BORN TO DIE BY LANA DEL REY | ALBUM REVIEW ☁️🚬 [ENG - ESP]

This post is both in English and Spanish, puedes ir directamente al español dando click AQUI


☁️BORN TO DIE☁️

🚬ALBUM REVIEW🚬


A warm greeting and a big hug, friends of Hive.

Today I come with a music review, which I am very excited to share, it is nothing more and nothing less than the album that changed the music industry, one of the most timeless albums brought by a female singer, without a doubt, a jewel and one of my favorite albums. Today I will share with you a review of "Born To Die" by Lana del Rey.


Picsart_22-09-15_19-33-03-591.png


I was lying down, browsing spotify trying to find something that would completely shake me up, an album that, song after song, would send chills down my spine, and there I saw it. The glorious album cover that would make one of my favorite artists in the industry famous. Instantly, everything clicked in my head, it was like "You should do a review of this amazing album to share on Hive!". Said as done, I got to work grabbed my headphones and laptop, but just before I started listening to the album, I thought "How about a cafecito?" so, I didn't wait a moment longer and made my steaming cup of coffee, ready to listen to the album.

Before we start, you should know that Born To Die is one of the albums that has influenced music, especially creating a kind of "Sad Girl" sub-genre that we see in singers like Olivia Rodrigo, Billie Eilish and even Taylor Swift, who have confessed to be big fans of Lana Del Rey. A completely fresh album, powerful ballads and sounds that I could only describe with the word "glorious". I recommend a glass of wine, maybe if you are more daring, a good vodka and your headphones, before joining me in this review of "Born To Die" by Lana Del Rey.


photo_2022-09-15_21-58-07.jpgAlbum cover taken from IMDb



1. Born To Die

Feet don't fail me now
Take me to the finish line.

A glorious sound begins, the orchestra kicks off what you immediately know will be a journey full of majesty. Del Rey begins with her soft vocals and uncharacteristically slow rhythms. The lyrics take us to an unbridled and young love, but I have talked about this song before, when I covered it, which you can see HERE.

Its perfection, its iconicity and the feeling it generates in me, makes me give it a 10 / 10, easily one of my favorites.


untitled.gif


2. Off To The Races

My old man is a bad man
But I can't deny the way he holds my hand.

This is, without a doubt, a pretty interesting song. With Off To The Races we see a different way of singing from Lana, a bit of rapping, a much more passive and finite voice, simply iconic from the start. It conveys sensuality, yet with majesty in the sounds of the production.

Exquisite production, accompanied with Lana Del Rey rapping make this a magnetic number 2 song, it leaves you completely immersed in the album and thirsty for more. I give it an 8.5 / 10, instantly iconic song, seeing it live must be a religious experience.


photo_2022-09-15_17-16-15.jpgTaken from IMDb


3. Blue Jeans

Blue jeans, white shirt
Walked into the room, you know you make my eyes burn.

The beat gets smooth again, but with some interesting sounds that show us a bit of Del Rey's influence on hip-hop. With lines like "I will love you till the end of time" you know this is a wild love song, like the whole album, riddled with youthful, rushed, but very passionate love.

I immediately knew this song would be timeless upon hearing the iconic "love you more than those bitches before". It immediately gets a well-deserved 9 / 10, with all its sensuality and a video that is simply a work of art.



4. Video Games

Open up a beer
And you say: Come over here and play a video game.

We are on song number 4 and we are presented with one of the best ballads of the singer's entire career, a romantic song that evokes love from start to finish, with lines like "Heaven is a place on earth with you". A production that sounds simply magnificent, it makes me want to be in love, to be able to dedicate this song simply sounds like the idea of love.

I've listened to it so many times, I've intentionally burned its words into my brain and it's something I don't regret, this, to me, is a resounding 10 / 10 in Lana's career.


untitled.gif


5. Diet Mountain Dew

You're no good for me
But baby, I want you.

With a big influence by hip-hop, we see how Del Rey offers us great variety in terms of her style, not wanting to stay only in ballads, a fast and sensual song, but it's not much more than a filler, from my point of view.

Perhaps my least favorite song on the whole album, in all the years I've listened to it I've simply never made a connection with this song. I find it hard to rate it, because it's not a bad song, I just don't feel it's up to the level of the others on the album, so I'll simply give it a 6 / 10.



