La califico como un 5 / 10, ni tan tan, ni muy muy,


photo_2022-07-07_22-16-13.jpg


Puntaje Final


8 / 10

Sé que no soy un crítico importante, pero me respaldo en ellos al decir que este álbum nos muestra a una Lana Del Rey madura, que empieza a experimentar con sus sonidos y voz de una forma en que muy pocos se atreverían, muy alternativa y sin miedo a cometer errores. Este es un “Debes oírlo” para que vivas la experiencia, y sé que no te arrepentirás.

Sin más que añadir, espero que hayan disfrutado la experiencia de oir este álbum junto a mí, de saber cuál es mi punto de vista respecto a él y lo que opino de cada canción. Si lo escuchan, no duden en dejar su opinión en la parte de los comentarios, al menos de las que más llamen su atención. Recuerden que todas las críticas de este post están basadas en mi opinión personal y no tiene que necesariamente ser la suya igual.

Espero volver a publicar aquí y compartir mucho más de música, una de mis más grandes pasiones. Un fuerte abrazo y hasta la próxima.


🥀CREDITS🥀


All the material used in this post was elaborated and edited by me, with my phone and Photoshop CS6.

📷: Samsung J7 (2016).

Todo el material usado en este post fue elaborado y editado por mí, con mi celular y el programa de edición Photoshop CS6.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center