My Actifit Report Card: October 14 2023

Hey Actifitters,

Yesterday was a bit different. No photos of the yard, the forest, Kaia and Le Chat clowning around, etc. Of course, we did have a few walks in the yard with Kaia, including a very early one because she apparently couldn't wait and luckily woke me up in time. But it was heavy rain all night and most of the day, not good for photos. I was disappointed because since I was going to Detroit to pick up my half marathon packet, I was planning to use the opportunity to walk around the city. I realized I hadn't done that since April when my friends were visiting from France. But, lucky break, the rain stopped just as I parked! I guess it was a good thing I had to drive around a while to find a spot. I first walked to the Expo to be done with the packet pick up. Several cool buildings on the way.

Lots of people picking up their packet as well. All competitions combined, it's over 15000 people participating in the Detroit marathon week end!

I got my packet quickly and could start walking around, without real destination in mind. I started at the riverfront as it's right there at the exit of the conference center. I could see the bridge we cross to get on the Canadian side during the race.

And right there on the other side, it's Canada!

I'm not lying, check out the giant flag next to that big ship.

It was cloudy but I think it looks cool on the panoramic view.

I only used the people mover a few times since I live in the area, and many years ago. But I always liked the way it looks, especially with the GM building in the background.

I've always wondered what this boat really is. I think they do dinner cruises, but I've never seen it moving, so I'm not sure.

These statues about the Underground Railroad mean we get close to Hart Plaza.

But clearly they're rebuilding something there at the Plaza center.

Many many years ago, I saw a few concerts in this sort of amphitheater, but I have no idea if it's still used.

I don't really know the meaning of this monument, but I think its weirdness goes well with the Scientology building just behind it.

And from there, the first good views of the iconic GM building.

Another couple of other iconic art pieces. Again I don't know their meaning, if they even have one, but I just like them.

That orange/brownish Guardian building is one of my favorites but I don't really care for that more modern one just in front of it.

Very different of course, but I also like these small, narrow, kind of mysterious streets.

I don't know how I never noticed this bar, or at least I didn't remember it. But when I saw it, I knew I had to look it up and see if it was still open. And it is! That front looks like my kind of bar! Now it's for sure on my list of places to try.

A little bit further North is in my opinion the best view on the GM building.

I know it's a bit contradictory with what I said about the Guardian building, but something I like in Detroit is the mix of styles. Too bad the parking structure joins the mix on this one.

When I got back to my car, I realized I was actually just next to the opera house.

And couple minutes from a view on Comerica Park, home of the Tigers.

I could walk around the city for ever, but unfortunately for this time I couldn't stay any longer. It was a very nice walk though. I know Detroit often gets a bad rap, but I think it's a beautiful city, and I should really visit more often. As for the half marathon, details about in my report tomorrow.
As always, thanks for stopping by!


This report was published via Actifit app (Android | iOS). Check out the original version here on actifit.io


14/10/2023
21955
Daily Activity, Walking

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
32 Comments