6. National Anthem

Money is the anthem of success.
So before we go out
What's your address?

With an orchestral sound and fireworks in the background, we are presented with one of the best produced singles in Lana Del Rey's career. A love interest, with strong hip-hop influences, Lana brings us a more pretentious side of her, almost like unattainable, we notice it, for example, when she says "Money is the reason we exist, everybody knows it, it's a fact, kiss, kiss".

It was always one of the best on the album in my opinion, it has many layers, both in lyrics and in its production, and it's quite a plus if you watch the video, where it starts with a tribute to Marilyn Monroe, and ends with a beautiful love monologue. A 8 / 10 to this beautiful song that makes you want to listen to more and more of Lana.


photo_2022-09-15_17-58-05.jpgTaken from IMDb


7. Dark Paradise

All my friends tell me I should move on.
I'm lying in the ocean singing your song
.

A song to cry without a doubt, from its lyrics to the rhythm it brings and the feeling that invades you. There are no words to describe the sorrow I felt when I first read the lyrics, how sad love can be. From my point of view, the song is dedicated to someone you love immensely who died.

When the pre-chorus comes and Lana says in a heartbreaking tone "But I wish I was dead" it immediately triggers a feeling of sadness in you. However, it is one of the most praised songs of Lana's entire career, it is poetry made music, I can only give it a 10 / 10, even at the time, it became my most played song.


untitled.gif


8. Radio

Not even they can stop me now.
Boy, I've been flying overhead.

In this song, we see a slightly more famous side of Lana, where she talks about how life has gotten easier for her since "sounding on the radio". There's not much to comment on this song, as it feels a bit of filler, or at least it does for me after listening to Dark Paradise.

It's not my favorite, however, I don't pass on it and listen to it from time to time, as I like it. I give it a score of 7.5 / 10, not that high because it doesn't quite reach songs like Video Games and Born to die, but it deserves more than Diet Mountain Dew.



9. Carmen

Lying to herself
Cause her liquor is top shelf
.

Undoubtedly one of the most interesting songs on this album, both lyrically and sonically. In the lyrics, Del Rey tells us about Carmen, a young woman with a life that is quite daring, wild and full of dangers. Its sounds, like the rest of the album, are quite slow, but with beautiful sounds and a piano that makes the production magnificent. "The boys, the girls, they all like Carmen", a magnetic girl but with drug problems and overexposed to the adult world at an early age.

I think one of the best parts of this song is come the bridge, with a beautiful voice that speaks to you in French until returning to the chorus one last time, a tremendous work of art that deserves a 9 / 10.


photo_2022-09-15_21-54-13.jpgTaken from IMDb


10. Million Dollar Man

You said I was the most exotic flower,
holding me tight in our final hour.

This is perhaps the least popular song on the album, however, it is one of my favorites, especially because of Lana's way of delivering the lines, her voice sounds magical, totally lovely as she sings with a lot of passion. Lyrically it talks about Lana falling in love with a man who seems to be very kind and perfect, but then she realizes he is not who he says he is.

Before, I didn't like this song at all, but over time I grew fond of it, especially because of Lana's voice in the last chorus, it's very majestic. An 8.5 / 10, because I know that in a way, it could be a little bit better to be a 10.



11. Summertime Sadness

Kiss me hard before you go,
Summertime sadness.

One of the most important singles in Del Rey's career, singers like Shawn Mendes and Miley Cyrus have made their own covers of this song, which marked pop culture at the time. Once again a song with a slow rhythm and lyrics that brings a strange feeling of nostalgia.

It is a great piece, immortal because it is still played today. My favorite part of this song is at the bridge, when it says "I think I'll miss you forever, like the stars miss the sun in the morning sky". A definite 10 / 10, a timeless classic.


untitled.gif


12. This Is What Makes Us Girls

Remember how we used to
party up all night.

And here ends our amazing journey, with one of my favorites (I know I've said that about a lot of songs, but it's a very good album). A song dedicated to young women starting to live their adult lives. It exposes serious issues like street harassment, how it affects them and how they must unite among women to survive. A kind of empowerment song as only Lana could, with a submissive tone and 2012 Tumblr aesthetic.

