My Actifit Report Card: 13th July '23 & clean your city effort

Hi there lovely #cleanplanet & #actifit community,

I hope, this post finds you well. Yesterday, I set out with a sense of adventure, determined to explore more of the beautiful city of Solingen during my morning cycling excursion. However, the day turned out to be a mix of highs and lows, leaving me both exhilarated and a bit frustrated by the end of it.

Before venturing further, I made it a point to check the stairs behind the local soccer field for any debris. Fortunately, luck was on my side, as there was none to impede my progress. Encouraged by this small victory, I continued my ride towards the city center of Solingen, eager to discover new sights and experiences. But later at the city park, I found a couple of cigarette butts, which I disposed accordingly.

Pushing forward, I decided to extend my route and head towards the small village of Witzhelden.

However, the lack of sufficient sleep from the previous night began to take its toll, leaving me increasingly fatigued. Recognizing my limits, I made the tough decision to cancel my plans and turn back towards home. It was a reminder that sometimes, self-care and knowing when to rest are essential for our own well-being.

Retracing my path, I chose to take a different route on the backside of the city. Seeking solace and a moment of respite, I stopped at a park behind the court yard, ready to refuel with my trusty peanut butter and jelly sandwich. The tranquility of the surroundings provided a much-needed break from the physical exertion and frustrations of the journey.

As I resumed my ride, this time on the streets leading back home, I encountered an unfortunate series of events that left me deeply angered and disappointed. Not once, but twice, I narrowly escaped being hit by careless car drivers. Their reckless overtaking maneuver left me shaken and vulnerable, as they failed to provide the necessary space for safe cycling. It was a stark reminder of the risks faced by cyclists on the road, particularly during the early morning hours.

It is disheartening to witness the disregard some drivers display towards vulnerable road users. At 6:30 a.m., the streets should be a haven for those seeking a healthy and sustainable mode of transportation. However, the unfortunate actions of a few individuals cast a shadow on an otherwise promising morning.

While these incidents ignited anger within me, they also fueled a determination to raise awareness about the importance of road safety and respect for cyclists. It is crucial for both cyclists and motorists to share the roads harmoniously, with mutual consideration and understanding. Education and advocacy are key in fostering a safer environment for all road users.

Yesterday's cycling expedition may have presented its fair share of frustrations, but it also served as a reminder of the resilience that lies within us. Despite the setbacks, I remained committed to my passion for exploration and the pursuit of a healthier lifestyle. As I reflect on the day, I am grateful for the lessons learned and the opportunity to advocate for safer roads.

As we navigate our daily journeys, let us strive to foster a culture of respect and mindfulness on the roads. Together, we can create a safer and more enjoyable environment for all, where cyclists and motorists coexist harmoniously.

Special thanks to:
@solarisfuture
@cleanplanet
@resonator
@actifit
@ahmadmangazap
(creator of my new awesome profil pic & signature)


Til the next 🚲.


with best wishes



This report was published via Actifit app (Android | iOS). Check out the original version here on actifit.io


13/07/2023
15400
Daily Activity,Cycling

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency