PARADISE BY LANA DEL REY | ALBUM REVIEW [ENG - ESP] 🌴💛

This post is both in English and Spanish, puedes ir directamente al español dando click AQUI


🌴PARADISE🌴

💛ALBUM REVIEW💛


Happy navel of the week, fellow Hive readers.

Today, due to a general internet failure in my country, I was forced to stay away from my social networks for a while, which gave way to resume my reading and of course, I could listen to music, but then I realized something: I had a long time without listening to Lana Del Rey. It so happens that in my downloaded music, I have almost no songs by her. So I deigned and said it was time to download Paradise, the EP she released after Born To Die. That's why today, without any precedent and without having imagined it, I bring you the review of Paradise by Lana Del Rey.


Picsart_22-10-12_21-51-05-003.png


A normal day in Venezuela, with multiple internet failures, led me to get out of a writer's block that I had been dragging with me for weeks. I set out to make myself a nice cup of coffee, go to the gym and think "what could be my next review?". Then, as I commented earlier, I realized I didn't have enough Lana Del Rey songs on my phone. Funny enough, when the internet came on and I set out to download Paradise I saw a Facebook post that mentioned that on a day like today but ten years ago, Lana Del Rey released the video for the lead single of this era, the iconic Ride, one of Lana's best songs and most relevant videos in her career.

To introduce you a little bit to this era, it all starts in 2012, when in mid-June, Lana announced that she was working on a new album, which more than an album was an EP, or as she described it "A paradise edition of Born To Die", obviously at that time caused a great stir in her fans and they were waiting for what the interpreter was up to. Not to be outdone, she was on the rise and then blessed us all by releasing Ride, the album's lead single, in September, and then finally in November, releasing the album. It's time for you to brew a nice hot coffee, tuck in your best sheets and join me in this heavenly review with "Paradise" by Lana Del Rey.




1. Ride

I've been down on that open road.
You can be my full time, daddy
.

If there's one thing Lana Del Rey has, it's making you feel like you're entering the gates of heaven, and with the harmonizing that begins this song, she shows us that this is her natural talent. A masterful sound and a relaxed voice start to play and automatically make you close your eyes. I would like to describe it in a better way, but it is something that each individual must experience. Lana shows us with this song that she does indeed have vocal talent, without leaving aside her immense talent as a poet.

With this powerful opening, Lana shows us her unique style, influenced by the 60s, with her deep voice and orchestral sounds; it is without a doubt a unique piece in this album and makes one thing clear: Paradise will be a paradise. This song is one of my favorites and is a 10 / 10 without hesitation.


photo_2022-10-12_22-09-30.jpgTaken from IMDb


2. American

Playhouse, put on my favorite record on
Get down; get your crystal method on.

The beginning of this song feels like magic, and the magic doesn't end at the beginning, but Lana's voice takes care of showing you that the real charm is her and her talent. The song speaks of an American pride and tells us a little love story, of a Lana in love, of someone who drives her "crazy" and "wild". It has multiple very American references, even naming Elvis, it's a kiss to popular culture and it won't be the last time Del Rey does it on this album or in her career in general.

I had a strange relationship with this song for a while, because I didn't really used to like it. Once you listen to it in love, there's no turning back, especially when you hear Lana's powerful voice say, "I don't even know what I'm saying, but I'm praying for you." It's a powerful song that you can describe with the color gold, a 8.5 / 10.



3. Cola

My pussy tastes like Pepsi cola
My eyes are wide as cherry pies.

We come to one of the most sensual, provocative and controversial songs of Lana's career, and boy, does she have several. With that famous first line, Lana tells us about her taste for older men, for men who lack commitment and are just looking for something sexual. On a production level, the song is purely sensual, it's red, it's pleasure made sound. The song is not without controversy for lines like "Harvey's in the sky with diamonds" and "I know your wife, she wouldn't mind", but really none of this stops Cola from being one of the most iconic songs of Del Rey's career.

The bridge, I can't talk about this song without talking about its notorious bridge where Lana hits some masterful notes and makes it look easy. She really set out to show us her talent on this album (And boy has she done it!). The song is a flat, simple and round 10 / 10. "It's perfect!" exclaimed Jose David (this song even makes me speak in the third person, yes).



4. Body Electric

Elvis is my daddy
Marilyn's my mother
Jesus is my bestest friend.

We get right into the aesthetics of the 50s and 60s, but not on a sonic level, but lyrically, making references to great icons of that era. In this song, Lana takes us to dance on a Friday night with Jesus, Marilyn Monroe and Elvis Presley, all in an attempt to forget a relationship that just ended. The song is sensual as well as sad (Lana and her sad girl aesthetic in old Hollywood).

