Heading Home -- Actifit Report Card: September 28, 2024

I started Saturday still out at the rave under the K Bridge in Brooklyn. Alison Wonderland was celebrating her birthday while spinning the last set of the night from 12.30am to 2am. Representing for NYC, she was wearing an S. Carter Roca Fella jersey styled like the NY Knicks. Sean Carter is Jay-Z's government name fyi.

I convinced my partner to walk to the local diner for a nice late night meal before catching an Uber home. My dish hit the spot, French Toast with 2 eggs and bacon + ham. The French toast was perfect with a nice moistness from the eggs batter and topped with plenty of cinnamon and sugar. I would gladly come back to this spot!

I got up early to help clean the apartment a little bit before taking the train up to Westchester to spend the weekend hanging with my mom in the recovery room after her open heart surgery. It is always a treat to take the Metro-North train home via Grand Central Station, which is one of the great American train stations. The ceiling bears a famous astrological mural with some small skylights to allow in sunlight where the stars would be!

My mom was in good spirits for someone who just had their sternum cracked open. She was still very sore and had some trouble keeping her breath due to her inability to take deep breaths. But thank goodness the surgery to repair her heart valve was a success, and now she is on the mend. Hopefully, she will be allowed home on Tuesday!

I got plenty of steps in on my commute up to White Plains, especially the 15-minute walk from the train station to the hospital. I got in a few more steps later that night when I visited some friends who recently moved to New Rochelle.

It is wild to see how much the city has changed, walking around North Avenue, I can barely recognize it anymore. So much of the main drag has been revitalized and revamped by the local Jesuit school, Iona College. No more trashy dive bars or gritty pizza parlors. Now everything is flashy new construction and big bold gourmet flavors. Time to explore all the changes. Until next time...
This report was published via Actifit app (Android | iOS). Check out the original version here on actifit.io


28/09/2024
17158
Daily Activity, Dancing, Walking

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now