A Day of Walks and a Lesson in Hydration

Today was one of those days where my legs were on fire, but my hydration game was a bit off. I set out with a 5km morning walk that had the early sun reflecting beautifully off the canal. Feeling pumped, I added another 5km during my lunch break. The afternoon heat was creeping in, but the scenery was too gorgeous to miss. Trees lining the water, fluffy clouds—just the kind of thing that makes you appreciate the small stuff.

By the time work wrapped up, I thought, “Why not push it?” So, I hit the canal again for a high-paced 8km trek. Here’s where the rookie mistake happened. I was so focused on clocking those kilometers that I forgot to stay properly hydrated. By the time I got home, I was parched and ravenous. I downed water and, in a fit of poor judgment, grabbed some sugary candy. Let’s just say my stomach wasn’t too thrilled with my choices, and I ended up needing a solid hour to recover.

Lesson learned: No matter how gorgeous the walk or how determined you are, hydration is key. And maybe keep the candy to a minimum!

Despite the hiccup, today’s walks were a reminder of how refreshing and energizing a good stroll in nature can be. Here’s to better prep and more scenic routes ahead!

Shot with iPhone 14 Pro Max, edit with Adobe LR using my own presets (you can get them too soon!).
All photos are taken by me. If you want to know more, head to beheydt.be/en/photography or shor.by/BjB for more info.

Check out https://shor.by/BBphoto to see all the gear I’m using

Feel free to follow me on Instagram too! instagram.com/bjornbeheydt

Join me in my steps on:

Coin | Sweat | Step’n | Actifit
This report was published via Actifit app (Android | iOS). Check out the original version here on actifit.io


18/07/2024
25409
Hiking,Walking

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center