I feel that this song is great and not everyone can appreciate it, for me it's a 8.5 / 10, with a very well done production and a very sensual voice of Lana Del Rey, which leaves you wanting to replay the whole album.


untitled.gif


Final Score


8.8 / 10

From my point of view, which is not that of an expert but that of a music consumer, this album means a lot. It was the birth of a star, it has a cultural impact that is undeniable and that makes it a complete gem that deserves much more recognition. Through the years it will continue to grow because talent always ends up being recognized.

And that was it for this review, a powerful album with a beautiful 8.8 / 10 well deserved. You must remember that this is a personal review, if you get to listen to the whole album and think differently, I will look forward to your comment and see what you have to say. ^^

Thanks for giving me a little bit of your time and for reading my post, don't forget that you can follow me on other social networks, just click on the image below. I send you a big hug and I hope to read you soon.


Picsart_22-09-13_14-34-30-746.jpg


Español


☁️BORN TO DIE☁️

🚬RESEÑA DE ÁLBUM🚬


Un cálido saludo y un fuerte abrazo, amigos de Hive.

El día de hoy vengo con una reseña musical, de la cual estoy muy emocionado por compartir, se trata ni más ni menos que el álbum que cambió la industria musical, uno de los álbumes más atemporales traídos por una cantante femenina, sin duda alguna, una joya y de mis álbumes favoritos. Hoy compartiré con ustedes una reseña de “Born To Die” de Lana del Rey.


Picsart_22-09-15_19-32-27-094.png


Estaba acostado, navegando por spotify tratando de encontrar algo que me sacudiera por completo, un álbum que, canción tras canción, me provocara escalofríos, y ahí lo vi. La gloriosa portada del álbum que haría famosa a una de mis artistas favoritas de la industria. Al momento, todo hizo click en mi cabeza, fue como “¡Deberías hacer una reseña de este álbum tan maravilloso para compartirlo en Hive!”. Dicho como hecho, me puse manos a la obra tomé mis audífonos y la laptop, pero justo antes de comenzar a escuchar el álbum, pensé “¿Qué tal un cafecito?” así que, no esperé un momento más y me hice mi humeante taza de café, listo para escuchar el álbum.

Antes de empezar, deben saber que Born To Die es uno de los álbumes que ha influenciado la música, en especial creando una clase de sub-género de “Sad Girl” que vemos en cantantes como Olivia Rodrigo, Billie Eilish e incluso Taylor Swift, quienes han confesado ser grandes fan de Lana Del Rey. Un álbum completamente fresco, poderosas baladas y sonidos que solo podría describir con la palabra “gloriosos”. Te recomiendo una copa de vino, quizá si eres más atrevido, un buen vodka y tus audífonos, antes de unirte a mí en esta reseña de ”Born To Die” por Lana Del Rey.


photo_2022-09-15_21-58-07.jpgPortada del álbum tomada de IMDb



1. Born To Die

Pies no me fallen ahora
Llévenme a la línea final.

Empieza un sonido glorioso, las orquesta da inicio a lo que, de inmediato sabes, será todo un viaje lleno de majestuosidad. Del Rey empieza con su suave voz y a su vez, poco común, ritmos lentos. La letra nos lleva a un amor desenfrenado y joven, pero de esta canción he hablado antes, cuando hice su cover, el cual pueden ver AQUÍ.

Su perfección, su iconicidad y el sentimiento que genera en mí, me hace darle un 10 / 10, fácilmente una de las favoritas.


untitled.gif


2. Off To The Races

Mi viejo es un hombre malo
Pero no puedo negar la forma en que sostiene mi mano.

Esta es, sin duda, una canción bastante interesante. Con Off To The Races vemos una manera distinta de cantar de Lana, un poco de rap, una voz mucho más pasiva y finita, simplemente icónico desde el principio. Transmite sensualidad, aún con majestuosidad en los sonidos de la producción.

Una producción exquisita, acompañada con Lana Del Rey Rapeando hacen de esta, una magnética canción numero 2, te deja por completo inmerso en el álbum y sediento de más. Le doy un 8.5 / 10, instantáneamente icónica canción, verla en vivo debe ser una experiencia religiosa.


photo_2022-09-15_17-16-15.jpgTomada de IMDb


3. Blue Jeans

Vaqueros azules, camisa blanca
Caminas en la habitación, sabes que haces mis ojos arder

El ritmo se vuelve suave de nuevo, pero con unos sonidos interesantes que nos muestran un poco de la influencia de Del Rey en el hip-hop. Con líneas como "Te amaré hasta el final de los tiempos" sabes que se trata de una canción de un amor salvaje, como todo el álbum, plagado de amor juvenil y apresurado, pero muy pasional.

De inmediato supe que esta canción sería atemporal al escuchar el icónico "Te amo más que lo que te quisieron esas perras". Se lleva de inmediato un 9 / 10 bien merecido, con toda su sensualidad y un video que es simplemente una obra de arte.



4. Video Games

Abres una cerveza
Y dices: Ven aquí y juego un videojuego

Estamos en la canción número 4 y se nos presenta una de las mejores baladas de toda la carrera de la cantante, una romántica canción que evoca amor desde inicio a fin, con líneas como "El cielo es un lugar en la tierra contigo". Una producción que suena simplemente magnífica, me hace querer estar enamorado, poder dedicar esta canción suena simplemente a la idea de amor.

La he escuchado tantas veces, he grabado intencionalmente sus palabras en mi cerebro y es algo de lo que no me arrepiento, esta, para mí, es un rotundo 10 / 10 en la carrera de Lana.


untitled.gif


5. Diet Mountain Dew

No eres bueno para mí
Pero nene, te quiero.

Con una gran influencia por el hip-hop, vemos como Del Rey nos ofrece gran variedad en cuanto a su estilo, sin querer quedarse solo en baladas, una canción rápida y sensual, pero no es mucho más que un relleno, desde mi punto de vista.

Quizá mi canción menos preferida de todo el álbum, en todos los años que la he escuchado simplemente nunca he hecho conexión con esta canción. Puntuarla me resulta difícil, porque no es una mala canción, simplemente no siento que esté al nivel de las demás del álbum, así que sencillamente le daré un 6 / 10.



6. National Anthem

El dinero es el himno del éxito
Así que antes de que salgamos
¿Cuál es tu dirección?

Con un sonido orquestal y de fondo unos fuegos artificiales, se nos presenta uno de los sencillos con mejor producción en la carrera de Lana Del Rey. Un amor interesado, con fuertes influencias de hip-hop, Lana nos trae un lado más pretencioso de ella, casi como inalcanzable, lo notamos, por ejemplo, cuando ella dice "El dinero es la razón por la que existimos, todo el mundo lo sabe, es un hecho, beso, beso".

Siempre fue una de las mejores del álbum en mi opinión, tiene muchas capas, tanto en letras como en su producción, y es todo un plus si ves el vídeo, donde empieza con un tributo a Marilyn Monroe, y termina con un hermoso monólogo de amor. Un 8 / 10 a esta hermosa canción que te hace querer escuchar más y más de Lana.


photo_2022-09-15_17-58-05.jpgTomada de IMDb


7. Dark Paradise

Todos mis amigos me dicen que debería avanzar
Estoy acostada el océano cantando tu canción.

Una canción para llorar sin duda alguna, desde sus letras hasta el ritmo que trae y la sensación que te invade. No hay palabras para describir el pesar que sentí cuando leí la letra por primera vez, lo triste que puede llegar a ser el amor. Desde mi punto de vista, la canción va dedicada a alguien que amas inmensamente y que murió.

Cuando llega el pre-coro y Lana dice en un tono desgarrador "Pero desearía estar muerta" de inmediato te provoca un sentimiento de tristeza. Sin embargo, es una de las canciones más alabadas de toda la carrera de Lana, es poesía hecha música, no puedo más que solo darle un 10 / 10, incluso en su momento, llegó a ser mi canción más reproducida.


untitled.gif


8. Radio

Ni siquiera ellos pueden detenerme ahora
Chico, he estado volando alto.

En esta canción, vemos una faceta de Lana un poco más famosa, donde habla de como la vida se le ha hecho más fácil desde que "suena en la radio". No hay mucho que comentar de esta canción, ya que se siente un poco de relleno, o al menos es así para mí luego de escuchar Dark Paradise.

No es mi favorita, sin embargo, no la paso y la escucho de vez en cuando, ya que me gusta. Le doy una puntuación de 7.5 / 10, no tan alta porque no le llega a canciones como Video Games y Born to die, pero merece más que Diet Mountain Dew.



9. Carmen

Mintiéndose a sí misma
Por su licor de alta calidad.

