ELECTRA HEART BY MARINA AND THE DIAMONDS | ALBUM REVIEW [ENG - ESP] ♡🍒

This post is both in English and Spanish, puedes ir directamente al español dando click AQUI


♡ELECTRA HEART♡

🍒ALBUM REVIEW🍒


Happy Wednesday, lovely people of Hive.🌿

After a time where the only album reviews were for Lana Del Rey, I've reached the end, and listening to recommendations, I've decided to expand my reviews to other artists, including some that may be similar to Lana. That's why I'm starting this first review with an album that marked a whole generation, that marked the Tumblr era of a bunch of teenagers whose taste was quite different from the rest. Join me to get to know Marina and her iconic album "Electra Heart" a little bit.


Picsart_22-12-14_16-56-03-931.png


untitled.gif

Last week I published what would be my last review of Lana Del Rey and her album "Blue Banisters", meaning that my musical spaces were totally available to review albums by various artists. I took the recommendation of my friend @audiarmisg and I come to share with you the review of an album that I find super iconic in its own way. But first let's get to know a little bit about the legendary Electra Heart.

We go back to that time, where Marina was called "Marina and the Diamonds", it was 2012, after Marina had released a standalone single, "Radioactive", which would serve as the opening of the era, not being the main single, but as a promotional single that would enter only in the Deluxe version of the album. Then Marina and her label decide to release the lead single, "Primadonna", giving us a taste of what the sound of the album would be like, or in Marina's words, "Music that Britney Spears would make if she were goth". The sound that is handled in the album is an electropop, a quite conceptual album, to the level that it is an extensive theme and some count this album as a "visual album". With this album, Marina creates a character, or her antithesis, called Electra Heart, which represents the four American female stereotypes. With that said, prepare your most chaotic snack and dive with me into the "Tumblr" era, with a delicious sound and soul wrenching lyrics, let's begin the review of "Electra Heart" by Marina.



Taken from Genius


1. Bubblegum Bitch

You got a figure like a pin-up, got a figure like a doll
Don't care if you think I'm dumb, I don't care at all
.

We start the album with a song that gives us pop rock vibes, almost like a synthetic and irreverent pop. The lyrics themselves put us in the context of the album, that is, we will talk about the personal and love life of Electra Heart, with lines like "oh dear diary, I met a boy" and "oh dear diary, we fell apart, welcome to the life of Electra Heart", which are key in what will be lyrically the work, but with a depth that goes beyond teenage lyrics.

It is a quite enjoyable song, with lyrical content related mostly to the album as a more complex panorama. It belongs to the "Teen Idle" archetype, one of four we'll be seeing throughout the album. I give it a 9 / 10, it deserves good scores and I'm glad to see it's one of the most popular despite not being a single.



2. Primadonna

Primadonna girl, yeah
All I ever wanted was the world
.

Primadonna was my start with Marina, for that reason it will always have a place in my heart. It starts with a very sweet voice, describing herself a bit, just before an explosion of sound where the real electropop starts to delight you. If there is something I would like to highlight is that Marina's voice is exquisite, it is rare and unique, it is delightful to hear, and in this song it is quite noticeable.

Lyrically she talks about wanting everything, about being spoiled and needing everything and always more. She's practically that detestable character that you love to hate, she's a prima donna. She belongs to the "Beauty Queen" archetype. A worthy lead single that pretty much defines what the electronic sound of the album will be, a worthy 10 / 10 for Marina on an album that will apparently be full of tens.



3. Lies

You're never gonna love me, so what's the use?
What's the point in playing a game you're gonna lose?

When it comes to identifying with the lyrics on this album, for better or worse, it's happened to me many times, it's an album I always come back to, and despite its fun sound, it has pieces that can make you cry because of how personal they feel. This is one of those songs. "Lies" talks about how you know that person isn't the one, but you still insist on believing that lie will do you good. In the song we see a pretty angry Marina with that person, with lines like "You only ever touch me in the dark. Only if we're drinking, can you see my spark".

