My Actifit RC: May12th 23 - Alive sightseeing in Naples is back, 1st stage - IAAC #345

A dear greeting to all lovers of physical activities that populate the mythical community of Actifit.

The brilliant rays of the sun already warm a morning that seems uncertain but#Alive. A friend of mine who lives in Procida, an island in the middle of the Gulf of Naples, warns me that bad storms are coming towards Naples.

But I have to go down to the dentist, appointment, which now fills almost every Friday of my month. I don’t have to do much on foot but from the roar of distant thunder I understand that this would not have been a good morning and that you said hurry to reach the studio.

After lunch while I go down to pick up my parcel from the doorman I realize that the weather is significantly improved and consulting the weather maps I establish that I can also go down to Naples.

Today I take you with me to the beautiful historic center of Naples to photodocument some points where I have never been before. First of all, however, we get off the bus in Piazza Garibaldi and take the Metro 1 direction University.

Arrived in Piazza Borsa it’s time to take a break to celebrate the #iamalivechallenge 345. And for this we must also thank Heaven who sent us a fantastic sunny afternoon.

Behind the building of the Stock Exchange of Naples there is a staircase, that of Santa Barbara, which is a narrow and dark shortcut that takes us inside the old historic center of Naples and arrives in the square where there is the Basilica of San Giovanni Maggiore.

So, I said to myself, why not go inside and visit this magnificent church that already promised promise good from the entrance? So I immediately broke the delay and I entered through this side door and I found myself in front of a charming baroque show that had nothing to envy to other churches in the place.

Since the wonderful altar had visible the back tuff wall I understood that this church had been rebuilt. In fact, it is a building particularly fragile to earthquakes, because of which it has been rebuilt several times.

Very beautiful the Christ on the Cross by Lorenzo Vaccaro, multifaceted artist of Torre del Greco, very prolific in creating works for the various Neapolitan churches to which he provided magnificent creations of remarkable artistic quality.

Behind the main entrance door there is a huge fresco with the Baptist preaching, a work created by a minor Neapolitan artist who, however, shows remarkable accomplishments.

The ceiling has a double dome made by Dionisio Lazzari and it is a shame that I cut one in half. Then when I return to the area I will update this post with a more 'decent photo.

The construction of the church took place in Roman times, three or four centuries after Christ while the current Baroque aspect was assumed between 1600 and 1700.

Outside the entrance door of the church I found myself on a staircase and I continued on my historic journey into the past of the Neapolitan Decumani.

Among the many populations that have colonized Naples there were also the Egyptians and this beautiful statue, which is a little hidden in via "San Biagio dei librai" represents the statue of the God of the Nile who celebrated a large Egyptian colony settled in this area around the third century after Christ.

Resumed my way back home I routed through the alleys and alleys of the historic center in an attempt to exit to one of the most beautiful ancient gates of Naples or The door of San Gennaro.

In the back there is the bust of San Gaetano and you can admire it cheered by many festoons of the recent celebrations of the victory of the football championship by Napoli SSC.

This door is so called because at the time of construction from here started the road that led to the catacombs of San Gennaro, the patron saint of the city, martyr of the persecution of the Romans.

Remarkable is the fresco dedicated to the people affected by the epidemics of plague that plagued the city.

And here ends my long day in the alleys and finally I would like to thank all my friends from the tribe of #Alive and all the new friends who happened between the lines of my stories for reading my thoughts and see you at the next #actifit report.
This report was published via Actifit app (Android | iOS). Check out the original version here on actifit.io


12/05/2023
12226
Walking
Height
175 cm
Weight
95 kg
Body Fat
%
Waist
cm
Thighs
cm
Chest
cm

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
24 Comments
Ecency