It has always been one of my favorite Lana Del Rey songs, mainly because of how poetic her lyrics are, the way she delivers some lines with so much pain and power in her voice. Without a doubt a 9 / 10 for me, it deserves nothing less than that.



5. Blue Velvet

She wore blue velvet
Bluer than velvet was the night
.

We may be looking at the slowest song on this album (which is full of them), but it's not my favorite, and it's time I said so. It's a cover of a popular song from the 50s, and there's really not much I can say about this song. I like it, sure, but I don't love it, I don't feel like it's one of Lana's best songs, or even the best cover.

It feels good to listen to it every now and then, or like for example right now, I had such a long time without listening to the whole album in the corresponding order, but it's not a song I would listen to anymore, for me it's a 7 / 10.


Capture taken from the film "Tropico"


6. Gods & Monsters

In the land of gods and monsters
I was an angel
Living in the garden of evil
.

What an exquisite song! Let's start there. It's one of the best songs of Lana's entire career, it feels creepy, sensual, provocative, sinful, it's plain and simple genius. It has incredible lines, it's timeless, it's scary and yet it still gives you the desire to live it to the fullest. The pop culture references go on and on: "Living like Jim Morrison" and Oscar Wilde's "Life imitates art". The song is about her bad relationship with God and her embracing her new life: fame.

When Lana Del Rey said, "In the land of gods and monsters, I was an angel, looking to get fucked hard", I understood that this song was the limit, it was forbidden and it was the song I most wanted to hear. It's a very explicit song in every way (as you may have noticed). It's a 10 / 10 and it's not up for discussion. It's even been performed by Jessica Lange in her role in "American Horror Story" and it's something worth watching.



7. Yayo

I like the snake in your tattoo
I like the ivy and the ink blue.

We slow down the pace to which Del Rey has accustomed us (Yes, it's possible), but this time to give us a heartbreaker. Lana tells us about a trailer dream, a Vegas-style wedding dream, a sad thing: Lana fell in love with a gangster, a bad boy, a dealer who sells cocaine. The production of this song feels slow, sad, powerful, a beautiful piano accompanies us through this tale.

She says, "Let me put on a show for you, daddy" and you understand that the sad thing about the song is, that in fact, this is a love song. She's devoted to this guy with a snake tattoo who deals drugs. I used to hate how slow this song is and now, in fact, the slow piano sound gives me chills. Its score is a 8 / 10.


Capture taken from the film "Tropico"


8. Bel Air

Gargoyles standing
At the front of your gate.

With this song, Lana closes the album in the most sublime way, it is a beautiful piano piece, a love song that, a rare thing on this album, is not about sadness, darkness or sensuality. It was included in Lana's film "Tropico" and gives it a majestic closure. It's a very nice song with which Lana says: I would die for you, but in a positive way.

It has never been, shall we say, my favorite song, but I have a certain fondness for it, it was part of a nice part of my life and I'm grateful to have experienced it that way. 8 / 10 for me, that's a good score for a beautiful song.



9. Burning Desire

I could not overlook this song that, although it was added later in a special edition of the album, it is impossible for me not to mention it in my review, putting it as a Bonus Track.

The song takes us back to sensuality, a highly erotic voice tells us about her fervent desire. "Have touch myself to pretend you're there" she says, and leaves you spellbound with all the naughtiness with which she sings. While lyrically the song may not have a major contribution, the sound is smooth but smoldering and that makes this song a stunner.

I give it an 8.5 / 10 for the bridge mainly, my favorite part of the whole song, the beat speeds up and makes you feel like you're head out of a car on a drunken night, with a huge and growing horniness, a dopamine explosion that makes you feel excellent.



Final Score


8.7 / 10

Taken from Genius

I know that my opinion on this album may be influenced by my fanaticism towards Lana Del Rey, and that is that during these musical eras was her heyday and it was inevitable not to be excited for every work that the artist brought. However, I feel that my reviews are transparent enough, I don't think it's a work that deserves less than the score I gave it.

It's an album with a great legacy, with hit songs like "Ride" and "Gods & Monsters" that passed as an excellent moment in Del Rey's stardom. Musically speaking, the album is quite a journey, it's a deeper version of her previous work "Born To Die" and that's something admirable, she managed to make this EP feel like the paradise edition of her debut album. Once again Lana Del Rey demonstrates her talent as a writer, as an artist, as a singer and as a performer and it's not something that really impresses me, because I expect nothing less from the artist of the decade.