The production is wonderful, it's a delight. Personally I would have loved a bridge, because I feel it would have added that heartbreaking touch. But I find it a perfect song that, heard at the right time, will make you cry. This song belongs to the "Housewife" archetype. For me it has always been one of the best on the album, a 10 / 10 well deserved.



4. Homewrecker

Every boyfriend is the one
Until otherwise proven

With a production that resembles the sound that is driving the album, we see something different: the verses are practically spoken, with Marina using a quite sensual voice. In Marina's own words, she says it's a kind of response to Lies, where instead of her being the victim, she is now the victimizer. She's a homewrecker and proud to be one. It belongs to the eponymous archetype, "Homewrecker".

It's pretty fun to listen to even though it has a bit of a darker sound. There are lines that I find super clever, such as "the good is never easy, easy is never good". It's a piece I love listening to, but I know it's not the best on the album, so an 8 / 10 feels appropriate to me.



5. Starring Role

You're hard to hug, tough to talk to
And I never fall asleep when you're in my bed

The melody of a soft piano starts, and the touching words in Marina's soft voice convey sadness. For a while, being in a relationship with a guy, I felt like this song, and that's pretty sad. The song, sound-wise, feels like a ballad with quite distinct electropop tinges, an exquisite and interesting mix.

The lyrics talk about not wanting to be the second choice, the supporting role, but the lead in a guy's heart. Marina's voice in this song has to be my favorite part, I always listen to the acoustic version as it sounds too good and breaks your heart. This song doesn't fit into any of the four archetypes on the album. It is one of the best on the album, a 10 / 10 without hesitation.



6. The State of Dreaming

Millions of girls float on that one quote
Living on their last hope, on their last hope
.

A bit away from the electronic sound that had been predominant, we have what seems to be a slightly calmer song. Inspired by Marilyn Monroe, Marina says that this song talks a bit about how fantasy can protect you from morbid reality. If you imagine that life is something and you hold on to your imagination, then you won't see the awfulness of the world around you.

I find it fun, with a somewhat cooler and smoother production than the rest of the album, however I feel like I've never connected with this song as much. I find a 8 / 10 feels pretty fair, could be better but it's not bad. Belonging to the "Beauty Quen" archetype.



7. Power & Control

Give a little, get a lot
That’s just how you are with love
.

Back to the heavy but extremely enjoyable sound, Lana continues to serve up everything that gays and girls want, this kind of pop that you can't stop listening to and that every time you hear it has a little element you hadn't discovered. This song served as the single of the era and according to Marina, it is one of her three favorites from the album. Power & Control belongs to the "Homewrecker" archetype.

Lyrically, Marina talks about the power dynamics that exist in every relationship, alluding to the fact that there are probably almost no relationships where both parties feel equal in power, there will always be little games or small fights that determine who has more power and control over the relationship. It seems to me one of Marina's best works, as far as production is concerned. A 10 / 10 for this very memorable single.


Taken from Tumblr


8. Living Dead

Every day I feel the same
Stuck, and I can never change.

Despite having a very upbeat rhythm and a production full of electronic sounds that you feel inside you, this is one of the most depressing songs on the album. In it Marina talks about what it feels like to not be living your life to the fullest, to be stagnant because of depression, where you are in a dark place (that's why she uses death as a metaphor). My favorite line is in the second pre-chorus: "The weight of an empty life will lessen in the moonlight. In the light, in the light-light-light", her voice sounds beautiful and the mix of her and the music sound wonderful.

There are details in the production of this song that make me love it, and it is one of the less popular songs on the album, which makes it for me the hidden gem of the album. This song doesn't belong to any of the archetypes we see on the album. I rate this song a 9 / 10.


untitled.gif


9. Teen Idle

I wanna be a bottle blonde
I don't know why but I feel conned
.

With this song we see Marina regretting her youth. Undoubtedly a song that portrays a bit of the negative side of adolescence. It is a song that, in case you identify yourself, will make you feel terrible. It talks about how she wishes she could change her teenage years and be a fun girl instead of a dark suicidal one. Marina describes it as her last hurrah of adolescence.

The production feels darker than the rest of the songs, quite sad, managing to convey this feeling of heaviness she talks about. One of the most transcendental songs in Marina's career, as it manages to portray in a negative way the sad aspects of American adolescence. This song belongs to the "Teen Idle" archetype. For me it is a resounding 10 / 10, there is no other way to rate this excellent song.


Taken from Genius


10. Valley of the Dolls

In the valley of the dolls, we sleep
We sleep.

In reference to the best-seller "Valley of the Dolls", Marina portrays a character who feels completely empty, prone to fall into addictions. It's like the metaphor where when a child finds comfort in dolls, an adult will find comfort in drugs. From a certain point of view, it can be quite a sad song. Belonging to the archetype of "Housewife".

The production feels quite a bit calmer, almost like a little respite, away from the noise and darkness that characterizes the album's production. It's enjoyable, yes, but it's not one of my favorites, I feel it doesn't have some memorable element that makes it stand out. Personally, I think a 8 / 10 is fair for this song, which although interesting is not excellent.


Taken from Tumblr


11. Hypocrates

You’re the lonely
One and only body in the world
.

This is perhaps the only song on the standard version of the album that I don't like. Its production is rather sweet, it almost seems to belong to another album, as it doesn't fit at all with the sound Marina has been working on in the album. Lyrically it talks about hypocrisy, but it doesn't go beyond that and doesn't have any element that I find interesting.

Maybe there are people who like this song, but for me, that's not the case. I can pass it off as the weakest and blandest song on the album. Scoring it a 6 / 10 seems more than fair to me. It doesn't belong to any archetype.



12. Fear and Loathing

I lived a lot of different lives
Been different people many times
.

It would be many years before I grew fond of this song, and once I did, I felt the magic and power of this incredible song. It is the longest song on the album, lasting six minutes and seven seconds in total. It belongs to the "Beauty Queen" songs archetype.

The lyrics introduce us to a Marina determined to stop living in fear, to be kinder to herself. It was almost like an awakening for her, to leave behind that toxic personality that was hurting her and those around her. The production is slower than the sound that has been characterizing the album, but it feels very refreshing, very subtle, smooth and delicious. After growing fond of it and feeling the true meaning of this song, I can say that it is a total and resounding 10 / 10.



13. How to Be a Heartbreaker

Rule number one
Is that you gotta have fun
.

"And then the queen of Tumblr came down and handed us the 4 rules to follow..." We've reached the end of the standard version of the album and what a way to close it, with none other than one of Marina's greatest anthems and one of the most popular songs in that era of Tumblr and the rise of aesthetics. Basically Marina gave us all the rules to be heartbreakers, this thanks to the fact that she has lived the experience of dating multiple guys who broke her heart, now she knows first hand what are the rules to follow.

Talking a bit about the production, there's not much to say other than "Chef Kiss". It's too good in every way, perhaps one of his most popular and commercial songs. An instant anthem and a bridge worth admiring make this one of their best songs. Of course this song belongs to the "Homewrecker" archetype. There is no way I wouldn't award 10 / 10 to this perfect song.


untitled.gif


Final Score


9 / 10

Electra_Heart_album_artwork.jpg

Taken from Genius

Evaluating this album means the beginning of many reviews to albums of various artists, which excites me a lot, because although I know I am not an expert in music, music will always be something that makes me feel a lot of joy, a lot of emotion, in short, music gives meaning to my life, and to be able to share my opinion of it, of great artists who have marked many people, that means the world to me. Now, I couldn't avoid coming to Marina Diamandis, currently known only as Marina, and the iconic Electra Heart, of which you could easily make a thesis, because of the complexity and depth of this album, that's why in my review I only focused on the music of the standard version, because I could extend much more just talking about the backstory and archetypes, a project with a lot of ambition for an artist who was just on the rise.

The album has a deep and personal lyrical content, but at the same time easy to connect with us, Marina knew how to express her emotions and at the same time serve as a voice for those who didn't quite know what they were feeling. Not only the lyrics, but the production of this album is a love letter to culture, at the height of the rise and rise of electropop, she decides to take this concept and combine it with housewives, a touch of goth and Britney Spears, giving life to one of the albums that most marked a generation of teenagers. At this point Marina still had a lot of polishing to do, but she still managed to deliver a jewel of musical excellence.

untitled.gif

We reached the end of the post and I'm with a huge smile on my face, I don't know if it's because of December, but listening to music makes me happier than usual, it gives me the feeling of joy that is always necessary. I thank Marina for such a great album and I thank you once again for letting me share my reviews and taking the time to read them. I hope with all my heart that my review was to your liking and that you enjoyed at least one of all the songs on the album. If you have listened to Marina before, I would like to know what do you think of this album? And, in case you haven't heard her, don't wait any longer and go give her a chance, I'll be waiting for your opinion.

I leave you here below my social networks, you can visit them by clicking on the image below. You can also click here to read more music reviews, movie reviews and personal blogs, just click HERE. I wish you all a very nice Wednesday, see you soon.


Picsart_22-09-13_14-34-30-746.jpg


Español


♡ELECTRA HEART♡

🍒RESEÑA DE ÁLBUM🍒


Feliz miércoles, preciosas personas de Hive.🌿

Luego de un tiempo donde las únicas reseñas de álbumes eran para Lana Del Rey, he llegado al final, y escuchando recomendaciones, he decidido expandir mis críticas a otros artistas, incluyendo algunos que pueden llegar a ser similares a Lana. Es por eso que arranco esta primera crítica con un álbum que marcó a toda una generación, que marcó la era Tumblr de un montón de adolescentes cuyo gusto era bastante diferente al resto. Acompáñame a conocer un poco a Marina y a su icónico álbum “Electra Heart”.


Picsart_22-12-14_16-55-16-971.png


untitled.gif

La semana pasada publiqué la que sería mi última reseña de Lana Del Rey y su álbum “Blue Banisters”, es decir que mis espacios musicales quedaron totalmente disponibles para hacer reseñas de álbumes de diversos artistas. Tomé la recomendación de mi amiga @audiarmisg y les vengo a compartir la reseña de un álbum que me parece súper icónico a su manera. Pero primero conozcamos un poco de lo que es la legendaria Electra Heart.

Nos vamos a aquella época, donde Marina se hacía llamar “Marina and the Diamonds”, transcurría el año 2012, luego de que Marina haya lanzado un single independiente, “Radioactive”, que serviría como opening de la era, no siendo el sencillo principal, sino como sencilllo promocional que entraría solo en la versión Deluxe del álbum. Entonces Marina junto a su disquera deciden liberal el sencillo líder, “Primadonna”, brindándonos unn poco de lo que sería el sonido del álbum, o dicho en palabras de Marina, “Música que haría Britney Spears si fuera gótica”. El sonido que se maneja en el álbum es un electropop, un álbum bastante conceptual, al nivel que es un tema extenso y algunos cuentan este álbum como un “álbum visual”. Con este álbum, Marina crea un personaje, o su antítesis, llamada Electra Heart, que representa los cuatro estereotipos femeninos de Estados Unidos. Dicho esto, preparen su snack más caótico y sumérjanse conmigo en la era “Tumblr”, con un sonido delicioso y letras que te desgarran el alma, empecemos la reseña de “Electra Heart” por Marina.



Tomada de Genius


1. Bubblegum Bitch

Tengo figura de modelo, tengo figura de muñeca
No me importa si piensas que soy tonta, no me importa para nada
.