Sin duda alguna, una de las canciones más interesantes de este álbum, tanto líricamente como sus sonidos. En la letra, Del Rey nos habla de Carmen, una jóven con una vida bastante atrevida, salvaje y llena de peligros. Sus sonidos, al igual que el resto del álbum, es bastante lento, pero con sonidos hermosos y un piano que hace magnífica la producción. "Los chicos, las chicas, a todos les gusta Carmen", una chica magnética pero con problemas de drogas y sobre expuesta al mundo adulto a temprana edad.

Creo que una de las mejores partes de esta canción es llegado el puente, con una hermosa voz que te habla en francés hasta volver al coro una última vez, una tremenda obra de arte que merece un 9 / 10.


photo_2022-09-15_21-54-13.jpgTomada de IMDb


10. Million Dollar Man

Tú decías que yo era la flor más exótica,
mientras me abrazabas con fuerza en nuestra hora final.

Esta es quizá la canción menos popular del álbum, sin embargo, es de mis favoritas, en especial por la manera de Lana de entregar las líneas, su voz suena mágica, totalmente adorable mientras canta con mucha pasión. Líricamente habla de Lana enamorándose de un hombre que parece ser muy amable y perfecto, pero luego se da cuenta que no es quien dice ser.

Antes, no me gustaba para nada esta canción, pero con el tiempo le agarré cariño, sobre todo por la voz de Lana en el último coro, es muy majestuosa. Un 8.5 / 10, porque sé que de cierto modo, pudiera ser un poquito mejor para ser el 10.



11. Summertime Sadness

Bésame fuerte antes de irte,
Tristeza de verano.

Uno de los sencillos más importantes en la carrera Del Rey, cantantes como Shawn Mendes y Miley Cyrus han hecho sus propios covers de esta canción, que marcó en su momento a la cultura pop. Una vez más una canción con un ritmo lento y letra que trae un extraño sentimiento de nostalgia.

Es una grandísima pieza, inmortal porque hasta en la actualidad sigue sonando. Mi parte favorita de esta canción es llegado el puente, cuando dice "Creo que te extrañaré por siempre, como las estrellas extrañan al sol en el cielo de la mañana". Un definitivo 10 / 10, un clásico atemporal.


untitled.gif


12. This Is What Makes Us Girls

Recuerdas como solíamos
salir de fiesta todas las noches.

Y aquí termina nuestro asombroso viaje, con una de mis favoritas (sé que he dicho eso de muchas canciones, pero es muy buen álbum). Una canción dedicada a las mujeres jóvenes que empiezan a vivir su vida de adultas. Expone temas serios como acoso callejero, como las afecta y como deben unirse entre mujeres para sobrevivir. Una clase de canción de empoderamiento como solo Lana podría, con un tono sumiso y con estética de Tumblr del 2012.

Siento que esta canción es buenísima y no todos logran apreciarlo, para mí es un 8.5 / 10, con una producción muy bien lograda y una voz muy sensual de Lana Del Rey, que te deja con ganas de volver a reproducir el álbum completo.


untitled.gif


Puntaje Final


8.8 / 10

Desde mi punto de vista, que no es el de un experto sino el de un consumidor de música, este álbum significa mucho. Fue el nacer de una estrella, tiene un impacto a nivel cultural que es innegable y eso lo hace una completa joya que merece mucho más reconocimiento. A través de los años seguirá creciendo porque el talento siempre termina siendo reconocido

Y eso fue todo por esta reseña, un poderoso álbum con un hermoso 8.8 / 10 bien merecido. Deben recordar que esta es una crítica personal, si ustedes llegan a escuchar todo el álbum y opinan distinto, esperaré con ansias su comentario y ver que tienen por decir. ^^

Gracias por regalarme un poco de su tiempo y haber leído mi post, no olviden que pueden seguirme en otras redes sociales, solo deben dar click en la imagen de abajo. Les mando un fuerte abrazo y espero leerlos pronto.


Picsart_22-09-13_14-34-30-746.jpg


💕CRÉDITOS💕


Todo el material gráfico que usé en este post fue tomado por mí o extraído del Youtube oficial de sus respectivos dueños. Los respectivos créditos se encuentran en el post, en su mayoría tomadas de IMDb. La mayoría de gifs fueron extraídos de Tenor.

All the graphic material I used in this post was taken by me or extracted from the official Youtube of their respective owners. The respective credits can be found in the post, mostly taken from IMDb. Almost all the gifs were extracted from Tenor.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center