Thus we close this music review of one of Lana's fan favorite works. I hope you enjoyed reading my review and that you like the album a lot, as it is one of my favorites from Del Rey. Tell me, have you already listened to this EP? What did you think of this Alternative Pop work by Lana? I look forward to reading your opinions in the comments because, important to remember, we all have the right to an opinion!.

Don't forget that you can visit my social networks, just click on the image below and you will be able to see my social networks. You can also read more of my blogs and reviews by clicking HERE.


Picsart_22-09-13_14-34-30-746.jpg


Español


🌴PARADISE*🌴

💛RESEÑA DE ÁLBUM💛


Feliz ombligo de semana, amigos lectores de Hive.

El día de hoy, por culpa de una falla de internet a nivel general en mi país, me vi obligado a apartarme durante un buen rato de mis redes sociales, lo que dio paso a que retomara mi lectura y por supuesto, pudiera escuchar música, pero entonces me di cuenta de algo: Tenía mucho tiempo sin escuchar a Lana Del Rey. Sucede que en mis músicas descargadas, no tengo casi canciones de ella. Así que me digné y dije que era momento de descargar Paradise, el EP que sacó luego de Born To Die. Es por eso que hoy, sin precedente alguno y sin habérmelo imaginado, les traigo la reseña de Paradise de Lana Del Rey.



Picsart_22-10-12_21-50-08-969.png


Un día normal en Venezuela, con múltiples fallas de internet, me llevaron a salir de un bloqueo de escritor que arrastraba conmigo desde hace semanas. Me dispuse a hacerme una buena taza de mi café, ir al gimnasio y pensar «¿Cuál podría ser mi siguiente reseña?». Luego, como comenté anteriormente, me di cuenta que no tenía las suficientes canciones de Lana Del Rey en mi teléfono. Curioso que, cuando llegó el internet y me dispuse a descargar Paradise vi una publicación en Facebook que mencionaba que un día como hoy pero hace diez años, Lana Del Rey publicó el video del sencillo líder de esta era, el icónico Ride, una de las mejores canciones y los videos más relevantes de Lana en su carrera.

Para introducirlos un poco a esta era, todo empieza en el año 2012, cuando a mediados de junio, Lana anuncia que trabajaba en un nuevo álbum, que más que un álbum se trataba de un EP, o como ella lo describió “Una edición paraíso de Born To Die”, obviamente en aquel entonces causó gran revuelo en su fanaticada y quedaron esperando que se traía la interprete entre manos. No es para menos, pues venía en ascenso y entonces nos bendijo a todos liberando en septiembre Ride, el sencillo líder del álbum, y luego, finalmente en noviembre, liberando el álbum. Es momento de que prepares un buen café caliente, te arropes con tus mejores sábanas y te unas a mí en esta review paradisiaca con ”Paradise” de Lana Del Rey.




1. Ride

He estado en ese camino abierto
Puedes ser mi tiempo completo, papi
.

Si hay algo que tiene Lana Del Rey es hacerte sentir que estás entrando a las puertas del cielo, y con la armonización con la que empieza esta canción, nos demuestra que este es su talento natural. Un sonido magistral y una voz relajada empiezan a sonar y te hacen automáticamente cerrar los ojos. Quisiera describir de mejor manera, pero es algo que debe vivir cada individuo. Lana nos demuestra con esta canción que de hecho sí tiene talento vocal, sin dejar de lado su inmenso talento como poeta.

Con este poderoso opening, Lana nos demuestra ese estilo único de ella, influenciado por los 60s, con su voz profunda y sonidos orquestales, es sin duda una pieza única en este álbum y nos deja en claro una cosa: Paradise será todo un paraíso. Esta canción es de mis favoritas y es un 10 / 10 sin dudarlo.


photo_2022-10-12_22-09-30.jpgTomada de IMDb


2. American

Casa de juegos, pon mi disco favorito
Bailemos, usa tu método de cristal.

El inicio de esta canción se siente como magia, y la magia no acaba en el inicio, sino que la voz de Lana se encarga de mostrarte que el verdadero encanto es ella y su talento. La canción habla de un orgullo americano y nos relata una pequeña historia de amor, de una Lana enamorada, de alguien que la vuelve “loca” y “salvaje”. Tiene múltiples referencias muy americanas, nombrando incluso a Elvis, es un beso a la cultura popular y no será la última vez que Del Rey lo haga en este álbum o en su carrera en general.

Tuve una relación extraña con esta canción durante un tiempo, porque la verdad no solía gustarme. Una vez que la escuchas enamorado, no hay vuelta atrás, en especial cuando escuchas la potente voz de Lana decir: “Ni siquiera sé lo que estoy diciendo, pero rezo por ti”. Es una poderosa canción que puedes describir con el color dorado, un 8.5 / 10.



3. Cola

Mi vagina sabe a Pepsi cola
Mis ojos son anchos como pasteles de cereza.

Llegamos a una de las canciones más sensuales, provocativas y controversiales de la carrera de Lana, y vaya que tiene varias. Con esa primera línea tan famosa, Lana nos habla de sus gustos por los hombres mayores, por hombres con falta de compromiso y que buscan algo solo sexual. A un nivel de producción, la canción es puramente sensual, es color rojo, es placer hecho sonido. La canción no deja de ser controversial por líneas como “Harvey está en el cielo con diamantes” y “Conozco a tu esposa, a ella no le importaría”, pero realmente nada de esto detiene a Cola de ser una de las canciones más icónicas de la carrera de Del Rey.

El puente, no puedo hablar de esta canción sin hablar de su notorio puente donde Lana alcanza unas notas magistrales y lo hace parecer fácil. Ella realmente se propuso mostrarnos su talento en este álbum (¡Y vaya que lo ha hecho!). La canción es un plano, sencillo y redondo 10 / 10. “¡Es perfecta!” exclamó José David (esta canción incluso me hace hablar en tercera persona, sí).



4. Body Electric

Elvis es mi papi
Marilyn es mi madre
Jesús es mi mejor amigo.

Nos metemos de lleno con la estética de los 50s y 60s, pero no a un nivel sonoro, sino de forma lírica, haciendo referencias a grandes íconos de aquella época. En esta canción, Lana nos lleva a bailar en una noche de viernes con Jesús, Marilyn Monroe y Elvis Presley, todo en un intento de ella por olvidar una relación que acaba de terminar. La canción es sensual al mismo tiempo que triste (Lana y su estética de chica triste en el viejo Hollywood).

Siempre ha sido una de mis canciones favoritas de Lana Del Rey, principalmente por lo poético de su letra, por la manera de entregarnos algunas líneas con tanto dolor y poder en su voz. Sin duda alguna un 9 / 10 para mí, no merece nada menos que eso.



5. Blue Velvet

Ella vestía terciopelo azul
Más azul que el terciopelo fue la noche.

Quizá estamos ante la canción más lenta de este álbum (que está lleno de ellas), pero no es mi favorita, y es hora de que lo diga. Se trata de un cover de una canción popular de los 50s, y en realidad no hay mucho que pueda decir de esta canción. Me gusta, claro, pero no me encanta, no siento que sea una de las mejores canciones de Lana, ni siquiera el mejor cover.

Se siente bien escucharla cada cierto tiempo, o como por ejemplo ahorita, que tenía tanto tiempo sin oír todo el álbum en el orden correspondiente, pero no es una canción que escucharía seguir, para mí es un 7 / 10.


Captura tomada del film "Tropico"


6. Gods & Monsters

En la tierra de los dioses y los monstruos
Yo era un ángel
Viviendo en el jardín de la maldad
.

¡Qué exquisitez de canción! Empecemos por ahí. Es una de las mejores canciones de toda la carrera de Lana, se siente espeluznante, sensual, provocativa, pecadora, es simple y llanamente una genialidad. Tiene increíbles líneas, es atemporal, es tenebrosa y aún así te da el deseo de vivirla al máximo. Las referencias a la cultura popular no paran: “Viviendo como Jim Morrison” y “La vida imita al arte de Oscar Wilde”. La canción trata de su mala relación con Dios y ella abrazando a su nueva vida: La fama.

Cuando Lana Del Rey dijo: “En la tierra de los dioses y monstruos, yo era un ángel, buscando ser follada duro”, yo entendí que esta canción era el límite, era prohibida y era la canción que más quería escuchar. Es una canción muy explícita en todos los sentidos (como se habrán dado cuenta). Es un 10 / 10 y no está en discusión. Incluso ha sido interpretada por Jessica Lange en su papel de “American Horror Story” y es algo que merece la pena ver.



7. Yayo

Me gusta la serpiente en tu tatuaje
Me gusta la hiedra y la tinta azul.