Iniciamos el álbum con una canción que nos da vibras de pop rock, casi como un pop sintético e irreverente. La letra en sí nos pone en el contexto del álbum, es decir, hablaremos de la vida personal y amorosa de Electra Heart, con líneas como “querido diario, conocí a un chico” y “querido diario, terminamos, bienvenidos a la vida de Electra Heart”, que son claves en lo que será líricamente el trabajo, pero con una profundidad que va más allá de letras adolescentes.

Es una canción bastante disfrutable, con contenido lírico relacionado más que todo al álbum como un panorama más complejo. Pertenece a el arquetipo “Teen Idle” o “Joven Floja”, uno de los cuatro que estaremos viendo a lo largo del álbum. Le doy un 9 / 10, merece buena puntuación y me alegra ver que es una de las más populares a pesar de no haber sido sencillo.



2. Primadonna

Chica primadonna, si
El mundo era todo lo quería
No puedo evitar necesitarlo todo.

Primadonna fue mi inicio con Marina, por esa razón siempre tendrá un lugar en mi corazón. Empieza con una voz muy dulce, describiéndose un poco a ella misma, justo antes de una explosión de sonido donde empieza el verdadero electropop que te deleita. Si hay algo que me gustaría destacar es que la voz de Marina es exquisita, es rara y única, es deliciosa de oír, y en esta canción se nota bastante.

Líricamente nos habla de quererlo todo, de ser una mimada y necesitar todo y siempre más. Es prácticamente ese personaje detestable pero que amas odiar, ella es una prima donna. Pertenece al arquetipo “Beauty Queen” o “Reina de Belleza”. Un digno sencillo líder que define bastante lo que será el sonido electrónico del álbum, un digno 10 / 10 para Marina en un álbum que aparentemente estará lleno de dieces.



3. Lies

Nunca vas a amarme, ¿así que de qué sirve?
¿Cuál es el punto de jugar un juego que vas a perder?

A la hora de identificarme con las letras de este álbum, por bien o por mal, me ha pasado muchas veces, es un álbum al que siempre vuelvo, y a pesar de su sonido divertido, tiene piezas que pueden hacerte llorar por lo personales que se sienten. Esta es una de esas canciones. “Lies” habla de cómo sabes que esa persona no es la indicada, pero aún así te insistes en creer que esa mentira te hará bien. En la canción vemos a una Marina bastante enojada con esa persona, con líneas como “Sólo me tocas en la oscuridad. Solo si estamos bebiendo, puedes ver mi brillo”.

La producción es maravillosa, es un deleite. Personalmente hubiese amado un puente, porque siento que le hubiera añadido ese toque desgarrador. Pero me parece una canción perfecta que, escuchada en el momento adecuado, te hará llorar. Esta canción pertenece al arquetipo “Housewife” o “Ama de casa”. Para mí siempre ha sido una de las mejores del álbum, un 10 / 10 bien merecido.



4. Homewrecker

Cada novio es el indicado
Hasta que se pruebe lo contrario
.

Con una producción que se asemeja al sonido que va manejando el álbum, vemos algo distinto: los versos son prácticamente hablados, con Marina usando una voz bastante sensual. En palabras de Marina, ella dice que es una clase de respuesta a Lies, donde en lugar de ella ser la víctima, ahora es el victimario. Es una rompe-hogares y está orgullosa de serlo. Pertenece al arquetipo homónimo, “Homewrecker” o “Rompe-hogares”.

Es bastante divertida de escuchar aunque tiene un sonido un poco más oscuro. Hay líneas que me parecen súper inteligentes, como por ejemplo “lo bueno nunca es fácil, lo fácil nunca es bueno”. Es una pieza que me encanta escuchar, pero sé que no es la mejor del álbum, así que un 8 / 10 se siente apropiado para mí.



5. Starring Role

Eres difícil de abrazar, difícil a la hora de hablar
Y nunca consigo dormirme
.

Empieza la melodía de un suave piano, y las palabras conmovedoras en la suave voz de Marina te transmiten tristeza. Durante un tiempo, estando en una relación con un chico, me sentía como esta canción, y eso es bastante triste. La canción, en cuanto a sonido, se siente como una balada con tintes de electropop bastante marcados, una mezcla exquisita e interesante.

La letra habla de cómo no querer ser la segunda opción, el papel de reparto, sino el protagónico en el corazón de un chico. La voz de Marina en esta canción debe ser mi parte favorita, siempre escucho la versión acústica pues suena demasiado bien y te rompe el corazón. Esta canción no entra en ningún arquetipo de los cuatro que se manejan en el álbum. Es de las mejores del álbum, un 10 / 10 sin dudarlo.



6. The State of Dreaming

Millones de chicas se aferran a esa frase
Viviendo con sus últimas esperanzas, sus últimas esperanzas
.

Un poco alejados del sonido electrónico que venía predominando, tenemos lo que parece ser una canción un poco más calmada. Inspirada en Marilyn Monroe, Marina dice que esta canción habla un poco de cómo la fantasía puede protegerte de la mórbida realidad. Si te imaginas que la vida es algo y te aferras a tu imaginación, entonces no verás lo horrible del mundo que te rodea.

Me parece divertida, con una producción un tanto más fresca y suave que el resto del álbum, sin embargo siento que nunca he conectado tanto con esta canción. Me parece que un 8 / 10 se siente bastante justo, pudiera ser mejor pero no es mala. Perteneciente al arquetipo “Beauty Quen” o “Reina de Belleza”.



7. Power & Control

Cede un poco, obtén mucho
Así es como eres en el amor.

De vuelta al sonido pesado pero en extremo disfrutable, Lana sigue sirviendo todo lo que los gays y las chicas quieren, este tipo de pop que no puedes parar de escuchar y que siempre que oyes tiene un pequeño elemento que no habías descubierto. Esta canción sirvió como sencillo de la era y de acuerdo a Marina, es una de sus tres favoritas del álbum. Power & Control pertenece al arquetipo “Homewrecker” o “Rompe-hogares”.

Líricamente, Marina nos habla de la dinámica de poder que hay en cada relación, haciendo alusión a que probablemente no haya casi relaciones donde ambas partes se sientan en igualdad de poder, siempre habrán pequeños juegos o pequeñas luchas que determinan quién tiene más poder y control sobre la relación. Me parece de los mejores trabajos de Marina, en cuanto a producción hablamos. Un 10 / 10 para este sencillo tan memorable.


Tomada de Tumblr


8. Living Dead

Cada día me siento igual
Atorada y nunca puedo cambiar.

A pesar de tener un ritmo bastante movido y una producción llena de sonidos electrónicos que sientes dentro de ti, esta es una de las canciones más deprimentes del álbum. En ella Marina nos habla de lo que se siente no estar viviendo tu vida al full, estar estancada a causa de la depresión, donde estás en un sitio oscuro (por eso usa como metáfora la muerte). Mi línea favorita está en el segundo pre-coro: “El peso de una vida vacía disminuirá a la luz de la luna, en la luz-luz-luz”, su voz suena preciosa y la mezcla de ella y la música suenan maravilloso.

Hay detalles en la producción de esta canción que me hacen amarla, y es una de las canciones menos populares del álbum, lo que la hace para mí la joya oculta del álbum. Esta canción no pertenece a ninguno de los arquetipos que vemos en el álbum. A esta canción la puntúo con un 9 / 10.


untitled.gif


9. Teen Idle

Quiero ser una rubia teñida
No sé por qué pero me siento estafada.

Con esta canción vemos a Marina arrepentida por su juventud. Sin duda una canción que retrata un poco el lado negativo de la adolescencia. Es una canción que, en caso de identificarte, te hará sentir terriblemente mal. Habla de cómo quisiera cambiar sus años de adolescencia y ser una chica divertida en lugar de una oscura suicida. Marina la describe como su último hurrah de adolescencia.

La producción se siente más oscura que el resto de las canciones, bastante triste, logrando transmitir este sentimiento de pesadez del que habla. Una de las canciones más trascendentales en la carrera de Marina, pues logra retratar de forma negativa los aspectos tristes de la adolescencia americana. Esta canción pertenece al arquetipo de “Teen Idle” o “Joven Floja”. Para mí es un rotundo 10 / 10, no hay otra manera de puntuar esta excelente canción.


Tomada de Genius


10. Valley of the Dolls

En el valle de las muñecas dormimos
Dormimos.

En referencia al best-seller “Valley of the Dolls”, Marina nos retrata a un personaje que se siente completamente vacío, propenso a caer en adicciones. Es como la metáfora donde cuando un niño encuentra confort en las muñecas, un adulto lo hará en las drogas. Desde cierto punto de vista, puede ser una canción bastante triste. Perteneciente al arquetipo de “Housewife” o “Ama de casa”.

La producción se siente bastante más calmada, casi como un pequeño respiro, lejos del ruido y oscuridad que caracteriza a la producción del álbum. Es disfrutable, sí, pero no es de mis favoritas, siento que no tiene algún elemento memorable que la haga destacar. En lo personal, me parece que un 8 / 10 es justo para esta canción que aunque es interesante no es excelente.


Tomada de Tumblr


11. Hypocrates

Eres ese alguien
El único en el mundo.

Quizá estemos ante la única canción de la versión estándar del álbum que no me gusta. Su producción es bastante dulce, casi parece pertenecer a otro álbum, pues no encaja en lo absoluto con el sonido que viene trabajando Marina en el álbum. Líricamente habla de la hipocresía, pero no va más allá ni tiene algún elemento que me parezca interesante.

Quizá haya personas que les guste esta canción, pero para mí, ese no es el caso. Puedo pasarla como la canción más floja y sosa del álbum. Puntuarla con un 6 / 10 me parece más que justo. No pertenece a ningún arquetipo.



12. Fear and Loathing

He vivido muchas vidas distintas
He sido personas distintas varias veces
.

Pasarían muchos años para que le tomara cariño a esta canción, y una vez que lo hice, sentí la magia y el poder de esta increíble canción. Es la canción más larga del álbum, con una duración de seis minutos con siete segundos en total. Pertenece a las canciones del arquetipo “Beauty Queen” o “Reina de Belleza”.

La letra nos presenta a una Marina decidida a dejar de vivir con miedo, a ser más amable con ella misma. Fue casi como un despertar para ella, dejar atrás a esa personalidad tóxica que le hacía daño a ella y a quienes la rodeaban. La producción es más lenta que el sonido que viene caracterizando al álbum, pero se siente muy refrescante, muy sutil, suave y delicioso. Luego de tomarle cariño y sentir el verdadero significado de esta canción, puedo decir que es un total y rotundo 10 / 10.



13. How to Be a Heartbreaker

Regla número uno
Te tienes que divertir
.

“Y entonces bajó la reina de Tumblr y nos entregó las 4 reglas que hay que seguir…” Hemos llegado al final de la versión estándar del álbum y vaya manera de cerrarlo, ni más ni menos que con uno de los más grandes himnos de Marina y con una de las canciones más populares en aquella época de Tumblr y el auge de la estética. Básicamente Marina nos entregó a todos las reglas para ser rompecorazones, esto gracias a que ella ha vivido la experiencia de salir con múltiples chicos que rompieron su corazón, ahora sabe de primera mano cuales son las reglas a seguir.

