Snail Painting with Gouache step by step ๐Ÿ˜Š

Hi all ๐Ÿ˜Š

I wanted to show you my Gouache Painting of a Snail and some steps of it.
Title: โ€Here I Amโ€
img_1213a_tekst.jpg

The snail is a gouache painting I finished in 2012 and one of my earlier Artworks. I started my art in 2011.

~The Dimensions are 19 x 25 cm / 7.5 x 9.8 inch
~Underground is a museum quality mount-board.
~Gouache paints I am using are from Dahler Rowney and Winsor and Newton
The reference photo is used with permission from ARP Inge Dagmar Manders.

The combined techniques I use for this Artwork are airbrushing and painting with normal brushes.

Step 1
photo2915.jpg
I sketched out the main lines and some important details with a graphite pencil.

Step 2
img_1153.jpg
With the airbrush and thinned down gouache paint I create the background. I make them blurry to create more depth later.

Step 3
img_2012_08_22_018_1_.jpg
I started the shell of the snail. This part is still done with my airbrush.

Step 4
2012_08_23_028.jpg
Here I made a start with the normal brushesโ€ฆ fading the airbrush into the parts that I created with the normal brushes so you get a smooth transition.

Step 5
2012_08_28_032.jpg
From now onwards I use only the normal brushes.
I tried to make textures that look wet, bit by bit.

Step 6
img_1213.jpg
Here you see I painted areas of the snail detailed. Some are in focus and some are out of focus, to create a depth in the painting. Drawing your eye into certain areas.

Finished result:
img_1213a_tekst.jpg
Title: โ€Here I Amโ€

Thank you for looking and reading.๐Ÿ™ Hope you enjoyed my little Step by Step. In future New artworks I will make a more detailed step by step ๐Ÿ˜‰

Any questions or comments, let me know. Always happy to help.๐Ÿ˜Š And talk about my art.

Have a great day all ๐Ÿ˜Ž๐Ÿ‘‹๐Ÿป
Grtz Jackie

Unless stated otherwise: All art and photos used in my posts are taken, created and owned by me. If you wish to use any of my photographs, please contact me first. As I have used some commercially myself.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center