Friday's Trek. Up in the Woods

We went for a short walk on Friday morning to stretch some muscles. The husband teased I've been turning a bit lazier these days so it's high time we get active by going up into the woods. He didn't know I've attempted a mid-day stroll up there on Wednesday when he was away.



Anyway, we walked slowly for a warm up while we discussed some plans for the day. We reached the spot where I turned around on my Wednesday walk which I unfortunately wasn't able to post. While there, I was lamenting about the trees that had been cut down. This was the place where I found and photographed what I called "nature's chandeliers" about two years ago and I loved going there during the rainy season because it's when they usually bloom. I was truly sad knowing that I won't be seeing them again.


It's a private property so we can't do a thing, or can we?

We kept on with the hike and took the trail towards the right. Going left would make us pass by a creek but we thought it will be cold so maybe next time? We got a glimpse of the sunlight reaching the valley and is coming right up. In fact, it has already shone on the trees along the trail.


The track has gone narrower in that section of the mountain. And it felt like we were walking on an aisle of flowers with both sides lined up with blooming summer weeds.


I was reminded of a post here on Hive about pine needles being good as herbal tea when I saw these bunch. Some morning dew still hangin' on them.



The post mentioned the pine needles with at least 5 strands are the best. On checking, our trees have only 3. Does it mean they can't be good? I have no idea, really. Will have to check on that.



Also seen some fallen pine cones and more trees have been cut there. It made us wonder why they took them down when they are still young and they can't even be used as timber.



We sighed at the sight of those trees lying around as we continued with our adventure. And we noticed this odd tree as we trekked up.



It's been a long time since we last gone to that route and the trail is becoming a little more tricky as we climbed up. Some areas can make the legs really shaky especially when looking down but then, there are other things that distract you like the little yellow wildflower below.



We trekked up a bit more, stepping on some tree roots that had become part of the track.


There are some more trees up, very tall ones and their lower branches have been pruned probably many years back.


We rested a bit under them to catch our breath and enjoy the scenery around. The sunshine was already warm to our heads, it was good! And just when we were about to move farther away, I looked up and noticed something interesting. Did you see it too?



This is my kind of walk, one of those that I appreciate and enjoy the most. Aside from reconnecting with mama nature, the husband and I also get to talk about a lot of things, tease each other and have fun along the way. And while others might want paved, cemented, flat and clear paths to walk on, our legs on the other hand prefer these off the beaten tracks, messy, mixed up terrains that challenge the calf muscles. To be honest, I tend to get exhausted quickly when walking on flat trails especially when there are not many greens around.

Note: Our walk didn't end here but I may share the continuation at another time for this post gone quite longer than intended :)

That's all for today and cheers to the weekend!



This report was published via Actifit app (Android | iOS). Check out the original version here on actifit.io


18/03/2023
10236
Hiking, Walking

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now