Bajamos sumamente el ritmo al que Del Rey nos tenía acostumbrados (Sí, es posible), pero esta vez para darnos una obra rompe-corazones. Lana nos relata un sueño de remolques, un sueño de boda estilo Las Vegas, algo triste: Lana se enamoró de un gangster, de un chico malo, de un dealer que vende cocaína. La producción de esta canción se siente lenta, triste, poderosa, un hermoso piano nos acompaña a través de este relato.

Dice: “Déjame montarte un espectáculo, papi” y entiendes que lo triste de la canción es, que de hecho, se trata de una canción de amor. Ella es devota a este chico con tatuaje de serpiente que trafica drogas. Solía detestar lo lento de esta canción y ahora, de hecho, el lento sonido de piano me da escalofríos. Su puntuación es un 8 / 10.


Captura tomada del film "Tropico"


8. Bel Air

Gárgolas de pie
En la parte delantera de tu puerta.

Con esta canción, Lana cierra el álbum de la forma más sublime, es una hermosa pieza de piano, una canción de amor que, cosa extraña en este álbum, no se trata de tristeza, oscuridad o sensualidad. Fue incluida en el Film de Lana “Tropico” y le da un majestuoso cierre. Es una muy linda canción con la que Lana dice: Moriría por ti, pero de forma positiva.

Nunca ha sido, digamos que, mi canción favorita, pero le tengo cierto cariño, fue parte de una linda parte de mi vida y agradezco haberla experimentado de esa forma. 8 / 10 para mí, ese es un buen puntaje para una canción hermosa.



9. Burning Desire

No podía pasar por alto esta canción que, si bien fue agregada posteriormente en una edición especial del álbum, se me hace imposible no mencionarla en mi reseña, poniéndola como Bonus Track.

La canción nos lleva de nuevo a la sensualidad, una voz sumamente erótica nos cuenta acerca de su ferviente deseo. “Me toco a mí misma para pretender que estás aquí” dice, y te deja anonadado con toda la picardía con la que canta. Aunque líricamente la canción no tenga mayor contribución, el sonido es suave pero ardiente y eso hace a esta canción una maravilla.

Le doy un 8.5 / 10 por el puente principalmente, mi parte favorita de toda la canción, el ritmo se acelera y te hace sentir como si fueras con la cabeza fuera de un automóvil en una noche de ebriedad, con una calentura enorme y creciente, una explosión de dopamina que te hace sentir excelente.



Puntaje Final


8.7 / 10

Tomada de Genius

Sé que mi opinión en este álbum se puede ver influenciada por el fanatismo hacia Lana Del Rey, y es que durante estas eras musicales fue su auge y era inevitable no estar emocionado por cada trabajo que la artista trajera. Sin embargo, siento que mis críticas son lo bastante transparentes, no me parece para nada un trabajo que merezca menos que la puntuación que le di.

Es un álbum con un gran legado, con canciones exitosas como “Ride” y “Gods & Monsters” que pasaron como un excelente momento en el estrellato de Del Rey. Musicalmente hablando, el álbum es todo un viaje, es una versión más profunda de su anterior trabajo “Born To Die” y eso es algo admirable, ella logró que este EP se sintiera como la edición paraíso de su álbum debut. Una vez más Lana Del Rey demuestra su talento como escritora, como artista, como cantante y como performer y no es algo que realmente me impresione, porque no espero nada menos de la artista de la década.

Así damos cierre a esta crítica musical a uno de los trabajos de Lana favoritos para los fans. Espero que les haya gustado leer mi reseña y que les guste mucho el álbum, pues es uno de mis favoritos de Del Rey. Cuéntenme, ¿ya habían escuchado este EP? ¿qué les pareció este trabajo de Pop Alternativo de Lana? Espero leer sus opiniones en los comentarios porque, importante recordar, ¡Todos tenemos derecho a opinar!.

No olvides que puedes visitar mis redes sociales, con un click en la imagen de abajo y ya podrás ver mis redes sociales. También pueden leer más de mis blogs y reseñas dando click AQUÍ.


Picsart_22-09-13_14-34-30-746.jpg


💕CRÉDITOS💕


Los créditos de las fotos están dentro del post. Los gifs usados fueron extraídos de Tenor y, algunas imágenes me pertenecen, editadas y tomadas con mi Samsung J7 2016. Usé capturas del vídeo "Tropico" de Lana del Rey, el cual adjunto aquí abajo.

Photo credits are inside the post. The gifs used were extracted from Tenor and, some images belong to me, edited and taken with my Samsung J7 2016. I used screenshots from Lana del Rey's "Tropico" video, which I attach below.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center