Yard Work for 6k Worth of Steps

Yard Work For 6k Worth Of Steps.jpg

Yard Work for 6k Worth of Steps


Hey Guys,

Today was once again just a garden day. Due to my back problems a few weeks ago and a lot of work outside of the garden, my green paradise has almost turned into a green hell. In the past few days, I have felt like I was in the jungle.
That's why my first stop was the tool shed to get the lawnmower out.
Unfortunately, I only have a corded lawnmower, and I always run the risk of running over the cord and execute myself. Next year, I will finally get a battery-powered lawnmower. I prefer the one from Makita. In my opinion, Makita has the best tools, and an easy exchange of batteries for all tools is simply great.

heute war wieder einmal nur ein Gartentag. Wegen meiner Rückenprobleme vor ein paar Wochen und ziemlich viel Arbeit außerhalb des Gartens, hat sich mein kleines grünes Paradies in eine grüne Hölle verwandelt. In den letzten Tagen habe ich mich wie im Dschungel gefühlt.

Deswegen war mein erster Gang zum Werkzeugschuppen, um den Rasenmäher herauszuholen.
Leider habe ich nur einen Kabelrasenmäher, bei dem ich immer Gefahr laufe, über das Kabel zu fahren. Für das nächste Jahr schaffe ich mir endlich einen Akku-Rasenmäher an. Am liebsten von Makita. Makita hat meiner Meinung nach die besten Werkzeuge und der leichte Austausch der Akkus für alle Werkzeuge ist einfach klasse.

20230713_083817.jpg

20230713_083811.jpg

20230713_085918.jpg

You can see how overrun the lawn is with weeds in the photos. I neglected it in the first few years and didn't mow it often enough. Countless weeds, especially bindweed and dandelions, have taken over from the adjacent flower beds. I will probably do a complete overhaul and reseed the lawn in the fall.

Auf den Fotos sieht man, wie durchzogen der Rasen mit Unkraut ist. Ich habe ihn in den ersten Jahren ziemlich vernachlässigt und auch zu selten gemäht. Von den angrenzenden Beeten haben sich zig Unkräuter, vor allem Winde und Pusteblumen eingenistet. Wahrscheinlich werd ich im Herbst einen Radikalschnitt machen und ihn neu säen.

Task two was weeding and watering the flowers. The plants in the polytunnel are developing wonderfully. Tomato plants already have nicely formed fruits; they just need to ripen and turn red.
I harvest zucchinis every other day now, and the pumpkins will be ready in two weeks, so not all is bad and stressful.
My apple tree produced way fewer apples this year, but the ones that are there taste delicious.

Aufgabe zwei war Unkraut jäten und Blumen gießen. Der Folientunnel entwickelt sich wunderbar. Die Tomaten haben bereits schön ausgebildete Früchte. Sie müssen nur noch rot werden.
Zucchinis ernte ich mittlerweile jeden zweiten Tag und die Kürbisse sind in zwei Wochen dran.

Die Klaräpfel sind in diesem Jahr etwas rarer gesät, aber die, die da sind, schmecken lecker.

20230713_090854.jpg

20230713_090903.jpg

20230713_090916.jpg

20230713_092028.jpg

20230713_092043.jpg

Those beds where I didn't plant any vegetables are overflowing with weeds. Today, I borrowed an electric plow from my neighbor, which hopefully will help me thoroughly dig over the large bed tomorrow, destroying most of the persistent roots of bindweed and other weeds, and preparing the bed for green manure. Then, I can finally tend to other tasks in the garden, such as redoing the pathways around the house. I had to cover everything and pull out the weeds because vegetation was sprouting through every crack.

Die Beete, in denen ich kein Gemüse gepflanzt habe, quellen über vor Unkraut.
Ich habe von meinem Nachbarn heute einen Elektropflug ausgeliehen, der mir morgen hoffentlich hilft, das große Beet einmal tiefgründig umzupflügen, die meisten hochaktiven Wurzeln von Winde und Co. zu zerstören und das Beet für die Gründüngung vorzubereiten. Dann kann ich mich endlich wieder um ein paar andere Aufgaben im Garten kümmern, wie die Gehwege um das Haus neu zu legen. Auch da musste ich einmal alles abdecken und das Unkraut rausziehen, weil durch jede Ritze Grünzeug spross.

Unfortunately, after three hours in the garden, I didn't have the time, and honestly the energy left to do anything for more Actifit steps. However, I was pleasantly surprised when I saw over 6k steps on the display when I looked at the App. I kept my phone on me the entire time whilst I was gardening, and apparently, the natural movements and vibrations during this work were enough, which I think is great.
It was definitely a sweat-inducing experience but in the end, I was content with myself.

Leider hatte ich nach den drei Stunden im Garten keine Zeit und ehrlich gesagt auch keine Kraft mehr, etwas für die Ausdauer und die Actifit Steps zu tun, aber ich war positiv überrascht, als ich auf dem Display über 6k Schritte vernahm. Ich hatte mein Handy extra die ganze Zeit während der Gartenarbeit am Körper und die natürlichen Erschütterungen bei der Arbeit haben scheinbar ausgereicht, was ich super finde.

Schweißtreibend war es allemal.

20230712_113024.jpg

20230712_113028.jpg

Once I arrived home, the first thing I did was take a shower, and then I replenished the calories I had burned with a healthy meal before I started working on some writing.
All in all, it was a good day for losing some weight and getting in shape.
Tomorrow, I'll continue with a short bike ride. I'm trying to get back to my old routine of cycling 50 to 60 kilometers and hopefully reach the milestone of 100 kilometers this summer. That should definitely help me achieve my goal of reaching the Top 500 :o).
I hope you all had a lovely and successful day in nature as well. We'll talk again tomorrow.

Zu Hause angekommen ging es erst einmal unter die Dusche und dann wurden die abgearbeiteten Kalorien mit einer gesunden Mahlzeit wieder reingeschaufelt, während es an die Schreibarbeit ging.

Alles in allem ein guter Tag für die Fitness. Morgen geht es mit einer kleinen Fahrradtour weiter.
Ich versuche mich wieder an die alten Zeiten mit 50 bis 60 Kilometern heranzupirschen und irgendwann in diesem Sommer die 100 Kilometer mit dem Rad zu knacken. Das sollte meinem Ziel, die Top500 zu erreichen jedenfalls helfen :o).

Ich hoffe, ihr hattet auch einen schönen und erfolgreichen Tag in der Natur. Wir lesen uns morgen wieder.



13/07/2023
6517
Yard Work

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
15 Comments