Hablando un poco acerca de la producción, no hay mucho que decir más que “Chef Kiss”. Es demasiado buena en todos los sentidos, quizá una de sus canciones más populares y comerciales. Un himno instantáneo y un puente digno de admirar hacen de esta una de sus mejores canciones. Por supuesto que esta canción pertenece al arquetipo “Homewrecker” o “Rompe-hogares”. No hay manera que yo no le otorgue el 10 / 10 a esta canción tan perfecta.


untitled.gif


Puntaje Final


9 / 10

Electra_Heart_album_artwork.jpg

Tomada de Genius

Evaluar este disco significa el inicio de muchas reseñas a álbumes de diversos artistas, lo cual me emociona muchísimo, porque aunque sé que no soy experto en música, la música siempre será algo que me hace sentir mucha alegría, mucha emoción, en pocas palabras, la música le da un sentido a mi vida, y poder compartir mi opinión de ella, de grandes artistas que han marcado a muchas personas, eso significa un mundo para mí. Ahora bien, no podía evitar llegar a Marina Diamandis, actualmente conocida solo como Marina, y el icónico Electra Heart, del cual fácilmente se podría hacer una tesis, por lo complejo y profundo de este álbum, es por eso que en mi reseña solo me enfoqué en la música de la versión estándar, porque podría extenderme mucho más tan solo hablando de la historia de trasfondo y los arquetipos, un proyecto con mucha ambición para una artista que apenas estaba en ascenso.

El álbum tiene un contenido lírico profundo y personal, pero al mismo tiempo fácil de conectar con nosotros, Marina supo cómo expresar sus emociones y al mismo tiempo servir de voz para aquellos que no sabían bien lo que sentían. No solo las letras, pero la producción de este álbum es una carta de amor a la cultura, en pleno auge y surgimiento del electropop, ella decide tomar este concepto y combinarlo con las amas de casa, un toque gótico y Britney Spears, dando vida a uno de los álbumes que más marcaron a una generación de adolescentes. En este punto le faltaba mucho por pulir a Marina, pero aún así logró entregarnos una joya de excelencia musical.

untitled.gif

Llegamos al final del post y yo estoy con una inmensa sonrisa en mi cara, no sé si es por diciembre, pero escuchar música me hace más feliz de lo normal, me da el sentimiento de alegría que siempre es necesario. Agradezco a Marina por un álbum tan genial y agradezco una vez más a ustedes por dejarme compartir mis reseñas y tomarse el tiempo de leerlas. Espero de todo corazón que mi reseña haya sido de su agrado y que hayan disfrutado al menos una de todas las canciones del álbum. Si ya han escuchado a Marina antes, me gustaría saber ¿qué opinas de este álbum? Y, en caso de que no la hayas escuchado, no esperes más y ve a darle una oportunidad, estaré esperando tu opinión.

Les dejo acá abajito mis redes sociales, pueden visitarlas dándole click a la imagen que adjunto. También pueden dar click aquí para leer más reseñas musicales, reseñas de películas y blogs personales, solo debes dar click AQUÍ. Les deseo a todos un muy bonito miércoles, nos vemos prontito.


Picsart_22-09-13_14-34-30-746.jpg


💕CRÉDITOS💕


Todos los créditos de imágenes los adjunté en el post, algunas fotos fueron tomadas del Tumblr oficial que se usó para promocionar la era. El banner fue realizado con material fotográfico oficial de la era, créditos a Marina Diamandis y al fotógrafo encargado, Casper Balslev. Pueden seguir a Marina en sus redes sociales, su Instagram @marinadiamandis, y su canal oficial de Youtube. Algunos gifs fueron extraídos de Tenor.

All image credits I attached in the post, some photos were taken from the official Tumblr that was used to promote the era. The banner was made with official photo material of the era, credits to Marina Diamandis and the photographer in charge, Casper Balslev. You can follow Marina on her social media, her Instagram @marinadiamandis, and her official Youtube channel. Some gifs were extracted from Tenor.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center